Research Guides: Remote Research Resources: Historical Newspapers

Historical Newspaper Collections

The Library provides access to many historical newspaper databases, a selection of which can be found below. To see the full list, please visit the A to Z Database list.

The following databases are available remotely during the Library's closure:

New York Times (1851-2019) w/ Index This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text and page images from The New York Times archive with the option to search by subject headings (index covers 1851-1993). **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
This database is only accessible at the following NYPL locations: Stephen A. Schwarzman Building; New York Public Library for the Performing Arts, Dorothy and Lewis B. Cullman Center; Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture; Thomas Yoseloff Business Center; All Branch Libraries
Wall Street Journal (1889-2010)
Searchable full-text and page images from the Wall Street Journal archive. The digital backfile of the Wall Street Journal provides historical coverage of business news and worldwide financial markets. Part of ProQuest Historical Newspapers, this database delivers cover-to-cover full-images in PDF and searchable ASCII text. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
This database is only accessible at the following NYPL locations: Stephen A. Schwarzman Building; New York Public Library for the Performing Arts, Dorothy and Lewis B. Cullman Center; Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture; Thomas Yoseloff Business Center; All Branch Libraries
African American Historical Serials Collection
Documents the history of African American life and religious organizations from materials published between 1829 and 1922. Over 170 titles from75 different institutions are fully text-searchable.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
This database is only accessible at the following NYPL locations: Stephen A. Schwarzman Building; New York Public Library for the Performing Arts, Dorothy and Lewis B. Cullman Center; Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture; Thomas Yoseloff Business Center; All Branch Libraries
America's Historical Newspapers
Searchable full-text and page images of newspapers from across the country including early newspapers, 1690-1922, African American Newspapers, 1827-1998; America's Urban Centers Newspaper Collection, 1807-1880; Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection, 1799-1971; Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876;and Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980; Early American Newspapers, Series 15, 1822-1879: Immigrant Communities. Access to this resource has been temporarily expanded to NYPL cardholders working from home, courtesy of Readex/Newsbank. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Newspapers.com This link opens in a new window
Newspapers.com is the largest online newspaper archive consisting of 300+ million pages of historical newspapers from 11,100+ newspapers from around the United States and beyond, with a special focus on full runs and portions of runs of well-known, regional and state titles in addition to small local newspapers. The collection includes a broad range of dates, mostly covering the 19th and 20th centuries. Access to this resource has been temporarily expanded to NYPL cardholders working from home, courtesy of ProQuest and its partner Newspapers.com. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
This collection represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Access to this resource has been temporarily expanded to NYPL cardholders working from home, courtesy of Readex/Newsbank. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

The following databases are always available remotely to NYPL cardholders:

New York State Newspapers
A collection of major New York State newspapers, available in full-text. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
The following New York State newspapers are available in full-text: Buffalo News [Buffalo, NY] Herald-American [Syracuse, NY] New York Observer [New York, NY] New York Post [New York, NY] New York Times [New York, NY] Post-Standard [Syracuse, NY]
17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
Early English newspapers from London, the British Isles, and British colonies. Also included are newsbooks, acts of Parliament, addresses, broadsides, pamphlets, and proclamations. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
Over 500 titles covering the entire nineteenth century, with a special emphasis on westward expansion, the American Civil War, and the African American experience. All states and territories, except Washington and Nevada, are represented, but please note that some publications have a small number of issues, rather than their complete run, included. Dates of Coverage: 1800-1899. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**