Start Here - Queens
Latest received print directory in Room 108.
| Years | Title | Call number |
|---|---|---|
| 1898 - 1928 | Queens Directories Mix of city and telephone directories |
Internet Archive |
| 1927 - 1974 | Queens White Pages | *ZAN-13682M [microform] |
| 1957 - 1974 | Queens Classified/Yellow Pages | *ZAN-13682N |
| 1929 - 1980, 1986 | Queens Address Directories | *ZAN-2127 |
| 1971 - 2020 | Cole's cross reference directory: Queens v.1 by address, v. 2 by telephone number No name lookup. |
Request in room 121 |
| 1975 - 2005 | Residential and Classified/Yellow Pages. | Phonefiche + Queens NY + years *Not listed in the catalog. Request at the Reference Desk or by email. |
| Current Year | Reference Solutions - residential and business Includes historical file for businesses starting with 2003. |
Online with library card. |
| Current Year | Queens Verizon yellow pages, business and residence listings. |
Freely available online. |
Note: The early Manhattan reels (1878–1929) include the various parts of the tri state area such as Brooklyn, Bronx, Long Island, New Jersey, Westchester, and Connecticut. Every reel varies in inclusion. There are some combined reels for Brooklyn, Bronx, Queens, and Staten Island covering the 1920s.
Additional Resources
Print directories take a few days to arrive. It's quicker to use the directories on microfilm listed above.
Queens white pages 1999 - 2008 with gaps, 2015
Queens yellow pages 1999 - 2009 with gaps, 2015
Cataloged separately (offsite - can request scans through catalog)
United States Telephone Directories
Call number: ReCAP 12-29922
Queens print directories (1958 - 2005 with gaps)
Collection Guide
The Library also has a large collection of print United States telephone directories stored offsite in numbered boxes. You can locate the box number you need using the collection guide (above) and then place your request for delivery through the Research Catalog. Please contact staff for scanning requests from this collection.
How to Place Requests
First, view the catalog record and check the item's location.
If the location is listed as offsite:
Click on "Request" for the item and select a location for delivery.
If the location is listed as Schwarzman Building or SASB:
Two or more days ahead, please use this form: Advance Request of Research Material
Less than two days, please email us: generalresearch@nypl.org.
Request in the Library
Requests can also be placed in the Rose Main Reading Room, room 315. Delivery time is about an hour. We recommend requesting in advance. After items arrive, they are held for two weeks. Please email us if you have questions or need assistance.
