Artists Studios Resources : Books

Francis Bacon lived and worked for the last thirty years of his life in a modest building in London's South Kensington. For some of those close to Bacon, the studio was a heroic statement, a work of art in its own right, secretly constructed over many years to distill and give form to his aesthetic intentions. This book takes a privileged look around the artist’s private space, to become intimate witnesses to the amazing conditions in which Bacon lived and worked, to gain unrivaled insights into how, why, and what he painted.

The author shows how a clear understanding of class makes sense of what is at stake in a broad number of contemporary art's most persistent debates, from definitions of political art to the troubled status of "outsider" and street art to the question of how we maintain faith in art itself.

Good habits are found in every part of the design process, from promoting yourself well in order to land the client, to working with that client, to achieving the desired results on press. This book focuses on daily habits and reveals solutions from a wide range of freelance designers whose years of experience have helped them find the most creative and successful solutions for their clients' design needs.

It is estimated that there are over 300,000 companies involved in the world's art market, employing around 2.8 million people. But the art world carries a veneer of mystery and secrecy that many people find daunting, and the language used by market insiders can be alienating and. The A-Z of the International Art Market clarifies useful terms and definitions, and represents a significant contribution to the fast-developing processes of transparency and democratization in the global art business.

This collection of Agnes Martin’s most important art works, illuminated by her own notes and writings, encapsulates her philosophies on art and on the themes of life that inspired her paintings and drawings, as well as facsimiles presenting her words in her own handwriting intimately conveying her thoughts. This unprecedented book is a full and intimate celebration of the artist. Listen to the podcast of Agnes Martin: Her Life and Art with author Nancy Princenthal, in the Interviews & Podcasts section.

Spanning from 1990 to 2017, this volume collects ten interviews that illustrate how Alison Bechdel uses her own life, relationships, and contemporary events to expose the world to what she has referred to as the "fringes of acceptability." These interviews reveal her intentionality in the use of characters, plots, structure, and cartooning to draw her readers toward disrupting the status quo.

One of the powers of art is its ability to convey the human aspects of political events, ranging from war to revolution to sexual liberation. Art can also transform society, a theme that pervades this survey on art, artists, and anarchism since the 19th century.

This volume is a substantial archive and a singular point of entry into thinking with and understanding Andrea Fraser's work and reception. The interview format provides intimate insight into Fraser's self-positioning as a central aspect of her practice. It is organized chronologically with minimal editing, as its unmediated format allows the artist's key ideas and themes to attain deeper resonance through repetitions and subtle differentiations over multiple conversations.

Texts and words are of crucial importance to Annette Messager's work. She has looked directly at our diverse relationships to language in forms ranging from the early scrapbooks of the 1970s to the large sculpted words of the late 1990s, and also personal diaries, letters, calligraphy, alphabets and primers. The first section of this book focuses on writing in her artworks. The second includes numerous texts published in magazines or catalogues, and unpublished notes on her work and personal reflections on art and life. All of her interviews from 1974 to the present are also included.

Anni Albers (1899-1994) was one of the most influential textile designers of the 20th century. Born in Berlin, in 1922 she was a student at the Bauhaus in Weimar. The fifteen essays gathered in this book, illustrate Anni Albers's concept of design as the pursuit of wholeness. This beautifully illustrated book addresses the artistic and practical concerns of modern design and considers the ever-changing role of the designer.

This book provides a tour through Kiefer's various studios and analyses the important role these spaces have in the making of his works. From the attic of a former school and a disused brickyard in Germany, to a studio in the rural southern France, to the urban setting of the Marais in Paris, and his studio on the outskirts of Paris, readers can see how the artist's work spaces have influenced his art.

In this insightful collection, Antoni Tàpies, reflects on art, life, and politics. This volume includes essays published in Catalan in six separate books between 1970 and 1999 together with previously uncollected articles, lectures, and other texts. In these essays Tàpies reflects on the social role of art and the artist, discusses the influences on his art, and describes his political and artistic views.

Art & Fear explores the way art gets made, the reasons it often doesn't get made, and the nature of the difficulties that cause so many artists to give up along the way. The co-authors, Bayles and Orland, are working artists, grappling daily with the problems of making art in the real world. Their insights and observations, drawn from personal experience, provide an incisive view into the world of art as it is experienced by art makers themselves. This is not your typical self-help book. This is a book written by artists, for artists.

In this practical guide, professional artist Lisa Congdon reveals the many ways you can earn a living by making art through illustration, licensing, fine art sales, print sales, teaching, and beyond. Including industry advice from successful art world pros this book will equip you with the tools and the confidence, to turn your passion into a profitable business.

Gabriel Levine examines collective projects that reclaim and reinvent tradition in contemporary North America, within and beyond the frames of art. He argues that, in a time of political reaction and mass uprisings, the subversion of the traditional is galvanizing artists, activists, musicians, and people in everyday life. Levine concludes that innovative forms of practice can work toward collectively reclaiming, remaking, and repairing a damaged world.

Although Ad Reinhardt’s ideas about art and life were often at odds with those of his contemporaries, they prefigured the ascendance of minimalism. His interest in religion, his strong convictions about the value of abstraction, and his disgust with the commercialism of the art world are as fresh and valid today as they were when he first expressed them.

Art used to be an engagement between artists and materials, but now as art practices and mediums have changed, the materials have also changed. Where art used to talk of the aesthetics of disappearance, it now confronts the disappearance of the aesthetic. In the 21st century, the new battleground is art as light versus art as matter.

Art as Social Action is both a general introduction to and an illustrated, practical textbook for the field of social practice, an art medium that has been gaining popularity in the public sphere. With content arranged thematically around such topics as anti-bias work, and collective learning, this book is a comprehensive manual for teachers about how to teach art as social practice. Lesson plans reflect the ongoing pedagogical and art action work of Social Practice Queens (SPQ), a unique partnership between Queens College CUNY and the Queens Museum.

The American photographer Robert Adams offers over two dozen meditations on the purpose of art and the responsibility of the artist. In particular, Adams advocates art that evokes beauty without irony or sentimentality, art that "encourages us to gratitude and engagement, and is of both personal and civic consequence."

Artemisia Gentileschi’s art addressed issues that resonate today, such as sexual violence and women's problematic relationship to political power. This book breaks new ground by placing Artemisia Gentileschi in the context of women's political history. Mary D. Garrard, noted Gentileschi scholar, discusses recently discovered paintings, offers fresh perspectives on known works, and examines the artist anew in the context of feminist history.

A comprehensive guide for emerging and mid-career artists to pursue a career in the visual arts. Providing real-life examples, illustrations, and step-by-step exercises, Battenfield offers readily applicable advice on all aspects of the job. Each chapter ends with an insightful "Reality Check" interview, featuring advice and useful information from high-profile artists and professionals. The result is an inspiring, experiential guide brimming with field-tested techniques that readers can easily apply to their own career.

This is a comprehensive guide to the complex world of public art. Learn how to find, apply for, compete for, and win a public art commission. First-hand interviews with experienced public artists and arts administrators provide in-the-trenches advice and insight. Packed with details on working with contracts, conflict, controversy, communities, committees, and more, The Artist's Guide to Public Art, 2nd Edition, shows artists how to cut through the red tape and win commissions that are rewarding both financially and artistically.

This edition offers advice on how to use digital opportunities for selling your work, including selecting and approaching galleries, pricing and payments, royalty rates and financial management, sample contracts and legal considerations, making a website and maximizing hits, mastering social media, managing sales via online stores such as Etsy, Folksy or eBay, and more.

Grow your art business with contact information for more than 1,800 art market resources, including galleries, magazines, book publishers, greeting card companies, ad agencies, syndicates, art fairs, also grants, residencies, organizations, publications, and websites that offer support and direction for visual artists as well as social media marketing, monitoring your copyright, and more.

Translated and printed in full together for the first time, these letters, postcards, and telegrams from the collection of the Getty Research Institute offer uncensored access to the evolution of the relationship between the art critic and collector Robert Lebel and Marcel Duchamp from December 1946 to April 1967.

The Artist as Culture Producer illustrates how today's contemporary artists add to creative economies through out-of-the-box thinking while also generously contributing to the well-being of others. By turns humorous, heartbreaking, and instructive, the testimonies of the forty diverse working artists will inspire and encourage every reader.

Alexander Liberman draws on his skill as a photographer and his wide acquaintance with the great modern artists to construct a splendid visual and verbal meditation on art and the act of creation.

