New York City Newspapers at The New York Public Library: Boroughs, Neighborhoods & Metro

Note: All entries are for microfilm except where listed as print or digital resources.

BROOKLYN
The Brooklyn Citizen
Brooklyn Daily Union-Argus
Brooklyn Eagle
Brooklyn Heights Press & Cobble Hill News
Brooklyn Life
Brooklyn Standard Union
The Chat
Home Talk the Star
Seagater Brooklyn
The Williamsburgh Gazette and Long-Island Advertiser

BRONX
Bronx Press-Review
Bronx Times Reporter
CO-OP City Times 
Home News
The Riverdale Press
West Bronx on the Move

MANHATTAN
AM New York
Caricature
Chelsea Clinton News 
City Free Press 
East Side News
East Village Other 
Gotham Life 
The Greenwich Village Press
Greenwich Villager
Greenwich Village Lantern
Heights Inwood
Murray Hill News
New York Native
Our Town
The Soho Weekly News
Town & Village 
The Tribeca Trib.
Village Voice
Villager
Washington Herald Square
The Westsider

QUEENS
Long Island Daily Press
Long Islander Farmer & Queens County
The Queens Courier
Queens Evening News

STATEN ISLAND
Staten Island Advance
Hagadorn's Staten Islander
Staten Island Gazette and Sentinel
Richmond County Gazette
Richmond County Standard

METRO AREA
Newsday (Long Island)
Star-Ledger (New Jersey)
The Suffolk County News
Suffolk Weekly Times

AM New York (2003-2007)

Print
AM New York (2008-)

Print
Bronx Press-Review (2000 - 2012)

Microfilm
Bronx Press-Review (1956 - 2007)

Print

Bronx Times Reporter (1997-)

The Brooklyn Citizen (1887-1947)

Brooklyn Daily Union-Argus (1877-1883)

Brooklyn Eagle (1938-1963) 

Digital Resource

Included in the Brooklyn Newsstand database (1841 - 1963)

Print & Digital Resources

Index to the Brooklyn Daily Eagle. Also Available in HathiTrust database
Index to the Brooklyn Daily Eagle. (1892-1901)

Brooklyn Daily Eagle Almanac. Also Available in HathiTrust database.

A Book of Information, General of the World, and Special of New York City and Long Island (1886 - 1922)

Brooklyn Heights Press & Cobble Hill News (1965-2006)

Print
Brooklyn Life (1890-1923)

Digital Resource
Full text available via HathiTrust--v. 51 (Mar. -Aug. 1915)
Available in Brooklyn Newsstand (1890–1924)

Brooklyn Standard Union (1887-1932)

Digital
Brooklyn Standard Union (1887–1932) in Brooklyn Newsstand

Caricature (1947-1952)
Greenwich Village Caricature (1947-1953)

The Chat (1903-1929)

Microfilm & Print

Chelsea Clinton News (1951-)

City Free Press (1970-1971)

CO-OP City Times (1969-1987)

East Side News (1930-1973)

East Village Other (1967-1972)

Digital Resource
East Village Other

Gotham Life (1906-1949)

Greenwich Village Lantern (1960)

Print
The Greenwich Village Press (1992-1995)

Digital Resource
The Greenwich Village Press (1993 - 1994)

Print & Microfilm
Greenwich Villager (1933- 1934)

Staten Islander (1856-1927)

Heights Inwood (1972-1981)

Home News (1911-1948)

Absorbed by New York Post (1801-current)

Home Talk the Star (1928-1931)

Long Island Daily Press (1936-1963)

Long Island Farmer, and Queens County Advertiser (1840-1847)

Murray Hill News (1952-1987)

For Newsday (New York), see New York City tab

Newsday (1959-2014)

Digital Resources
Newsday Long Island or Nassau edition (1940 -  1994) ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Newsday (1985- ) Global Newsstream, text only
Newsday  2010 - recent (3-month embargo) in ProQuest Recent Newspapers

Newsday (1965-1972) in FultonSearch

New York Native 1(1980) - 716(1997)

Archival Records

Christopher Street That New Magazine, Inc. Records (1979 - 1982)

New York Native Records (1981 - 1988)

Our Town (1970 - 2007)

Print
The Queens Courier (2002-2004)

Print
Queens Evening News (1935-1940) 

Richmond County Gazette (1859-1862)
Call number: *ZY (Richmond County gazette. Stapleton, N.Y.)

Richmond County Sentinel (1876-1889)

Staten Island Gazette and Sentinel (1883-1887)

Richmond County Gazette. And Staten Island Gazette and Sentinel (1885-1887)

Richmond County Standard (1881-1900)

Print
The Riverdale Press (1989 - 2013)

Seagater Brooklyn (Summer 1975-Winter 1975)

The Soho Weekly News (1973-1982)

Star-Ledger (1972-2011-)

Staten Island Advance (1886- )
Holdings in Research Library begin with 1959.
St. George Library Center has the full run. 

See also Staten Island History Collection -  St. George Library Center

Searchable Index (1991-current)
Staten Island Advance 

Staten Island Gazette and Sentinel (1882-1885)
Call number: *ZY (Richmond County gazette. Stapleton, N.Y.)

Digital
The Suffolk County News Sayville, N.Y. (1888-current) in NYS Historic Newspapers

Suffolk Weekly Times (1908-1914)

Suffolk Weekly Times (1964-1969)

Town & Village (1963-2007)

The Tribeca Trib. (1996-2005)

Print
The Tribeca Trib. (1996-2015)

Digital (Current)
The Tribeca Trib.

Village Voice (1955-2017) Weekly
Call number: *R-*ZAN-G17 

Village Voice (1991-2011) second copy, Princeton

Digital Resources
Village Voice (1993-2010) ProQuest Research Library 
Full text PDF. Citations/abstracts coverage 1988 - 2017.
Village Voice (1955-2004, many gaps) Google News Archive

Print and Microfilm
Villager (1933-)

NYPL Digital Collections
Villager (1933-1959)
Digital
Villager (1959-1999) in NYS Historic Newspapers

Washington Herald Square (1900-1901)

West Bronx on the Move (1972-1973)

The Westsider (1981-2007)

Print
The Westsider (2007-2015)

The Williamsburgh Gazette and Long-Island Advertiser (1838-1849)

The Williamsburgh Gazette (1848-1849)