It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Remote Research Resources: eBooks
Conducting research remotely? The New York Public Library has you covered. This guide includes resources to support your research 24/7 no matter where you are.
Credo is a vast, online reference library, providing access to the full text of hundreds of highly regarded and popular titles. And Credo brings the facts alive with images, sound files, animations, and much more. Find speedy, simple answers and authoritative, in-depth articles.Credo Reference contains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopaedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range or subject-specific titles covering everything from accounting to zoology, via maps, math, management, martial arts, media studies, medicine, mountains, moons, music, multimedia, mythology.
Historical Book Collections
Available without an NYPL Library card:
The HathiTrust Digital Library is a collection of digitized books from libraries around the world, many of which are in the public domain and can be read at no cost online. Note: you may need to be onsite at any NYPL location to download select items.
The Internet Archive provides access to millions of titles. For some titles, users must sign up for a free Internet Archive library card.
Digital Research Books (Beta)
NYPL has developed Digital Research Books, an early beta test of a new project that collects digital versions of research books from many different sources — including Open Access publications — into one convenient place to search.
EEBO contains Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue of printed materials published in the English language from 1475 to 1640, Wing's Short-Title Catalogue of works dating from 1641 to 1700, and Thomason Tracts, a compendium of broadsides on the English Civil War printed between 1640 and 1661. The books in EEBO are presented as scanned images, so all illustrations and maps are included.