Artists' Estates offers a journey into the complex and competitive art world through the distinctive lens of those who deal with the paintings, prints, and sculpture that artists leave behind after their deaths. The passionate testimonies of families and lovers, the measured voices of art professionals, and the photographs offer an indispensable entry into private and public worlds of art.

Full of fascinating and surprising revelations about the artworks a select group of the world's most influential contemporary artists choose to collect and display in their own homes. Many of these homes, some of which also function as studios, have never been seen and offer unique insight into each artists' life, creative process, artistic practices, inspirations and who their friends are (many swap art with one another).

This book takes viewers into the work space of internationally known artists, and looks at their unique practices, methods, materials and influences.

Conversational and instructive, this practical primer helps artists learn the best writing and research strategies for their letters, biographies, statements, proposals, applications, wall text, and more. In addition to models, templates, worksheets, and sample analyses of calls for entry, it references readily available and public resources throughout.

In his book art critic Lance Esplund demonstrates that works of modern and contemporary art are not as indecipherable as they might seem. With patience, insight, and wit, Esplund guides us through the last century of art and empowers us to approach and appreciate it with new eyes.

Art critic Sebastian Smee tells the fascinating story of four pairs of artists--Manet and Degas, Picasso and Matisse, Pollock and de Kooning, Freud and Bacon--whose fraught, competitive friendships spurred them to new creative heights. Writing with the same exuberant wit and psychological insight that earned him a Pulitzer Prize for art criticism, Sebastian Smee explores here the way that coming into one's own as an artist--finding one's voice--almost always involves willfully breaking away from some intimate's expectations of who you are or ought to be.

A fascinating tour of the last five decades of contemporary art in New York City, showing how artists are catalysts of gentrification and how neighborhoods in turn shape their art. This book takes the reader on a journey through the neighborhoods that shape, and are shaped by New York's ever-evolving art world. Based on interviews with over 150 gallery directors, and the artists themselves, art historian and cultural commentator Ann Fensterstock explores the genesis, expansion, maturation and ultimate restless migration of the New York art world from one initially undiscovered neighborhood to the next.

The Art Prophets introduces us to influential late 201h century dealers and tastemakers in the art world. These risk takers opened doors for artists, identified new movements, and resurrected art forms that had fallen into obscurity. Richard Polsky offers an engaging dialog between artists and the visionaries who paved their way.

Bill Ivey, the former chairman of the National Endowment for the Arts, assesses the current state of the arts in America and finds cause for alarm. In eight succinct chapters, Ivey blends personal and professional memoir, policy analysis, and deeply held convictions to explore and define a coordinated vision for art, culture, and expression in American life.

Designed for students and practitioners with little experience in not-for-profit management, this book provides an indispensable guide to the theory and practice of managing arts and cultural organizations. The concise text engages readers with case studies and critical-thinking exercises that will develop their ability to adapt to a changing industry. From governance and human resources to program development, financial management, and marketing, Arts Management addresses the unique atmosphere of managing the arts today.

A visual and textual reference, this 3rd edition is a guide with nearly 150 alphabetical entries explaining the who, what, where, and when of postwar and contemporary art. The concise essays are accompanied by images illustrating the key works of the movements. A timeline traces world and art world events from 1945 to the present, and an ArtChart of the major art movements.

After the avant-garde of the 50s and 60s shattered the canon of art styles into numerous groups of artists, "tribes" now seems the only identity system that can describe these shape shifting contemporary art movements. This book is divided according to art tribe including Fluxus and Events, Happenings, Mono-ha, the Factory, Actionism, Techno, Situationism and the "chiefs without tribes."

As major oil companies face continual public backlash, many have found it helpful to engage in "art washing"--donating large sums to cultural institutions to shore up their good name. Artwash explores the relationship between funding and the production of the arts, with particular focus on the role of big oil companies. Mel Evans sounds a note of hope, presenting ways artists themselves have challenged the ethics of contemporary art galleries and examining how cultural institutions might change.

Artist, educator, and writer Wendy Richmond challenges artists to investigate their work through multiple lenses in her book. Her commentaries, exercises, and wide-ranging references to contemporary thinkers inspire artists to change the way they think about their creative landscape, from personal goals to cultural influences to technological realities. She helps artists to develop an uncompromising commitment to finding and protecting their own unique process for making their strongest and most relevant art.

The first book length publication of Jean Dubuffet's influential writings.

This cultural history examines the emergence of a professional identity for American women artists. By focusing on a diverse group of women artists, Laura Prieto gives us a compelling picture of the prospects and constraints faced by women artists in the United States from the late 18th century through the 1930s, and reveals a forgotten aspect of art history and women's history.

Jed Perl embraces the work of creative spirits as varied as Mozart, Michelangelo, Jane Austen, Henry James, Picasso, and Aretha Franklin. He contends that the essence of the arts is their ability to free us from fixed definitions and categories. Whether we are experiencing a poem, a painting, or an opera, it's the interplay between authority and freedom--what Perl calls "the lifeblood of the arts"--that fuels the imaginative experience.

Benvenuto Cellini was a goldsmith and sculptor whose works include the bronze statue of Perseus and the gold salt cellar made for Francis 1. He worked for a variety of patrons, including Popes Clement VII and Paul III. Inn-keepers and prostitutes, kings and cardinals, artists and soldiers rub shoulders in the pages of his autobiography that provides a vivid portrait of the manners and morals of the rulers of the day and of their subjects.

In Bad Boy, American artist Eric Fischl has written a penetrating, exploration of his coming of age as an artist, and his search for a fresh narrative style in the highly charged and competitive New York art world in the 1970s and 1980s. Courageously revealing as his most provocative paintings, Bad Boy takes readers on a roller coaster ride through the passion and politics of the art world. Listen to the podcast of Eric Fischl discussing his candid and revealing autobiography Bad Boy, in the Interviews & Podcasts section.

A large body of work, it spans almost the whole of Barbara Hepworth's artistic life. Alongside the writings are Hepworth's lectures and speeches, interviews and conversations with writers, journalists, radio and television broadcasts. The collection sheds new light on her artistic practices, inspirations, intellectual interests, and her engagement with contemporary politics and society.

Published on the occasion of A’rt21’s 21st anniversary, this compendium of artist interviews captures the engaging and seminal conversations that took place over the organization's history, serving as an essential primer on a generation of contemporary artists for those interested in the artistic process as a tool for curriculum building. Watch the Art21's artists studios visits under Interviews & Podcasts tab.

A collection of interviews with Ben Katchor the creator of the comic strip Julius Knipl, Real Estate Photographer, which began in 1988.

This go-to guide can be your handbook as you enter the art world and navigate the nuances of becoming self-sufficient. Instead of feeding you new techniques, it will provide you with insights to help you make decisions based on your specific situation and goals. By the end of this book, you will have a set of guidelines for scenarios that range from taking on commission work and conducting negotiations to dealing with rejection and improving your organization.

In both the selection of essays and its innovative interplay of word and image, The Blaue Reiter Almanac remains one of our most critically important works of literature on the art theory and culture of the 20th century. This edition, long unavailable in English and simulates the original German format, and includes documents, and musical notations, as well as seminal essays by Kandinsky, Schoenberg, Marc, and others.

The contemporary art market is an international juggernaut, throwing off multimillion dollar deals as wealthy buyers move from fair to fair, auction to auction, party to glittering party. But none of it would happen without the dealers, the tastemakers who back emerging artists and steer them to success, often to see them picked off by a rival. Michael Shnayerson, a longtime contributing editor to Vanity Fair, writes the first ever definitive history of their activities.

All of us struggle at one time or another with creative block. Take solace in knowing that you are not alone. It happens to everyone and is actually an inevitable part of the creative process. Breakthrough! Is a lively compilation of strategies and personal tips for combating creative ruts offered by leading international graphic designers, typographers, cartoonists, photographers, illustrators and other well-known creative professionals.

The work of the late Belgian artist and poet, Marcel Broodthaers, analyzes the institutional conditions of art production at the end of the modernist period and is central to current debates on postmodernism. This book presents a selection of his own writings, interviews with the artist, 90 illustrations of his work, a complete bibliography, and critical essays.

Inspired by their own lifestyles, Brown Bohemians showcases what they have personally and spiritually experienced as creative people of color. Each of their stories are unique yet add to the collective narratives of rebuilding communities physically and emotionally after colonialism, loving self in spite of exclusive beauty standards, embracing uniqueness in the face of narrowed media representation, and honoring their creative contributions even when minimized and at times mocked by mainstream society.

