Start Here - Brooklyn
Latest received print directory in Room 108.
| Years | Title | Call number |
|---|---|---|
| 1909 - 1967 | Brooklyn Telephone Directories Brooklyn Public Library Residential, classified and city directories |
Freely available online |
| 1925 - 1977 | Brooklyn White pages | *ZAN-13682E [microform] |
| 1929 - 1979 | Brooklyn Classified/Yellow pages | *ZAN-13682F |
| 1929 - 1980, 1986 | Brooklyn Address directories (no name look-up) |
*ZAN-13682G |
| 1975 - 2005 | Residential and Classified/Yellow Pages. |
"Phonefiche + Brooklyn NY + years" |
| 1971 - 2020 | Cole's cross reference directory: Brooklyn Address or reverse directory (no name look-up) |
Print. Request in room 121. |
| Current Year | Reference Solutions Residential and business. Includes historical file for businesses starting with 2003. |
Online access with library card |
| Current Year | Brooklyn - Verizon yellow pages, business and residence listings. | Freely available online |
Notes:
1. Brooklyn White pages 1925 -1977 *ZAN-13682E [microform].
Prior to 1944 also includes the Brooklyn classified directory.
2. The early Manhattan reels (1878 -1929) include the various parts of the tri-state area such as Brooklyn, Bronx, Long Island, New Jersey, Westchester, and Connecticut. Every reel varies in inclusion. There are some combined reels for Brooklyn, Bronx, Queens, and Staten Island covering the 1920s.
Additional Resources
Print directories take a few days to arrive. It's quicker to use the directories on microfilm, listed above.
Brooklyn white pages (1999 - 2022 with gaps)
Brooklyn yellow pages (1999 - 2022 with gaps)
Cataloged separately. Offsite - scan requests through catalog.
Library lacks:
Brooklyn white 2007 - 2014, 2016 - 20
Brooklyn yellow 2007, 2008, 2011, 2013 - 2020
United States Telephone Directories
Call number: ReCAP 12-29922
Brooklyn (1958 - 1992 with gaps, boxes 1757 - 1773)
Collection Guide
The Library also has a large collection of print United States telephone directories stored offsite in numbered boxes. You can locate the box number you need using the collection guide (above) and then place your request for delivery through the Research Catalog. Please contact staff for scanning requests from this collection.
How to Place Requests
First, view the catalog record and check the item's location.
If the location is listed as offsite:
Click on "Request" for the item and select a location for delivery.
If the location is listed as Schwarzman Building or SASB:
Two or more days ahead, please use this form: Advance Request of Research Material
Less than two days, please email us: generalresearch@nypl.org.
Request in the Library
Requests can also be placed in the Rose Main Reading Room, room 315. Delivery time is about an hour. We recommend requesting in advance. After items arrive, they are held for two weeks. Please email us if you have questions or need assistance.
