All Aspects of Color Resources: Web Resources

In this book, the renowned color theorist Johannes Itten examines two different approaches to understanding the art of color. Subjective feelings and objective color principles are described in detail and clarified by color reproductions

First published in 1902, this groundbreaking book provides a comprehensive overview of the main ideas of color theory at the time, along with Emily Noyes Vanderpoel’s original approaches to color analysis and interaction. She wanted to make color theory available to every person. Her idea that everyday people could benefit from a better understanding of color.

Get your virtual library card and access 65+ million free and borrowable books, and more.

Inspired in part by Neo-Impressionist experiments in color theory, this playlist takes you on a musical trip around the color wheel.

Originally published in 1918, the authors Bonnie E. Snow, and Hugo B. Froehlich examine color theory in relation to history and culture, as well as natural and physical sciences.

This book originally published in 1876, the authors Wilhelm von Bezold and Edward Cl Pickering explore color theory in relation to art and design, as well as decoration and ornament.

This book written by Johann Wolfgang von Goethe is about the poet's views on the nature of colours and how they are perceived by humans. It was originally published in German in 1810 and in English in 1840.

In 1963, Alexander Calder completed construction of a large studio overlooking the Indre Valley in west central France. With the assistance of a full-scale, industrial ironworks, he began to fabricate his monumental works in the large studio. He used the primary colors and black in his sculptures and other artworks. The predominant color known as “Calder Red” is similar to vermilion and was used for parts or the whole of his monumental and outdoors stabiles of the period 1963 to 1976.

The Thomas Cole National Historic Site in Catskill, NY, marks the birthplace of the major art movement of the United States, now known as the Hudson River School founded by Thomas Cole. The Site preserves and interprets the home, and studios of Thomas Cole whose profound influence on America’s cultural landscape continues to inspire broad audiences through innovative and relevant educational programs.

The Charles and Ray Eames design team were known for their inventive use of color in architecture, art, furniture, textiles, toys and other things. After World War II, pigment-imbued molded fiberglass Eames chairs allowed buyers to express their individuality through colorful seating, altering the way we think about furniture.

An art movement of primarily American artists who independently developed approaches to abstraction around the time of World War II. These artists mostly avoided combat (by virtue of their age) but were keenly aware of the details of WWII through newsreels, newspapers, radio, and popular magazines. After WWII, these same news outlets began to cover the emergence of an American avant-garde art born from the horrors of the Great Depression, world wars, and collective need for a spiritual and emotional reformation.

When it comes to colour in painting, the name Eugène Delacroix immediately comes to mind. He mixed colours and techniques in a whirlwind of creativity to bring his works to life. The romantic painter described himself as a colourist, writing in his diary “My freshly arranged palette, brilliant with contrasting colours, is enough to fire my enthusiasm.”

A look into the artist’s House, the Waterlily Studio, the Clos Norman, and the Water Garden.

The architect Antoni Gaudi lived at this house from 1906 to 1925. The building, constructed as a model home for the Park Güell development, was designed by Francesc d’Assis Berenguer i Mestres, a close friend and right-hand man to the architect. Scroll down further on the page to take the virtual tour of Gaudi’s House Museum including the garden, terrace, tower, and cold room.

The power of Georgia O’Keeffe’s artwork derives from her mastery of essential elements of art making: line, color, and composition. A brilliant colorist, O’Keeffe created strong, vibrant works with colors that glow with energy and vitality.

The colors that dominate the three sets of stained glass windows in the Chapelle are an intense yellow for the sun, an intense green for vegetation and cactus forms, and a vivid blue for the Mediterranean Sea, the Riviera sky and the Madonna. The color from the windows dramatically floods the all white interior space.

One of Sweden’s most esteemed artists, Hilma af Klint is currently celebrated worldwide especially after her dazzling blockbuster solo exhibition that opened at Guggenheim Museum in October 2018.

Antoni Gaudi’s groundbreaking and unique sense of architectural design and color can be experienced at The House of Barcelona.

This site features a collection of the artist’s exuberant abstract paintings of intense color palette.

The house and workshop of the architect Luis Barragan, celebrates the color and natural roughness of the plastered concrete.

In her paintings Frida Kahlo explored color theory from an artist’s intuitive point of view and produced her own color recipes. There is written documentation of her meditation on color in “The Diary of Frida Kahlo: An Intimate Self-Portrait." In her diary, Kahlo wrote about the symbolism of different colors inspired by her colored pencils that were “sharpened to the point of infinity,” and ascribed symbolic associations to each color.

The Institute preserves and uses the Richard Neutra legacy to promote creative research and design that benefits people and the planet.

In Greenport, New York, Olana is a historic house museum and landscape near the city of Hudson. The structure is a Persian-inspired stone castle situated high above the Hudson River. It was home to one of the members of Hudson River School Frederic Edwin Church and his wife Isabel. Church was also a world traveler, a self-taught architect, farmer and landscape designer who is considered to be an early practitioner of Land Art.

A leader in Bay Area figurative painting, Richard Diebenkorn produced work that was received with enormous affection and excitement by a wide audience. His work is a great example of abstract and realist fusion that celebrates color and space equally.