Written in diary format by a professional photojournalist, this guide looks at the daily life of a working photographer.offeing suggestions on camera angles, tips for lens choices, to help those starting out in the field.

Essays and interviews explore the work of Carrie Mae Weems and its place in the history of photography, African American art, and contemporary art. Since the 1980s, Weems has challenged the status of the black female body within the complex social fabric of American society. Her oeuvre investigates spaces that range from the American kitchen table to the 19th century world of historically black Hampton University to the ancient landscapes of Rome.

This interview was conducted while the artist was in bed recovering from a serious operation. Henri Matisse unravels memories of his youth and his life as a student in Gustave Moreau's atelier. He recounts his experience with collectors, and discusses fame, writers, musicians, politicians, and his travels. The book abounds with details about avant-garde life, tactics, and artistic creativity.

Throughout the formative years of abstract expressionism, Robert Motherwell's presence as artist, editor of a series of pioneering books on modern art, lecturer, and teacher was influential in both illuminating and shaping the development of what he termed "The Enterprise" of abstract art. This book brings together a representative selection of his writings about art, from 1941 to 1988.

“Every work of art is the child of its age and, in many cases, the mother of our emotions. It follows that each period of culture produces an art of its own which can never be repeated.” --Wassily Kandinsky

Roger White's book offers a once-in-a-generation glimpse of the inner workings of the American art world at a moment of unparalleled ambition, uncertainty, and creative exuberance.

A fascinating glimpse into the friendship of two acclaimed artists, which reveals the great extent to which they influenced each other's work and lives. Converging Lines celebrates this friendship and offers an illuminating look at their close-knit New York circle. This is the first publication to demonstrate that the two artists influenced each other's art and lives in reciprocal and profound ways.

This book presents Ai Weiwei in conversation with theorists, critics, journalists, and curators about key moments in his life and career ranging from his relationship with China, to the meaning of citizenship, how to make art, and technology as a tool for freedom or oppression. These candid, spontaneous conversations reveal why he has become a major force in contemporary art and political life.

"The rhythm of the body moving through space has been the motivating source of most of my work." --Richard Serra. Drawn from talks between artist Richard Serra and art historian Hal Foster held over a fifteen-year period, this volume offers revelations into Serra's prolific six-decade career and the ideas that have informed his working practice. Listen to the podcast of Richard Serra and Hal Foster discussing the artist's seminal body of work spanning 1966 to 1971, in the Interviews & Podcasts section.

Michael Doran has gathered texts by contemporaries of Paul Cézanne including artists, critics, and writers who illuminate the influential painter's philosophy of art especially in his late years. The book includes historically important essays by a dozen different authors, including Emile Bernard, Joaquim Gasquet, Maurice Denis, and Ambroise Vollard, Lawrence Gowing, along with selections from Cézanne's own letters.

Corrected Slogans represents a vital discourse on conceptual practices in contemporary art and poetry. The book provides a site of creative production, enacting an expanded notion of publishing as a mode of critical inquiry.

The essential handbook for curators and curatorial students, mapping every stage of the process of organizing and mounting an exhibition, from initial idea to final installation, including advice and tips from a cast of international museum directors and curators.

Arranged in thematic sections focusing on feminism, race and sexuality, this book examines and illustrates pioneering examples of exhibitions that have broken down boundaries and demonstrated that new approaches are possible. Maura Riley addresses the urgent need in the contemporary art world for curatorial strategies that provide alternatives to exclusionary models of collecting and display, as she provides an invaluable source of information for current thinkers. Watch the video of Maura Riley discussing the book and her insights on the current curatorial world in the Interviews & Podcasts section.

Some artists find themselves frustrated and unable to sell paintings hanging in galleries, bogged down by projects they can't finish or abandon, and using excuses to avoid working in the studio. Carol Marine suffered from painter's block until she discovered "daily painting." In her debut book she reveals the tips and tricks that helped her and other daily painters pick to start creating marketable work.

Daily rituals of novelists, poets, playwrights, painters, philosophers, scientists, and mathematicians, who describe how they subtly maneuver the many (self-inflicted) obstacles and (self-imposed) daily rituals to get done the work they love to do.

Daily Rituals, explores the daily obstacles and rituals of creative women including artists, painters, sculptors, filmmakers, and performers. We see how these brilliant minds get to work, the choices they have to make: rebuffing convention, stealing time from the pull of husbands, wives, children, obligations, in order to create their work. The rituals (daily and otherwise) guide them to summon up willpower and self-discipline, keeping themselves afloat with optimism and fight, as they create.

From struggles with money and the bitterness of rejection, to spiritual questions of inspiration and authenticity, this book offers insight, solace and courage to help artists on the winding road to artistic fulfilment.

The documentary photographer David Goldblatt discusses his work with writer and curator Katherine Slusher.

This comprehensive sourcebook is destined to become a lasting and definitive reference on the art and aesthetic philosophy of the American artist David Smith (1906-1965). This compilation of Smith's poems, sketchbook notes, essays, lectures, letters to the editor, reviews, and interviews underscores the ways his writing articulated his private identity and promoted the social ideals that made him a key participant in contemporary discourses surrounding modernism, art and politics, and sculptural aesthetics.

William Deresiewicz, the contemporary culture critic, argues that we are in the midst of an epochal transformation within art. Whereas the 19th century considered artists to be craftsmen and the 20th century treated them as professionals, artists today are uniquely dependent upon themselves. The internet, decreases in art funding and the growing prevalence of gig economies, has forced artists to become responsible for every aspect of their work, from conception to promotion, from sales to legacy.

Derek Jarman recorded his life and work in highly detailed sketchbooks. Encompassing both the private and the professional, they offer a personal view into the life and career of a highly influential filmmaker and artist. The once-private sketchbooks are an intimate pictorial record of the detailed planning, research and the creative and emotional engagement behind every scene in his films.

The Devil in the Gallery is a guided tour of the history of art through its scandals, rivalries, and shocking acts, each of which resulted in a positive step forward for art in general and, in most cases, for the careers of the artists in question.

A series of fascinating dialogues between artist Marcel Duchamp and journalist Pierre Cabanne conducted in 1971, with an introduction by Robert Motherwell, a preface by Salvador Dali and an appreciation by Jasper Johns.

In these interviews, Dieter Roth offered many surprising and fascinating clues to his life and line of thought including his very intimate interview with writer Patrick Frey just a few days before his death. The book also presents many of his poems and prose in English.

This volume brings together for the first time, a collection of texts, performances, short stories, essays, op-eds, art and photographs, by performance artist Karen Finley, creating a memoir of a woman whose life and career have embodied the urgent cultural conflicts of our time.

Curated by Hans Ulrich Obrist, 'Do It' began in Paris in 1993 as a conversation between the artists Christian Boltanski and Bertrand Lavier and Obrist himself, who was experimenting with how exhibition formats could be rendered more flexible and open ended. Constantly evolving and morphing into different versions of itself, 'Do It' has grown to encompass 'Do It (Museum)', 'Do It (Home)', 'Do It (TV)', 'Do It (Seminar)' as well as some 'Anti-Do Its', a 'Philosophy Do It' and, most recently, a 'UNESCO Children's Do It'.

This collection of Donald Judd's writings is a sought after classic. His uncompromising reviews avoid the familiar generalizations so often associated with artistic styles emerging during the 1950s and 60s. Here, Judd discusses in detail the work of more than 500 artists showing in New York at that time, and provides a critical account of this significant era in American art.

With hundreds of pages of new and previously unpublished essays, notes, and letters, this volume is the most comprehensive collection of the artist's writings assembled to date, and provides readers with the full extent of Donald Judd's influence on contemporary art, art history, and art criticism.

This volume presents more than sixty interviews with the artist over the course of four decades, and is the first compilation of its kind as it engages a diverse range of topics, from philosophy and politics to Judd's insightful critiques of his own work and the work of others.

Kenneth Goldsmith tells the history of UbuWeb, explaining the motivations behind its creation and how artistic works are archived, consumed, and distributed online. Based on his own experiences and interviews with a variety of experts, Goldsmith describes how the site navigates issues of copyright and the ways that UbuWeb challenges familiar configurations and histories of the avant-garde.

In this volume, filmmaker and writer Hito Steyerl wonders how we can appreciate, or even make art, in the present age, as she explores artefacts as diverse as video games, Wikileaks files, the proliferation of spam, and political actions. Steyerl exposes the paradoxes within globalization, political economies, visual culture, and the status of art production.

