Skip to Main Content

Telephone Directories at The New York Public Library: New York City


All five boroughs came into existence with the creation of modern New York City in 1898, when New York County (including The Bronx), Kings County, part of Queens County, and Richmond County were consolidated within one municipal government under a new city charter. All former municipalities within the newly consolidated city were eliminated.

NYC Boroughs

The Bronx
Staten Island            

New York City and Metro Shelflist - microfilms