Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Getty Research Portal
The Getty Research Portal is an online platform providing global access to digitized art history texts. The Portal is comprised of catalog records that link to full, digitized texts hosted by the contributing institutions or their service providers.
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA)
The Getty provides access to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and to the Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA) for no charge on its website. These citation databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007. For material published after 2007 see the International Bibliography of Art (IBA).
Art Deco Society of New York
The Art Deco Society of New York is a non-profit organization that advocates for the appreciation, understanding, celebration, documentation, and preservation of Art Deco architecture, design, and culture in New York and around the world.
Decopix: The Art Deco Resource
This site is the work of Randy Juster who, one summer evening, decided to take a photo of the streamlined Art Deco Lake movie theater in Oak Park, Illinois. Soon, he began looking for other theaters and eventually other structures such as schools, courthouses, factories etc... Eventually he had an archive of Art Deco architecture photos that were used in books, magazines and museum exhibitions.
New York Architecture
Tom Fletcher is an Australian architect who works in New York. He created this website which has a lot of useful information on architecture including images and notes.
NYPL Digital Collections
Thousands of Art Deco-related images can be found in NYPL’s Digital Collections. The database provides access to over 700,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library.
A website about artist and designer known by the pseudonym Erté, who worked in the Art Deco mode.
The Art Story | Art Deco
Contains articles on artists, movements, and times periods that were central to modern art.
Artcyclopedia | Art Deco
A comprehensive database of artists and their works. Users can search the website by an artist’s name, the name of an artistic work, or for a particular art museum.
Artsy | The Art World Online
Features the world’s leading galleries, museum collections, foundations, artist estates, art fairs, and benefit auctions, all in one place.
An online database containing close to 300,000 artists, providing biographies, images, citations, museums owning their work and galleries representing the artist's work.