All Aspects of Color Resources: Guides & Techniques

Explore three different ways to create improvisationally, from the easiest, using one block in different colors and orientations, to combining block units using various techniques, to aspirational, free cutting the entire quilt and designing it on the wall before sewing. Finished creations result in one-of-a-kind artwork.

The book shows how to extract environmentally sustainable color from the landscape and use it to make natural dyes for textiles, clothing, paper, and other materials. The book also covers dyeing and surface application techniques, including bundle dyeing, Shibori tie-dyeing, hapazome, indigo sugar vat dyeing, wood-block printing, screen printing, and more.

Each color scheme is paired with Will Taylor's personal photographs and the memories that inspired each palette, followed by how they can be used in real-life using color checklists, swatch scrapbooks, illuminating room analyses and more.

This guide covers the golden age, from 1892-1942, of Indian blanket manufacturing with full-color and black-and-white photographs of blankets, original catalog pages and historic pictures of Native Americans The intuitive approach to color interaction selection is evident throughout the book featuring some of the most enduring American Indian textile designs..

With this book painters learn how to make paintings with an understanding of basic color theory. Topics include the color wheel, hue, saturation, value, temperature, relativity, color relationships, and color mixing, how color captures mood and to communicate meaning with nothing more than color as you create personal, expressive works of art. Step-by-step projects and accessible technique demonstrations show color theory in action, making this book a useful reference.

With a practical approach to color, this book is a resource for art students and professionals using its sequence of assignments and in-depth discussions to bridge the gap between color theory and practice. This third edition includes an expanded discussion of digital techniques and new assignments.

This collection features examples from across the globe of designed layouts, detailing how the color spectrum is organized, expanded, and manipulated. It reveals how color evokes memories, moods, sentiments, and desires, and takes an in-depth look at the striking usage of color in propaganda, journalism, and advertising campaigns. This book is an informative resource for graphic designers, artists, illustrators, and advertisers.

The book’s chapters are divided by basic color, from red to violet and including black and white. Each chapter takes a closer look at a variety of specific shades in the color family, delving into cultural references that span fashion, art history, traditional and modern crafts, and product design. Readers learn about woad, an ancient pigment that was employed by William Morris and has resurfaced in sustainable dyes, as well as the earliest known use of violet some 25,000 years ago. Each shade is accompanied by sidebars that offer technical specifications, mood connotations, and examples of its use in art and commerce.

For fashion students and designers, this is a practical guide that proposes a reflection on the universe of colour combinations, the moods and atmospheres they evoke. Each chapter explores a particular mood and describes the corresponding feelings and color combinations, using as examples exquisite photographs of objects, still-lives, landscapes, interiors and fashion. At the end of each chapter, a wide variety of palettes representing the chapter’s particular mood or atmosphere is included.

This book offers a unique approach to making art on location: start with a loose, colorful watercolor sketch, let that layer dry, then add details in ink. Artsits learn how to let watercolor do the hard work of urban sketching and enjoy the spontaneous effects and delightful surprises they see in their artwork.

Bright Colors create a vibrant atmosphere of energy and fun. This tool is built for designers, artists, and anyone presented with the challenge of selecting the perfect color scheme for a project. Focusing on the bright-tone color palette, each chapter presents a range of 72 bright color schemes, each unique and reflective of a vibrant mood.

Natural Colors create a world that's tranquil and soothing. This tool is built for designers, artists, and anyone presented with the challenge of selecting the perfect color scheme for a project. Focusing on the natural-tone color palette, each chapter presents a range of 72 natural color schemes, each unique and reflective of a natural mood.

This updated and expanded resource presents 1,100 color palettes, with light, bright, dark, and muted varieties for each one. This book provides designers and artists with a one-stop method for reviewing and selecting current, up-to-date color palettes for their creative projects.

Graphic design professors John Drew and Sarah Meyer explain all of the technical issues that are relevant to communicating with color in 2-D and 3-D environments and in still and moving images. This guide arms designers with all the in-depth technical information that they need about color theory, color systems, mixing, removal, pigments, inks, papers, and printing.

Providing a basic color palette for each art medium, this book demonstrates multiple color mixes, along with full explanations of various paints and pigments. It also includes tips and techniques for color mixing using different art mediums, and much more.

This guide features master mixes for an array of skin colors in oil, acrylic, and watercolor, plus recipes for hair, eye, and lip colors. Also included are a plastic color-mixing grid for measuring out paints, as well as a handy conversion chart for finding acrylic equivalents of oil paints and vice versa. With recipes for more than 500 color combinations, this book is a source for painting realistic skin, mouths, ears, noses, eyes, and hair.