Critical and theoretical essays by a long-time participant in the Art & Language movement. These essays by art historian and critic Charles Harrison are based on the premise that making art and talking about art are related enterprises. According to Harrison, the strongest motivation for writing about art is that it brings us closer to that which is other than ourselves.

With fully revised content, three new chapters, and profiles of contemporary artists and designers from around the world, this guide leads the reader through the most important aspects of setting up and growing a profitable enterprise.

Throughout her career, Eva Hesse (1936--1970) produced a significant number of small, experimental works alongside her large-scale sculpture. These so-called "test-pieces” were made in a wide range of materials, including latex, wire-mesh, sculp-metal, wax, and cheesecloth. Rather than considering them simply technical explorations, the art historian Briony Fer renames these small objects “studiowork” and argues that they force us to ask fundamental questions, not just about what an artwork is, but about the work that art does in our culture.

Bestselling author, artist, and illustrator Lisa Congdon brings her expertise to the table in this guide to the process of artistic self-discovery. Featuring advice from Congdon herself and interviews with a roster of established artists, illustrators, and creatives, this book will teach readers to identify and nurture their own visual identities, navigate the influence of artists they admire, push through fear and insecurity, and appreciate the value of their unique personal journeys.

Similar to the Sur­re­al­ists’, the Futur­ists’ or the Con­struc­tivists’ who sig­nalled a rad­i­cal change in the course and per­cep­tion of art and life, R. B. Kitaj declares in this manifesto his cre­do on art and life. The book includes 60 illustrations.

Foucault's writing on painting covers four discrete periods in European art history (17th century southern Baroque, mid-nineteenth century French painting, Surrealism, and figurative painting in the 1960s and '70s) as well as five individual artists: Velázquez, Manet, Magritte, Paul Reyberolle, and Gérard Fromanger. Foucault followed a French intellectual tradition dating back to the 17th century, which understands painting as a separate area of knowledge.

This collection of conversations offers a peek at the person behind the hype, as it allows readers to see the image of herself that she carefully crafted for the public. From her timid beginnings after her first solo exhibition, to a confident woman who stated that she was her only influence, the many faces of Kahlo presented here reveal the artist behind the "Fridamania" of today.

A collection of personal conversations with 20 seminal artists including 165 color images of the their work, as well as portraits of each of the sculptors.

In this inspiring collection of essays, writer and critic Olivia Laing makes a brilliant case for why art matters, especially in the turbulent political weather of the 21st century. With characteristic originality and compassion, She celebrates art as a force of resistance and repair, an antidote to a frightening political time. Laing argues that art changes how we see the world, and it offers fertile new ways of living.

This book, designed by Whistler himself, is a highly entertaining account of personal revenges, but it is also an iconoclast's plea for a new and better attitude toward painting. As a historical document, it is the best statement of the new aesthetics versus the old guard academics, and it helped greatly in shaping the modern feeling toward art.

This volume, celebrating Georgia O'Keeffe's birth cenntenial, is a book of wonders in many respects. The essays illuminate selected corners of Georgia O'Keeffe's life and art. The letters, full of vivacity, keen insight, and hard thinking, show how she saw her life and chose to live. The brilliantly reproduced paintings; seen as sensual, are also tightly controlled visions of color and form, monumental and deeply intellectual.

The volume begins with Gerhard Richter's farewell letters to his teacher Heinz Lohmar in 1961, is augmented with 15 unpublished texts from 1962 to 1993, as well as texts from the past 14 years of his career, and closes with an interview on his contribution to the 52nd Venice Biennale in 2007. In between are public statements on specific exhibitions, private reflections drawn from personal correspondence, answers to questions posed by critics and journal excerpts discussing the intentions, methods and subjects of his works from various periods.

This volume presents the works, writings and interviews of the enigmatic 20th century Bolognese artist Giorgio Morand who was Influenced by Giotto, Cézanne, the metaphysical painters, and the cubists,

The vividly told, gloriously illustrated memoir of an artist born with disabilities who searches for freedom and connection in a society afraid of strange bodies.

Guerrilla Girls is the first book to catalog the entire career of the Guerrilla Girls from 1985 to present. They are a collective of political feminist artists who expose discrimination and corruption in art, film, politics, and pop culture worldwide. This book explores all their provocative street campaigns, unforgettable media appearances, and large-scale exhibitions. Each copy comes with a punch-out gorilla mask that invites readers to step up and join the movement themselves.

For the thirtieth anniversary of the Fondation Cartier pour l'art contemporain in Paris, art historian and curator Hans Ulrich Obrist conducted a series of conversations with artists, scientists, and thinkers such as Patti Smith, Raymond Depardon, Agnes Varda, and Freddy Mamani, in an attempt to transcend the borders between art disciplines.

Over the course of about ten years, Hans Ulrich Obrist and Matthew Barney met to discuss Barney's past work, current projects and his plans for the future. This collection of interviews provides a rare insight into how Barney’s work and working method has developed over time, and uncovers the ideas, influences and collaborations that lie behind his multi-layered and multimedia creative output.

Pioneer of minimalist sculpture, process art, and earthworks Robert Morris resisted affiliation with any one movement or style. A versatile artist, he produced dances, performance pieces, prints, paintings, drawings, and installations. Morris also wrote influential critical essays, commenting on his own work and that of other artists. This publication conveys Morris's interest in philosophy, issues of resemblance and representation as well as addressing contemporary social and political issues such as corporate excess and preemptive belligerence.

Whether you work in painting, photography, sculpture, ceramics, printmaking, woodworking, textiles, computer, or children's art, this is the only reference book that covers all the dangers associated with metals, minerals, and chemicals. With illustrations throughout, this first aid book shows how to treat injuries and work with proper caution while still being creative.

At the turn of the 20th century, Swedish artist Hilma af Klint created a body of work that left visible reality behind, exploring the radical possibilities of abstraction years before Vasily Kandinsky, Kazimir Malevich, or Piet Mondrian. Many consider her the first trained artist to create abstract paintings. With this book we experience the arc of af Klint's artistic investigation in her own words.

A revealing memoir and family history from photographer Sally Mann, and a unique interplay of narrative and image, Mann's preoccupation with family, race, mortality, and the storied landscape of the American South are revealed as almost genetically predetermined, written into her DNA by the family history that precedes her.

No other writer enhances the reader's experience of art in precise, jargon-free prose as Peter Schjeldahl does. His reviews are more essay than criticism, and he offers engaging and informative accounts of artists and their work. For more than three decades, he has written about art with Emersonian openness and clarity. A fresh perspective, an unexpected connection, a lucid gloss on a big idea awaits the reader on every page of this big, absorbing, buzzing book.

From the first sparks of inspiration, and how to pursue them without giving in to self-doubt, art critic Jerry Saltz offers insight into what really matters to emerging artists: originality, persistence, a balance between knowledge and intuition, and that most precious of qualities, self-belief. Brimming with rules, prompts, and practical tips, How to Be an Artist gives artists ways to break through creative blocks, get the most from materials, navigate career challenges, and above all find joy in the work.

This volume explores how artists can have a career in the field they love, and explains the core business principles of being an artist as it reveals how to make it in the art market. Case studies are drawn from interviews with leading experts and practitioners, including artists, gallerists, and curators.

In this detailed guide for artists, students, and aspiring art professionals, gallery owner Molly Barnes takes the mystique out of selling art. Readers learn how to present their work and themselves to the professional art world, networking and strategizing in the art community, knowing who buys and who doesn’t, continuing the momentum created by your show, how museums work curators, representatives, consultants, and their roles and significance to artists.

This seventh entry in the "How to Read" series is a one-stop guide to understanding the world's great artworks, as it explains the aesthetics of schools of painting from the Renaissance masters and Impressionists to the Cubists and Modernists. It enables readers to develop an understanding of the vocabulary of painting, and to discover how to look at diverse paintings in detail.

Artist David Salle explores how art works as it it moves, informs, and challenges us. This collection of essays illuminates the work of many of the most influential artists of the 20th century. He writes with humor and verve, replacing the jargon of art theory with precise and evocative descriptions that help readers develop a personal and intuitive engagement with art. Listen to the podcast of David Salle discussing his book with poet, critic and novelist Ben Lerner, in the Interviews & Podcasts section.

