New York City Newspapers at The New York Public Library: Daily Newspapers

New-York Commercial Advertiser  (1895-1904)
The Globe and Commercial Advertiser (1904-1923)

Preceding titles
New-York Commercial Advertiser (1797-1891)
Call number: *ZY (New York Commercial Advertiser)

The Commercial Advertiser (1889-1892)
Call number: *ZY (Commercial Advertiser)

Digital Resource
Commercial Advertiser (1797-1876) in America's Historical Newspapers

The Daily Compass (1949-1952)
Call number: *ZY (The Daily Compass)

Daily News 
Call number: *R-*ZY (New York Daily News) 
Includes Preceding Title: The News (1919-1920)

Years onsite: (2009-2019)

The last month on microfilm is November 2019. ProQuest ceased microfilming this title.

Digital Resources
Daily News (1920- 2008) in ProQuest Northeast Regional Historical Newspapers
Includes Preceding Title: The News (1919-1920)

Daily Mirror (1924-1972)
Uniform Title: New York Daily Mirror (New York, N.Y.)
Call number: *ZY (Mirror, New York)

Evening Mail (1904-1924)
Continues: Evening Mail and Express 
Absorbed By: Evening Telegram 

The Evening Sun (1887-1920)
Call number: *ZY (Evening Sun)

Digital Resource
The Evening Sun  (July 18 - November 9, 1907) via Center for Research Libraries

The Evening Telegram (1867-1924)
The New York Telegram and Evening Mail (1924-1925)
The New York Telegram (1925-1931)
The Evening World, The World, The New York Telegram (1931)

Call number: *ZY (Evening telegram)

Evening World (1887-1931)

Digital Resource
Evening World (1887-1922) in Chronicling America (freely available)

The Globe and Commercial Advertiser  (1904-1923)
Alternative title: Globe (New York, N.Y. : 1904)
Preceding title: Commercial Advertiser (New York, N.Y. :1895)
Absorbed by: Sun (New York, N.Y. :1920)

The Mail and Express.(1898-1903)
Formed By: Evening Mail and New York Evening Express
Continued By: Evening Mail and Express 

New York American (1906-1937)
Call number: *ZY (New York American) 

New York Amsterdam News at Schomburg Center and offsite copy in Research Catalog.

Digital Resource
New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993) in ProQuest Historical Newspapers

New York Evening Graphic (1924-1932)
Alternative title: Evening Graphic
Call number: *ZY (New York Evening Graphic)

New York Journal (1896-1897)
New York Evening Journal.(1897-1909)
New York Journal and Advertiser 1897-1901)
N.Y. Evening Journal (1909-1911)
New York Journal (1911-1913)
New York Evening Journal (1913-1937)
New York Journal and American (1937-1941)
Call number: *ZY (New York Evening Journal, N.Y.)
New York Journal American (1941-1966)
Call number: *ZY (New York Journal American) 

Digital Resource
New York Journal and Related Titles (1896-1899) via Library of Congress

New York Herald (1840-1920) (Research Catalog)
New York Herald (1920-1924)
The New York Herald, New York Tribune (1924-1926)
Call number: *R-*ZY (New York Herald)  

Also, offsite copy in Research Catalog: New York Herald (1840-1924) (Second copy)

Continues:
Morning Herald (1837-1840)
The Herald (1835-1837)

Digital Resources
in Chronicling America:
The Herald (1836-1837)
Morning Herald (1837-1842)
New York Herald (1842-1879, 1920) 
The New York Herald (1920-1922)

in America's Historical Newspapers (Newsbank):
New York Herald (1802-1817)
New York Herald (1835-1898) 
New-York Morning Herald (1930 with gaps)

in Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale):
New York Herald (1830-1863)

Note:
Years not covered in Chronicling America: (1880-1919, 1923-1924)
Years not covered in a Digital Resources: (1898-1919, 1923-1924)

New York Herald Tribune 
The New York Herald, New York Tribune (1924-1926)
The New York Herald Tribune (1926-1966)

Also, offsite copy in the Research Catalog:
The New York Herald, New York Tribune (1924-1926) (Second copy)
New York Herald Tribune (1926-1966) (Second copy) 

Digital Resource
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Tribune / Herald Tribune
The New York Herald, New York Tribune (1924-1926)
New York Herald Tribune (1926-1962) Note: microfilm coverage is through 1966 above. 
Last issue in ProQuest: Dec 31, 1962. Final edition on microfilm is April 24, 1966.

New York Post (1801 - December 31, 2019)
Call number: *R-*ZY 74-11
March 14, 2020 to Current  -- Request print copies in Room 108.

New-York evening post (1816-1819)
Evening Post (New York, N.Y. : Semiweekly) (1850-1901)

Digital Resources
in NYS Historic Newspapers (freely available):
New-York Evening Post (1801-1832)
Evening Post (1832-1920)
New York Evening Post (1920-1927)

New York Post Collection (Newsbank)
1999 - Present -- Full-Text Articles (text only)
2020 - Present -- Full-Color Newspaper Pages (page images)
2010 - Present -- Online Only Content

New York Post in Factiva (only at SNFL)
September 15, 1997 to current
full text, not page images 

New York Post (December 13, 2005 to date)
in PressReader > deleted from PressReader January 1, 2023

Indexed in:
Gale OneFile: News (01/2000 - )
Global Newsstream ProQuest (08/13/1998 -12/29/2019)

The New York Press (1896-1916)
Call number: *ZY (New York Press)

The Press (1887-1896)
Call number: *ZY (New York Press. 1887-1896)

New York Star (1948-1949)

Continues:
New York Star, formerly PM (1948)
PM (New York, N.Y) (1940-1948)

Note:
Both The New York Times Magazine and The New York Times Book Review are on the microfilm and in the databases with the newspaper.
Also in Gale and ProQuest Research (see below).