This guide to quick and accurate color mixing is a reference for artists of all media. Inside are 2,460 printed color mixes from 12 standard artist paints. Each page features the range you can get from any two of these colors. Artists can seek out the color they desire, identify the hues they need to mix and then instantly reproduce the color on their palette. Artists also find invaluable information about every color including the strength, transparency and handling qualities of the colors used to attain it.

In this guide readers are walked through the most important aspects of colour theory as it relates to painting.

Combining the essential topics of color theory and color mixing with watercolor painting projects, this is a comprehensive guide that is helpful to beginning and aspiring artists. While it focuses on watercolor, the same tips and techniques can be applied to other media as well, including acrylic, oil, and gouache.

This guide walks knitters through three distinctive styles, Tapestry, Intarsia and Fair Isle, introducing each technique through bright, contemporary patterns. With clear step-by-step photos, smart tips and straightforward directions, Claire shatters the myth that impressive colorwork pieces are complicated or possible only in knitting. This guide provides the essential skills to make unique designs.

This book features original designs from various regions around the world and examines their use of type and color. From Africa and Asia to Europe and the Middle East, readers find dozens of fascinating pieces on display. Each design is carefully analyzed to show how and why it works. The book offers recommendations about which colors should be used for type, border, background, etc. These suggestions, along with exact CMYK and RGB percentages for each design, will save designers much valuable time.

In this lively workbook for artists, graphic designers, and makers of all types, you learn to journal your way through fresh and enriching ways to develop a more personal connection to color in your art and life. Using watercolors, gouache, or any other water-based medium, dive into color theory and explore your personal style while playing with a balanced blend of experiments and color meditations.

A practical flower-arrangement reference guide on how to combine the extraordinary colors in nature to create stunning results Using color theory as the starting point for floral design, the book features 175 arrangements that show myriad ways to combine flowers of different shades and hues, all built around classic categories including analogous, complementary, monochrome, triadic, transitional, and accent colors.

After throwing clay, shaping, trimming, and drying, comes the final step in pottery: glazing. Anyone who wants to make ceramics knows that glazing can be a labor. In this instructional book potters find everything they need to know about the glazing process as several of today's leading ceramicists share the recipes and techniques behind their most stunning works of art, each selected specifically for its unique glaze.

Artists learn how to develop their own unique style using acrylic paint, pastels, graphite, ink, and more. See how to mix colors to make signature palettes and get inspired to try new, exciting combinations of colors, materials, and methods that will take your artwork and imagination further.

From selecting among types of natural fibers to mordant and scouring baths, this introduction to hand dyeing covers everything beginners need to know to create a colorful custom palette of textiles. The book includes simple DIY projects for using unique dyes, safety tips and precautions, advice for altering hues and instructions for collecting and cataloging colors. It’s an accessible and comprehensive resource for fiber artists.

Natural dyer, artist, and educator Sasha Duerr provides plant-based color guides of the natural world around us including twenty-five palettes with five hundred natural color swatches that are an alternative to Pantone. She also focuses on the ecological benefits of using natural colors, and more.

This comprehensive guide begins with an introduction to color that includes the color wheel, basic color terminology, and essential supplies. Starter projects help makers get comfortable with color while learning how to work with watercolor, acrylic paint, and collage. Next-level projects are designed to boost the makers’ skills further, with more innovative techniques.

This book offers painters the techniques and ideas they need to boost their works, learn natural paint-making, and be more resourceful with their art materials. Each project in this guide comes with instructions on how to make the paint, and also includes experiments and explorations to try. Plus, a simple painting accompanies every featured material and combines it with other materials or techniques.

This volume removes the mystery from painting and gives beginners the terms, tools, and techniques to approach their unpainted set with confidence. Covering the mechanics of paint and its many implementations in set design, this book provides simple and effective step-by-step instructions for painting a variety of surfaces to look great on stage.

This book teaches every aspect of color, both theory and practice. Opening chapters explain the color wheel, present color charts, and demonstrate using colors in different media. Chapters that follow emphasize practice, presenting illustrated, step-by-step exercises, and using illustrations of finished paintings. The techniques explained and discussed in detail apply to all traditional color media, including oils, watercolors, acrylics, and pastels.

This publication addresses the areas of color reproduction unique to the graphic arts and features updated sections covering relevant, subsequent changes within the industry.

Trompe l’oeil painting uses light, shadow and color to make illusory forms and surfaces. This manual introduces the techniques of painting with monochrome washes, a key element of trompe l’oeil painting. It gives step-by-step instructions for a variety of grisaille effects, shows how to utilize such avant-garde materials as sheet steel and plastic foil, and offers a collection of classical and modern motifs to copy.

The typographic designer Mark van Wageningen shares all the tools for designing with multicolored fonts. This manual covers analyses of chromatic type specimens, and instructions for multilayer type design across a range of print and digital media.