The gallery owner Patrick Parrish shares advice, stories, gossip and pointers on how to acquire top quality art and design from flea markets to the top auction houses in the world. With over 25 years of experience in the trenches as a picker, a collector, and dealer he tells you what to do, what not to do, and how to negotiate with international galleries, auction houses and more.

Set in New York's Lower East Side of the 1980s and mid-1990s, Peter McGough’s memoir of his life with artist David McDermott is a devastatingly candid look at the extreme naiveté and dysfunction that would destroy their lives. Escaping the trauma of growing up gay in Syracuse, McGough attended art school in New York, dropped out, and took out jobs in clubs, where he met McDermott. Dazzled by McDermott, McGough agreed to collaborate with him. By the mid-1980s, McDermott & McGough were hugely successful. This is a compelling memoir for our time, told with humor and compassion.

This publication is a facsimile of excerpts from one of Ida Applebroog's personal notebooks containing a compilation of handwritten notes, storyboards, mise-en-scène drawings, and musical notations. Underlining, and annotations in different colors, show that the artist has intensively worked through her notes. With only a few words and brief instructions, Applebroog develops stage plays of great dramatic density that she simultaneously comments on, questions, and interprets, thus delivering an insight into her working method.

Mary Kelly's collection of writings from 1976 to 1995, asks fundamental questions about the analysis of current practices in art and makes rigorous arguments for a criticism informed by semiotics, psychoanalysis, and feminism. Few artists have made such a strong contribution to critical discourse and art as Kelly, who for decades has pushed the boundaries of the visual, the textual, the sexual, and the political in her writing and her art.

A follow up to Joe Fig’s 2009 book Inside the Painter's Studio, are 24 fascinating interviews with influential artists from a range of disciplines including painters, sculptors, photographers, and video artists. Fig has created a sculpture or painting of each artist's studio that accompanies each interview.

In this collection of twenty-four remarkable interviews, and exclusive visual documentation of their studios, the prominent artists were asked a wide range of questions about their day-to-day creative life, covering everything from how they organize their studios to what painting tools they prefer. They open up about how they set a creative mood, how they choose titles, and more.

Since 1981, Independent Curators International (ICI) has run a series in which prominent New York artists talk about their work to an audience gathered at the artist's studio. The New York Studio Events program has visited some 200 distinguished artists. This book shares the archive of audio recordings made during these events that provide an exceptional oral record of the artists' thoughts on their working processes, and more.

21 interviews with American artists including David Smith, Richard Serra, Willem de Kooning, Barnett Newman, Franz Kline, Philip Guston, and Robert Rauschenberg as they illuminate the developments in American art.

An impressive archive of interviews conducted by curator Michael Peppiatt, ranging from formal Q&A to impromptu conversations, offer a unique perspective on art from World War II to 2011. The interviewees include some of the famous to the under recognized artists who speak in unpredictable ways about their work and lives.

Across the globe, women are embracing the entrepreneurial spirit and starting creative businesses. In the Company of Women profiles over 100 of these influential and creative women from all ages, races, backgrounds, and industries.

From the first page to the last this book serves as a launching pad. The text is a first step for readers' explorations of current modes of art making and for their own future artistic achievements. In the Making is also a pedagogical tool that addresses what is fast becoming a huge gap in art education. The interviews, conducted by Linda Weintraub's students at Oberlin College, pose questions about the artists' schooling, their studio space, and how they support themselves.

As treasure troves of creativity, the homes of artists reflect the intellectual worlds of their creators. About twenty examples, this volume brings to life these artistic fantasies including existing projects and some which, although they have been lost, were of unique importance in their day and still retain their charisma.

Artist Carroll Dunham is also a writer who has engaged with a wide variety of artists in the form of reviews, catalog essays, and interviews. Collected here for the first time, this volume reveals the depth of his writing. From reviews of Pablo Picasso and Jasper Johns to a gonzo Peter Saul interview, to an appreciation of Kara Walker's films and reflections on his own practice, Dunham writes about what is made and why it matters with wit and candor.

This look at New York City's postwar art scene focuses on the galleries and the artists that helped transform American art. Examining the innovative artist-run galleries, this book reevaluates the period uncovering its diversity, creativity, and nuances, as it traces the spaces' influence during the decades that followed. Inventing Downtown explores 14 key spaces where styles such as Pop, Minimalism, and performance and installation art thrived.

Isamu Noguchi is best known for his monumental abstract sculptures his parks, gardens, plazas, fountains, theatrical designs and whimsical light fixtures. This collection of his writings and interviews with him, reveal his ideas and his relationship with Japanese culture.

An evocative chronicle of the power of solitude in the natural world I'm often asked, but have no idea why I chose Iceland, why I first started going, why I still go. In truth I believe Iceland chose me. —Roni Horn

An interdisciplinary anthology, this book collects works by women artists and writers who have constructed hybrid environments that merge image and text. The works in this collection are imaginative in form and content. Listen to the podcast of Ann Hamilton and Jane Hammond discussing their artworks that were published in the book in the Interviews & Podcasts section.

Imagine your favorite artist leading you through a museum to the very work of art they can't stop thinking about. That's the experience at the heart of this book.

Jack Whitten's writings articulate his tireless reinvention of abstraction. A black man who grew up in the Jim Crow South, Jack Whitten arrived in New York in 1959 and began a wide-ranging exploration into the nature of painting and art-making that would sustain more than five decades of work. This publication comes at a crucial time; after decades of neglect, the art world has just begun to take stock of what Whitten achieved in his body of work.

This volume explores the artist’s art and thought, from all periods of his career, through interviews, published writings, working notes he kept in his sketchbooks and recorded conversations with critics and friends. Also included are previously unpublished images from the artist's sketchbooks.

Through a combination of interviews with the artist, criticism from the artist's lifetime and immediately after, previously unpublished research by the author, and a selection of the critical essays on the artist's work, this collection provides a full picture of Jean-Michel Basquiat's views on art and culture, his working process, and the critical significance of his work both then and now.

The painter and sculptor Jean Dubuffet initiated anti-intellectual art in his engagement for the art of the mentally ill, art brut, which he collected and fostered. The sculptures from his late work shown in this book are models for monumental walk-in architectural pieces. The text extracts from his biographical writings describe the mental path he took in developing his maquettes.

Starting on the streets of New York with simple fly-posters, Jenny Holzer has gone on to disseminate her truisms, slogans, memorials and poems through a variety of media. This volume features the complete collection of the artist's writings, up to and including her 1996 text for a monument in Erlauf, Austria, accompanied by color photography of the entire range of Holzer's installations and projects.

An unusual mix of different types of writings from memoir to artist statements, John Marin by John Marin is a unique look into the artist's way of working, living and experiencing the world around him that also includes works by the artist.

Grace Hartigan emerged during the 1950s as a leading representative of the "second generation" of the New York School of abstract expressionist painters. Her journals offer readers an intimate chronicle of the vibrant artistic and literary milieu of the times. The only contemporaneous record of this period in art history, this book is for art students, literary scholars and art lovers. Hartigan taught at the Maryland Institute College of Art, and became the director of the Hoffberger Graduate School of Painting.

Critically and commercially acclaimed, Alabama-born, Chicago-based painter Kerry James Marshall is known for his representation of the history of African-American identity in Western art. Conversant with a wide typology of styles, subjects, and techniques, Marshall synthesizes different traditions and genres in his work, seeking to counter stereotypical depictions of black people in society.

Poems and other texts from the 1960s by a pioneering conceptual artist that show a continuity with his subsequent work in performance and video art. In the 1960s, before beginning his work in performance and video art, Vito Acconci studied at the Iowa Writers Workshop and published poems in journals and chapbooks. Much of his writing appeared in the self-produced magazines of the Lower East Side's mimeo revolution, or were never published.

In Latinx Art, Arlene Dávila draws on numerous interviews with artists, dealers, and curators to explore the problem of visualizing Latinx art and artists. Providing an inside and critical look of the global contemporary art market, Dávila's book is an introduction to contemporary Latinx art and a call to decolonize the art worlds and practices that erase and whitewash Latinx artists. She shows the importance of race, class, and nationalism in shaping contemporary art markets while providing a path for scrutinizing art and culture institutions and for diversifying the art world.

In this volume, Laurie Anderson brings together the most comprehensive collection of her artwork to date. Spanning drawing, multimedia installations, performance, and new projects using augmented reality, the extensive volume traverses four decades of her groundbreaking art. Each chapter includes commentary written by Anderson herself, offering an intimate understanding of her work through the artist's own words.

