Start Here - The Bronx
Latest received print directory in Room 108.
| Year | Title | Call number |
|---|---|---|
| 1929 - 1976 | Bronx White Pages | *ZAN-13682A [microform] |
| 1957 - 1975 | Bronx Classified/Yellow Pages | *ZAN-13682B |
| 1929 - 1980, 1986 | Bronx Address Directory (address lookup - no name lookup) |
*ZAN-13682C |
| 1976 - 2005 | Residential and Classified/Yellow Pages. | "Phonefiche + Bronx NY + years" *Not listed in the catalog. Request at the Reference Desk or by email. |
| 1971 - 2015 | Cole's Cross Reference Directory: The Bronx (address lookup - no name lookup) |
Request in room 121 |
| Current Year | Reference Solutions Residential and business. Includes historical file for businesses starting with 2003. |
Online with library card. |
| Current Year | Bronx - Verizon yellow pages, business and residence listings. | Freely available online. |
Additional Resources
Print directories take a few days to arrive. It's quicker to use the directories on microfilm listed above.
Bronx white pages (only 1998 - 1999) Cataloged separately
offsite - can request scans through the catalog
United States Telephone Directories (1883 - 2010)
Bronx (1958 - 2004)
Call number: ReCAP 12-29922
Collection Guide
The Library also has a large collection of print United States telephone directories stored offsite in numbered boxes. You can locate the box number you need using the collection guide (above) and then place your request for delivery through the Research Catalog. Please contact staff for scanning requests from this collection.
City Directories
Published as New York City, Manhattan, and the Bronx
See: NYC Directories in NYPL Digital Collections
See also Ancestry Library Edition (on-site access only)
No separate section for The Bronx.
Published as New York City (Manhattan and the Bronx).
See list: What's In Ancestry Library Edition.
How to Place Requests
First, view the catalog record and check the item's location.
If the location is listed as offsite:
Click on "Request" for the item and select a location for delivery.
If the location is listed as Schwarzman Building or SASB:
Two or more days ahead, please use this form: Advance Request of Research Material
Less than two days, please email us: generalresearch@nypl.org.
Request in the Library
Requests can also be placed in the Rose Main Reading Room, room 315. Delivery time is about an hour. We recommend requesting in advance. After items arrive, they are held for two weeks. Please email us if you have questions or need assistance.
