About This Guide
The Library has one of the country's largest collections of New York City newspapers. However, they can be challenging to locate due to frequent title changes and multiple formats. This guide provides an overview of the Library's collection of New York City newspapers and facilitates access to the most frequently requested titles. We've used the list from the chart, "And Then There Were Three," which graphs the consolidation of daily newspapers in the 20th century, about two dozen titles.
The guide also includes a list of non-English language titles with links to catalog entries, a shorter list of neighborhood and metro area newspapers, a summary of titles by resource with search tips, and a bibliography. It supplements the list, New York City Newspapers on Microfilm (PDF).
Note:
All entries are for microfilm except where listed as digital resources.
Many microfilm reels have gaps that are not listed here. The catalog record lists the gaps.
Date ranges are for Library holdings, not the publication dates of the newspapers.
Book a Consultation
Researchers of all levels are welcome to schedule an online consultation with a librarian. To schedule a consultation, please click the link above or email us for assistance.
How to Place Requests
Patrons can request items in advance in the Research Catalog, request a scan, or use a call slip in the Rose Main Reading Room.
First, view the Research Catalog record and check the item's location. After items are delivered, they are held for two weeks.
Please email the General Research Division if you have questions or need assistance.
Request In Advance
Click on the item's Request for On-site Use button, whether on-site at the Schwarzman Building or off-site. On-site items are delivered in 40 minutes, and off-site items take 2-3 business days.
Request In Person
Requests can also be placed in the Rose Main Reading Room, Room 315, with a call slip. We recommend requesting in advance.
Request a Scan
Patrons can request a scan if they have a citation with a page number and date. Please email the General Research Division or see NYPL's Scan & Deliver for further assistance.
City Hall Park and Newspaper Row, New York (1900 - 1907)
Contact Us
Third Floor, Room 315
New York, NY 10018
Accessibility for Print Disabilities
For researchers with print disabilities, the Library has resources and services available upon request. The following services are available:
Digitization of Select Research Materials
Researchers who are homebound or have a print disability or visual impairment can explore many of our research collections online and request digitization of specific items of interest. To request the digitization service, email accessibility@nypl.org. Please note that you must be a patron of the Andrew Heiskell Library. This digitization service only includes material belonging to the research collections and does not apply to branch/circulating collections.
Screen Readers and Enlargers
Every public PC at all New York Public Library locations is equipped with JAWS screen reading software and MAGic software for enlarging the screen, changing colors and contrast, and screenreading.
Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library
The Andrew Heiskell Library offers popular reading materials in accessible audio and braille formats, as well as free membership to the Bookshare database of over one million accessible texts. It also offers individual coaching and a large variety of group workshops on topics related to accessible technology. Check the listings on our website, call 212-206-5400, or email talkingbooks@nypl.org
For more information, see the Accessibility at NYPL page.