Transiting Pop art, Feminist Expressionism, Conceptualism and Minimalism, Lee Lozano (1930-1999) sits alongside Eva Hesse and Hannah Wilke as a radical and influential model for younger generations of female artists. Lozano's notebooks, which she approached as drawings, and which were later dismantled and sold as individual pages, became a part of her artmaking at the height of her fame in the late 1960s.

The collection of writings and art selected from Leonardo's notebooks, organizes his wide range of interests into subjects such as human figures, light and shade, perspective and visual perception, anatomy, botany and landscape, geography, the physical sciences and astronomy, architecture, sculpture, and inventions. Nearly every piece of writing throughout the book is keyed to the piece of artwork it describes.

A collection of interviews with abstract artists, respectively based on a single work, enable readers to experience the artistic idea expressed in the piece.

This collection of thirty letters celebrates extraordinary correspondence about art, from missives on the agony of being overlooked, the ecstasy of producing work that excites, to surprising sources of inspiration and rousing manifestos. The letters convey the many ways that art and life can intersect, and what we talk about when they do.

This new translation of Paul Cézanne's letters includes more than twenty that were previously unpublished and reproduces the sketches and caricatures with which Cézanne occasionally illustrated his words. The letters shed light on some of the key artistic relationships of the modern period--about one third of Cézanne's more than 250 letters are to his boyhood companion Émile Zola, and he communicated extensively with Camille Pissarro and the dealer Ambroise Vollard.

The Letters of Vincent Van Gogh is a collection of the correspondences between the artist and his brother, Theo, that gives us a look into the life of this genius. Tormented by loss of religious faith, poverty, and lack of success as a painter, Van Gogh also had bouts of elation, and every emotion on the human spectrum that is illustrated in his letters. Some have described his letters as one of the most remarkable collections in the history of art or even literature, a truly invaluable compilation.

This handbook guides readers through the licensing and publishing industry, with ideas and practical examples of how to increase income through licensing reproduction rights to manufacturers and publishers of greeting cards, posters, etc. Readers learn about negotiating fees, exhibiting in trade shows, protecting their rights and more. Over 300 professional contacts are listed.

After 30 years as an artist and entrepreneur, Frances Palmer has learned how to cultivate a life that brings out her best. Those years were rewarding and challenging, fruitful and fraught, and through it all, she discovered the things that matter most: determination, routine, prioritization, perseverance, and perspective. Her debut book is a manual for current and aspiring creatives.

Giorgio Vasari's Renaissance masterpiece of art history was first published in 1568. Vasari's history tells how Italian artists, starting with Cimabue and culminating with Michelangelo, reconstructed the lost art of ancient Rome and Greece, rediscovering the principles of beauty. Vasari gives us an image of the transition from the Middle Ages to the Renaissance.

In May 2012, bestselling author Neil Gaiman delivered the commencement address at Philadelphia's University of the Arts, in which he shared his thoughts about creativity, bravery, and strength. He encouraged the fledgling painters, musicians, writers, and dreamers to break rules and think outside the box. The book Make Good Art, designed by renowned graphic artist Chip Kidd, contains the full text of Gaiman's inspiring speech.

Meet the extraordinary community of artisans and creative entrepreneurs making their mark on Paris today. This inspirational guide introduces you to the locals behind thirty-five of Paris's unique shops, studios, and more. Through beautifully illustrated spreads, immerse yourself in the daily practices of diverse creatives. Whether you're planning a trip to Paris, looking for inspiration, or just wondering what's hot in the City of Lights, this thrilling tour will leave you inspired, satisfied...and hungry for more.

Why do we make things by hand? And why do we make them beautiful? Led by the question of why working with our hands remains vital and valuable in the modern world, Melanie Falick traveled across continents and met with a wide range of makers. With revealing stories and original photographs, this volume captures the joy of making and its power to give our lives authenticity and meaning.

While digital technologies have pushed the boundaries of architectural creation, conceiving an original and appropriate design is as challenging as it has always been. As this book shows, however, a recent return to the basic act of putting pen or pencil to paper has produced some of the most successful buildings of the past decade.

Collection of 30 texts, from 1915-1928, and 3 facsimiles in chronological sections that trace Malevich's analyses of Cubism and Futurism, the Supremus Society of Artists, Suprematism Triumphant, UNOVIS, Theory of Creativity as Artistic Culture, and the Non-Objective World of Sensations. A presentation of sensations from Cézanne to Suprematism is followed by a discussion of how consciousness and the environment influence artistic creativity.

This intimate and gorgeously produced book pairs Belgian artist and poet Marcel Broodthaers' first two collections of poetry, My Ogre Book (1957) and Midnight (1960) previously unpublished in English with the 80-image projection work Shadow Theater (1973-74) that he made toward the end of his life. The three works are published together to offer readers an unprecedented opportunity to read Broodthaers in both language and image.

In 1964, art critic and author Calvin Tomkins spent a number of afternoons interviewing Marcel Duchamp in his apartment on West 10th Street in New York. Casual yet insightful, Duchamp reveals himself as a man and an artist whose playful principles toward living freed him to make art that was as unpredictable, complex, and surprising as life itself.

Here is the complete guide to establishing an effective Web site that will draw hits, promote sales, and establish a long-term, credible presence. Author Marques Vickers reveals emerging trends for artwork, plus opportunities for licensed products, barter, print on demand, and much more. Links to more than 1,200 relevant sites, plus clear, candid advice from an art expert..

From the Bronx to Soho to Brixton, Mirror Reflecting Darkly is an exploration of the artist Rita Keegan's archive collection. Part autobiography and part critical history, it reproduces a cross-section of her archive, mapping an artistic practice that ranges from Keegan's exhibitions to her curatorship of the Women of Colour Index. Accompanying the selections from the archive are essays and personal reflections from a range of writers, academics, and artists--including Rita Keegan herself.

Piet Mondrian's studios in Amsterdam, Paris, and New York reflect different stages of the painter's way of thinking as well as his evolving intentions. Each studio was designed to allow the artist to perform a clearly defined intellectual and social role. This book sheds new light on his creative process.

The writings in Museum Highlights are arranged to reflect different aspects of Andrea Fraser's artistic practice. They include essays that trace the development of critical "artistic practice" as cultural resistance; performance scripts that explore art institutions and the public sphere; and texts that explore the ambivalent relationship of art to the economic and political interests of its time.

Similar to a language course this book is meant to enhance an artist’s ability to communicate their art and creative ideas to the world. In the 21st century, artists must create new models for exhibitions and sales, and be aware of new modes of communication, from social networking to the latest mobile phone apps. How we share visual information is radically shifting, and artists can benefit from all of these new tools.

Set amid the most turbulent social and political period of modern times, Ninth Street Women is the impassioned, wild, sometimes tragic, exhilarating chronicle of five women who dared to enter the male-dominated world of the 20th century abstract painting -- not as muses but as artists. From their cold-water lofts, where they worked, drank, fought, and loved, these pioneers burst open the door to the art world for themselves and countless others to come.

This volume claims to reveal the truths hiding between the lines of Instagram-friendly aphorisms and behind the words of the most inspirational TED talks, as it looks at the reality of creativity and the joy and difficulty of crafting good (and bad) art.

A facsimile edition of Jean Michel Basquiat’s working notebooks where he inventively explored the interplay between words and images throughout his career. Similar to his other work, the notebooks vividly demonstrate his deep interests in comic, street, and pop art, hip-hop, politics, and the ephemera of urban life. This book provides an intimate look into his working process. Listen to the podcast of a panel discussion featuring Basquiat's close friends and collaborators Fred "Fab 5 Freddy" Brathwaite, Al Diaz, Michael Holman, Mary Ann Monforton, and Larry Warsh in the Interviews & Podcasts section.

From the late editor, writer, and critic, one of the influential chroniclers of the art, fashion, and celebrity scenes: an expansive collection of thirty-five essays that offer an intimate look into the worlds of some of the most important and well-known artists, designers, and actors of our time.

Nuevo New York is a collection of portraits and interviews with influential Latin Americans who came to New York City to pursue their ambitions. Each figure included in Nuevo New York is an important player in the fields of fashion and the arts, having lived in New York City for at least five years and having gained recognition for their work.

Focusing on cultural phenomena, and incorporating photography, video, performance, glass and mirror structures, Dan Graham's practice is a key part of the Conceptual art canon.This book compiles texts written on vthe artists Graham admires, as well as interviews collected since the 1990s, most notably on his large-scale installations incorporating mirrors - a culmination of his long examination of the psychological relationship between people and architecture.