Print
The last six months, print copies are available in the Dewitt Wallace Periodical Reading Room, Room 108

Index
The New York Times Index. Print
Pub. Cat. AI21 .N45 
Room 315 - Bill Blass Public Catalog Room

Digital Resources
Full text page images in:
New York Times (1851-2016) w/ Index (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
ProQuest National Newspapers Premier: The New York Times (2008 - 3 months ago) 

Also in
New York Times (1980-present) ProQuest
Text and images but not page images (in library)
New York State Newspapers Gale
1985 - current text only. 1965 - current  -- indexing 
---
New York Times Online (1996-current day)
Website, blogs, podcasts - text only
Factiva (formerly Dow Jones Interactive) text only, onsite at Thomas Yoseloff Business Center

Microfilm
Due to the number of items and copies there are multiple records in Catalog.
There are four main records in Catalog.
Years onsite: (1969-2021) 
*ZY (New York Times) (Record #1) (1857-1960)
b211481154 (2017 items)
Offsite

*ZY (New York Times) (Record #2)1961-1999.
b211484477 (1388 items)
Offsite

*R-*ZY (New York Times) (Record #3) 2000-
b211686785 (1080 items)
(2008 - 2023 onsite)

*ZAN-B297 (1969-2007)
b211481142 (1174 items)
(1969-2007) onsite

---
New York Times Book Review 
Print: call number: N-10 2597 Library has: Oct. 1896-1916, 1927-1981.
Book Review is in the ProQuest databases and on microfilm with the newspaper.
Also in:
ProQuest Research Library 1988 - current,  page images
HathiTrust (1896-1925)
Many title variations prior to 1923.

New York Times Magazine  ProQuest (1988-present). Gale OneFile (1985-present) text only.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers (to 2016) 
ProQuest Research 1997 - present, page images, color.  1986 - present citations
ProQuest Recent Newspapers (2008-3 months ago)

New-York Daily Tribune (1842-1866) 
New-York Tribune (1866-1924)
Call number: *R-*ZY (New York Tribune)

World Journal Tribune (1966-1967)
Call number: *ZY (World Journal Tribune)
Formed by the union of: New York World-Telegram and The Sun, and:
New York Journal American, and: New York Herald Tribune
Publication Date: Vol. 1, no. 1 (Sept. 12, 1966-v. 1, no. 233 May 5, 1967)

Digital Resources
in ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Tribune / Herald Tribune:
New-York Tribune (1841-1842)
New-York Daily Tribune (1842-1866)
New-York Tribune (1866-1924)
ProQuest Civil War Era / New York Herald (1840-1865) 

in Chronicling America:
New-York Daily Tribune  (1842- 1866)
New-York Tribune.(1866-1922)

Indexes
The New York Daily Tribune Index [microform]. (1875-1906)
The New York Daily Tribune Index HathiTrust (1875-1906)
New York Tribune Index (1875-1906) Eight Centuries, on-site access

New-York Spectator (1804-1867)
New York Spectator and Weekly Commercial Advertiser (1867-1875)
The Spectator (1797-1904)

Digital Resource
New-York Spectator (1797-1851) in America's Historical Newspapers

New York Newsday (1983-1996) 
Call number: *ZY 86-84

PM (New York, N.Y.) (1940-1948)
Call number: *ZY (PM daily)
Alternate title: PM Daily
Alternate title:: PM
About PM
PM on Wikipedia

Succeeding Title
New York star, formerly PM [microform]. (1948)
New York Star. [volume] (New York, N.Y.) (1948-1949)

Digital Resource
In FultonSearch.org
View papers / search by paper »
(Type PM in upper right corner filter)

Sun (New York, N.Y. : 1833) (1833-1916) 
Call number: *ZY (Sun (New York, N.Y. : 1833)) 
b126389858
Sun (New York, N.Y. : 1916) (1916-1920)
Call number: *ZY New York Sun 
Sun (New York, N.Y. : 1920) (1920-1950) 
New York World-Telegram and The Sun (1950-1966)
Call number: *ZY (World Telegram and Sun, NY)

Digital Resource
In Chronicling America:
The Sun. (New York [N.Y.]) 1833-1916 (1859-1916)
The Sun and New York press. (New York [N.Y.]) (1916-1916)
Sun (1916-1920)

(1959-1966) in FultonSearch.org

World (New York, N.Y. : 1860 : Daily) (1860-1861) Alexander Cummings
The World and Morning Courier and New-York Enquirer. (1861-1863) *ZY (World. New York, N.Y)
World (New York, N.Y. : 1863) (1863-1881) *ZY (World. New York, N.Y)
New York World (New York, N.Y. : 1881 : Daily) (to 1883) (7 reels)
World (New York, N.Y. : 1883 : Daily) (1883-1931) (517 reels) Joseph Pulitzer
b199360662
New York World-Telegram (1931-1950)
Copy at Columbia, Butler Library: New York world-telegram (1935:Nov.-1950:Jan.4) Available with METRO referral.
New York World-Telegram and The Sun (1950-1966) *ZY (World Telegram and Sun, NY)

Digital Resources
World (1861-1876) in America's Historical Newspapers
World in Fulton Search (1862-1882)
World (1890 - 1899) in Newspapers.com Library Edition
World via Center for Research Libraries: 
(May 11 - Aug 1883; 1885; Nov 16, 1894-1895; Jan 23-Dec 1921)
New York World (thrice a week) via Center for Research Libraries: (1898-Jan 10, 1902)