By posing topical questions, new scientific interpretations and innovative forms of communication, the Zentrum Paul Klee aims to bring Paul Klee’s artistic potential into the present. “Color has taken possession of me; no longer do I have to chase after it, I know that it has hold of me forever.” –The Diaries of Paul Klee, Tunisia, 16 April 1914

These five online colour resources, if used properly, will help designers to choose the right colour scheme: Adobe Color CC, Paletton, Color by HailPixel, COLOURlovers, and Pictaculous.

A selection of Aboriginal Art from rock paintings, and drawings to sculpture and textiles from different time periods held in museum collections worldwide.

The chemist William Perkin’s purple dyestuff marked the beginning of a revolution in organic chemistry, the birth of an industry that has since produced a rainbow of colors, drugs, fertilizers, plastics, and synthetics beyond measure.

A biographical overview of Alma Thomas’ development as an artist and her geometric compositions of blazing color.

“I have struggled all my life to get maximum meaning in the simplest possible form.” –Anne Truitt was a member of Washington Color School, and her intuitive use of hand-applied color set her apart from other Minimalist artists.

An avant-garde group of architects formed in the 1960s that challenged the norms of modernism through their hypothetical anc colorful projects.

The modernist architect Luis Barragan’s use of color in his structures continues to be influential.

A browsable resource guide exploring the many facets of color, and searchable by keyword, subject, title, and author.

From chemistry to couture, feathers to physics, color is a topic that links science, history, art and culture. This collection includes books featured in the exhibition "Color in a new Light" as well as rare and interesting titles from across the Libraries collections that reveal the many ways we use, understand, and see color. The publication dates for the books range from 1810 to 2004.

Use this guide to find information about color research and color resources at Gladys Marcus Library at FIT.

This resource explains the Pantone Color Systems, and provides trend reports, and videos on the subject.

This research guide is for finding books and other resources on color theory.

The study of color at the Bauhaus was shaped by a diverse body of previously developed artistic, psychological, and scientific theories of color, tested and innovated through practical exercises.

This research guide is intended as a starting place for researchers, pointing to resources and strategies for finding information about color, color theory, color systems, and using color in design.

According to anthropologist Alexandre Surrallés the tribe of Candoshi, comprising 3,000 people who live on the banks of Amazon River, do not have words to describe the basic colors in the world around them. Other anthropologists have reported various small tribes who also do not have a principle vocabulary for color. These findings contradict the main premise of the book The World Color Survey.

In this three part BBC documentary Art historian Dr. James Fox explores the origins and artists’ use of the colors gold, blue, and white throughout the world. In each episode, he investigates how each color has influenced and altered human behavior and history.

Vivid hues in everyday products became eye-popping reality in the early 20th century.

The Hudson River School was America’s first original artistic movement. Its name was coined to identify a group of New York City based landscape painters that emerged about 1850 under the influence of the English American painter Thomas Cole and flourished until about the time of the Centennial.

In Jan Wurm’s work, “Painted, sun-drenched yellow hair of bathers in yellow bathing suits inhabiting expansive blue possibility signals a paradise beyond. And when the skies turn red the devastation of the environment and life bears down. Then symbolic color emerges as architectural to focus, unify, balance, and frame.”

A biographical documentary on Josef Albers talking about color, his art and teaching methods, and also the staff of Josef and Anni Albers Foundation reminiscing about the artist and his significance in 20th century art.

“But when I fell in love with black, it contained all color. It wasn’t a negation of color. It was an acceptance. Because black encompasses all colors…" Black was Louise Nevelson’s signature color, however the artist began incorporating white and gold into her work in the 1960s.

A selection of images documenting Maori art ranging from graphic and pattern design to kinetic light and wood sculptures.

Munsell Color Company's specialty is developing and producing physical color standards based on Albert Munsell's 1898 color theory resulting in a variety of simple and accurate visual color tools that help artists and designers work with color more effectively. He was an artist and professor of art at Massachusetts College of Art and Design.

The experience of colour is based on the physics of light. Colour informs, influences consumer choices, warns us and comforts us. But how do we ascribe numbers to a human perception which is incredibly versatile and variable? Andrew Hanson elaborates on his own work in the field of colour measurement, uses demos and optical illusions to show that there is a lot more to colour than meets the eye.

This site explores the history and science behind dozens of colors, pigments, and types of paint.

Considered an expert in the architecture of color,Tokyo-based French architect and artist Emmanuelle Moureaux first found inspiration in color when she visited Tokyo as a student. She continues to be inspired by the multi-dimensional colorful urban landscape of Tokyo.

A look at how color influences human psychology and perception in architecture.

A journey through time and space, the authors visit color past and present, and reveal myriad surprising facets of color in the natural and man-made worlds, as you learn how color colors nearly every aspect of our universe.

A blog about glowing pigments that were initially used in merchandizing and industry, for posters, displays, and safety applications.

A study of the history of the chemical toxic characteristics of synthetic dyes in the textile industry as well as the current practices and the complications of who is held responsible for the clean up.