Devoted to themes that range from the "cosmism" of pre-Revolutionary Russian modernism to the philosophical implications of Moscow's garbage, Ilya Kabakov's handmade booklets were typed out on paper, then stapled or sewn together using rough butcher paper for their covers.He would distribute these among his friends, and by the late 1990s his written production amounted to hundreds of pages. This volume offers for the first time in English the most significant texts written by Kabakov.

Paul Klee's treatise on modern art was prepared as the basis for a lecture that he delivered at the opening of an exhibition at the Museum in Jena in 1924. Some of his own work was included in this exhibition. He had already at the time been teaching for four years at the Bauhaus, and these notes are the product of his deep meditation upon the problems of art which the task of teaching had brought to a head.

In this volume, the record of countless hours of conversations with Sean Scully's friend, the art critic Kelly Grovier, the painter reflects on his journey - from homelessness on the streets of Dublin in the mid-1940s to his current position as an abstract artist working today. Segments are also devoted to Scully's attitudes towards the art world and his most significant works, culture, politics and philosophy.

Adrian Piper joins the ranks of writer-artists who have provided much of the basic and most reliable literature on modern and contemporary art. The writings in this autobiography trace the development of Piper's thinking about her work and that of the art world around her. It also includes the artist's commentary on mainstream art, art criticism, and American culture.

The author addresses the scope of Modern Art, from its founding days as Abstract Expressionism through its transformations to Pop, Op, Minimal, and Conceptual.

The artist's revealing letters sent to family and friends while he was a student in Paris between 1866 and 1870. This book provides new information on his artistic development, and his debated psychosexual makeup. The book is illustrated with the small drawings, photographs and paintings Eakins included in his correspondence. In the letters, he writes openly about human relationships, male companionship, marriage, women, and also describes his impressions of Paris.

This second volume of Klee's notebooks follows on where volume one left off, and comprises essentially the notes and illustrations for the "General system of pictorial media combined with nature study" on which Klee lectured at the Bauhaus in the winter of 1923-24. It overlaps with and complements the material included in volume one, but it is not limited to the lecture notes proper for the years 1923-24. Related material, problems and notes from Klee's other papers have also been included where they help to develop particular arguments.

How can we create and market creative works that achieve longevity? Ryan Holiday explores this mystery by drawing on his extensive experience working with businesses and creators such as Google, American Apparel, and the author John Grisham, and also his interviews with the minds behind some of the greatest perennial sellers of our time. By thinking holistically about the relationship between their audience and their work, creators of all kinds can improve the chances that their offerings will stand the test of time.

Through a carefully curated selection of quotations, images, and interviews, this book reveals what matters most to fifty photographers. The insightful perspective from these artists may inspire your own photographic process and possibly, help determine what photography means to you.

In the modern world, influence is everything and personal branding equals influence. Platform is the why-to, how-to handbook for everyone who wants to develop and manage a personal brand.

Artist Grayson Perry who is part of the art establishment, attempts to show that people without a contemporary art background can appreciate looking at art in galleries. His humorous, personal experience of the art world answers some of the basic questions that might occur to viewers in an art gallery that may be embarrassed to ask.

Grayson Perry’s personal journey through the art world answers the basic questions that might occur to us in an art gallery but that we're too embarrassed to ask. Questions such as: What is "good" or "bad" art--and does it even matter? Is art still capable of shocking us or have we seen it all before? And what happens if you place a piece of art in a rubbish dump?

The most comprehensive collection to date of the artist Bruce Nauman's writings plus all of his major interviews from 1965 to 2001.Since the 1960s, Bruce Nauman has developed a complex and pluralistic oeuvre ranging from discrete sculpture, performance, film, video, and text-based works to elaborate multipart installations incorporating sound, video recording, monitors, and architectural structures.

Wassily Kandinsky and Hilla Rebay explore the role of the line, point, and other key elements of non-objective painting in this book considered essential to understanding the evolution of the 20th century art.

Christian Boltanski's votive installations, archives and objects, revolving around the fragile polarities of memory and amnesia, identity and anonymity, have made him one of the world's most renowned contemporary artists. This volume, written in the form of a book-length interview (which the artist likens to a "psychoanalysis" or "confession") with the art historian Catherine Grenier, is his frank and fascinating oral autobiography.

While all art is unique, the challenges artists face are shared regardless of background, experience, and artistic medium. With decades of experience training and helping artists worldwide, the expert staff of the New York Foundation for the Arts along with outside professionals have compiled a "best practices" approach to planning and organizing an art career in this revised edition.

In this revised and updated edition, industry insiders Himes and Swanson take budding authors through the publishing process--from concept through production, marketing, and sales--pointing out the many avenues to pursue and pitfalls to avoid. The book also features updated case studies and resources sections as well as expanded information on digital publishing platforms, with advice on how to make and market your eBook. Listen to the podcast of Darius D. Himes and Mary Virginia Swanson sharing their insights on the evolving world of photobook publishing in the Interviews & Podcasts section.

Rather than a book of queer theory for artists, this is a book of artists' queer tactics and infectious concepts. By definition, there can be no singular "queer art." Here, in the first Documents of Contemporary Art anthology to be centered on artists' writings, numerous conversations about queer practice are brought together from diverse individual, social and cultural contexts. These texts describe and examine the ways in which artists have used the concept of queer as a site of political and institutional critique, as a framework to develop new families and histories...

Who speaks? Who is silent? Who is seen? Who is absent? These questions focus on how cultures are constructed through pictures and words, how we are seduced into a world of appearances. In these essays and reviews, written over the last decade, the artist Barbara Kruger addresses that power, in the hope of engaging both our criticality and our dreams of affirmation.

Through personal letters, interviews, film scripts, prose poems, manifestos, and much more, this book presents the artist as a literalist Surrealist, and his inquisitive mind unrestricted by genre, medium, or fashion.

This book gathers together for the first time a selection of Richard Long's statements and interviews from 1971 through 2006. Published alongside black-and-white reproductions of his works, many of the texts have been unavailable for years. Also included are an interview from 1971, and a conversation with Michael Auping. These seminal texts are invaluable for an understanding of the complex implications of Long's work.

Since the 1979 publication of The Writings of Robert Smithson, his significance as a spokesman for a generation of artists has been widely acknowledged and the importance of his thinking to contemporary artists and art critics continues to grow. In addition to a new introduction by Jack Flam, this edition includes previously unpublished essays by Smithson and gathers hard-to-find articles, interviews, and photographs.

Illustrated with many reproductions of Auguste Rodin's sculptures and drawings, this book comprises an education in art, as it distils the knowledge and experience of the artist.

This is the history of art dealers who over centuries built their profession on a singular skill: identifying the intangible but infinitely desirable qualities that characterize the greatest works of art, and finding clients for whom those qualities are irresistible. Philip Hook's narrative takes readers from the early days of art dealing in Antwerp, where paintings were sold by weight, to the contemporary galleries in New York, London, Paris, and beyond.

Rosemarie Beck (1923-2003) emerged from the second generation of Abstract Expressionists, though her tenure as an abstract painter was brief. By 1958, she had moved away from non-objective painting into figuration, a decision that altered the course of her career. In addition to her five decades of visual work, Beck left behind volumes of letters, journals, and essays on art ranging from formal analysis, and her own work, to the works of her peers.

The life story of pioneering feminist artist, activist, and Buddhist teacher Mayumi Oda told through her own words and original thangka paintings. Known as the "Matisse of Japan," Oda is a painter, environmental activist, and Buddhist practitioner whose life reflects the brilliance and shadows of modernity. This memoir shares Mayumi Oda's story of finding her place and her mission to transform the world.

This book brings together Burton's essays and unpublished manuscripts, tracing his work as an art critic and his early statements on performance art. He advocated for reductive abstract art while defending figuration, and he argued for the urgency of time-based and ephemeral art practices in the same years that he curated exhibitions of realist painting.

The writings of Hans Hofmann the "dean of the New York School of Abstract Expressionist Painting.

Curator, historian, gallerist and writer Klaus Kertess founded the Bykert Gallery in 1966, where he represented artists Brice Marden and Dorothea Rockburne among others. He went on to curate the 1995 Whitney Biennial. This volume collects his critical works including meditations on Agnes Martin, Joan Mitchell, Vija Celmins, Chris Ofili and Matthew Richie.

This comprehensive resource shows artists how to make a living from their art without relying on galleries. Through interviews with a range of successful artists, readers will learn how to write about their own work, how to arrange and curate exhibits, how to work in nonprofit arts spaces, how to determine when and if to advertise artwork for sale, and how to exhibit in non-art spaces.

Tristan Tzara's famous manifestos, that first appeared between 1916 and 1921, became essential texts of the modern movement and models for André Breton's Surrealist manifestos. The playfulness of Tzara's character is apparent in his polemic, that often uses dadaist typography, and in the drawings contributed by Francis Picabia. This volume also contains Tzara's Lampisteries that throw light on various art forms contemporary with his own work.

The author investigates the drama of a Christie's auction, the workings in Takashi Murakami's studios, the elite at Basel Art Fair, the eccentricities of Artforum magazine, the competition behind an important art prize, life in a notorious art-school seminar, and the wonderland of Venice Biennale. She reveals the dynamics of creativity, taste, status, and the search for meaning in life.

Painter and installation artist Deanna Sirlin is a fan of the artists featured in her book. She decided to visit and talk with each of them in their studios or at their galleries, most of which are in New York. These artists are key protagonists in the city's art culture of the past 50 years. Sirlin's essays are built around these conversations, lending them an intimate, chatty tone full of observations on the artists' working environments, their décor and contents, and testimony by Sirlin to their importance for her.

Texts including essays, reviews, and statements by Sherrie Levine best known for her appropriations of work by other artists such as Edward Weston, Brancusi, Duchamp, Malevich, Matisse, Monet and Cezanne as well as Alfred Stieglitz. Her work challenges authorial sovereignty and aesthetic autonomy as it invites readings that open onto gender, history, and the economic and discursive processes of the art world.

This book explores the recent history of exhibition-making, looking at the radical shifts that have taken place in the practice of curating contemporary art over the last 20 years. Tracing a history of curating through its most innovative shows, exhibition maker and writer Jens Hoffmann selects the 50 key exhibitions that have most significantly shaped the practice of both artists and curators.

A crowd-sourced library of over 30,000 sketchbooks (and counting) submitted by people of all ages and backgrounds worldwide, and organized continent by continent, featuring the best and brightest work from hundreds of artists from 135 different countries, This volume reveals a unique and intimate look into the inner-creative workings of everyday people around the globe.

Reviews, art criticism, theoretical texts, interviews, catalog statements, notecards, magazine interventions, and other writings on art and art in the form of writing conceptual artist Mel Bochner. In 1965, as a young artist in New York, Bochner was out of a job; Arts Magazine paid him $2.50 for every review he turned in, whether they published it or not; and a month of review-writing paid his $28.00 a month rent...

Originating in research for the landmark traveling exhibition Soul of a Nation: Art in the Age of Black Power, this anthology brings together more than two hundred texts, most of them rare and long out of print. As lively as it is enlightening, this volume makes an invaluable contribution to the fields of the 20th century art history and African American studies.

Wassily Kandinsky's Sounds (Klänge) of 1912 is one of the earliest examples of a 20th century artist's book. Its "sound poems" treat questions of space, color, physical design, and the act of seeing in a world that offers multiple and often contradictory possibilities. The woodcut illustrations that accompany the poems range from representational designs to abstract vignettes. In its fusion of image and word, Sounds epitomizes the artist's move toward abstraction and his aspiration for a synthesis of the arts.

Art criticism is spurned by universities, but widely produced and read. It is seldom theorized and its history has hardly been investigated. This book presents an international conversation among art historians and critics that considers the relation between criticism and art history and poses the question of whether criticism may become a university subject.

With the emergence of conceptual art in the mid-1960s, the traditional notion of the studio became at least partly obsolete. Other sites emerged for generating art, leading to the idea of "post-studio practice." The studio was continually reinvented in response to new realities. This volume focuses on examining the studio's transition from a workshop for physical production to a space with potential for multiple forms of creation and participation over the last half century.

In Studio and Cube, Brian O'Doherty expands his interpretation of a white cube space to include the artist's studio, tracking the relationship between the artwork and the artist from Vermeer through late modernism as he reflects on the differing work spaces of Courbet, Matisse, Rothko, Bacon, Warhol, and others.

In this practical introduction to the study of Disability Arts and Culture, Petra Kuppers draws on a wide range of examples, exercises and activities to introduce the key artists and theoretical concepts in this diverse field. Comprehensive and accessible, this is an essential handbook for undergraduate students or anyone interested in disabled bodies and minds in theatre, performance, creative writing, art and dance.

Tacita Dean is best known for the films that have taken her all over the world, and being a passionate defender of analogue methods. This authoritative publication brings together her writings with a complete filmography. Dean’s insightful and informative writing is key to understanding her works and interests, revealing a wide range of influences.

From animated films to drawings and prints to opera designs, William Kentridge's work has stretched the boundaries of the very media he employs. For five days, Kentridge sat with anthropologist and cultural critic,Rosalind C. Morris anthropologist and cultural critic to talk about his work. This book presents a wide-ranging conversation and deep investigation into the artist's techniques and into the psychic and philosophical underpinnings of his body of work.

This interdisciplinary collaboration is a landmark presentation of the writings of contemporary artists. The influential essays, interviews, critical and theoretical comments provide insights into the construction of visual knowledge. Featuring a wide range of leading and emerging artists since 1945, this comprehensive and authoritative collection also offers readers some eclectic surprises .

Founder of the Hudson River School, Thomas Cole's work continues to influence artists. His self-designed studio enabled him to paint complex and timeless works. This book studies Cole's intentions and last paintings inspiring later generation artists.

In 1984 artist and educator Tim Rollins (1955 – 2017) launched the Art and Knowledge Workshop, an after school program for his most dedicated students, who named themselves Kids of Survival (K.O.S.). Together they formed the art group Tim Rollins and K.O.S. drawing and painting on book pages. This volume is a guide to their collaborative work, analyzing the group's artistic method and progress.

In these dialogues, Weschler chronicles Hockney's production and speculations, including his scenic designs for opera, his homemade xerographic prints, his exploration of physics in relation to Chinese landscape painting, his investigations into optical devices, his taking up of watercolor, and his return to oil painting in 2005, The dialogues provide a record of Hockney's prolific endeavor, and exploration of "the structure of seeing" itself.

Truth Bomb offers the very best commentary and insight into the incredible formation of diverse women artists while uncovering the power of taking a chance, pushing the envelope and ultimately not being shy when it comes to making a mark. It is a magical visual mash-up of images, memoirs, moments, and interviews. This book is an ode to art and artists and an attempt to decipher the mystery of creativity.

This book presents thirty gardens designed and created by some of the most renowned contemporary artists in the world today, all of whom have settled in Tuscany, and all of whom have applied their artistic sensitivities to their surroundings in unusual and distinctive ways. Their gardens take many different forms.

A comprehensive reference for all artists, and a follow up to the best-selling Universal Principles of Design.

Gayatri Gopinath brings queer studies to bear on investigations of diaspora and visuality, tracing the interrelation of affect, archive, region, and aesthetics through an examination of a wide range of contemporary queer visual culture. Spanning film, fine art, poetry, and photography, these cultural forms--which Gopinath conceptualizes as aesthetic practices of queer diaspora--reveal the intimacies of seemingly disparate histories of (post)colonial dwelling and displacement and are a product of diasporic trajectories.

This fascinating book demystifies the market for art - and art's value for all of us. Prominent art dealer and market expert Michael Findlay offers a close and personal view of almost a half century in the business of art. He explains art's three kinds of value: commercial; social; and what he terms its essential value--the range of responses to art that we as individuals have depending on our culture, education, and life experience. He explains how artworks are valued and reveals the workings of the art market, and offers wise advice, insider anecdotes, and tales of scoundrels and scams, celebrity collectors, and remarkable discoveries.

Providing biographical and art historical information, Van Gogh's letters shed light on his complex character, and the creative process as seen through the artist's eyes. His thoughts and opinions, his close relationships with his brother Theo, and also with his friends and fellow artists, his doubts and fears, and most of all the passion for his art are revealed in his letters.

This book seeks to to teach students to write about art from a variety of scholarly and rhetorical perspectives, as it familiarizes them with the critical issues that shape the discipline of art.

Hans Ulrich Obrist curated his first exhibit in his kitchen when he was twenty-three years old. Since then he has staged more than 250 shows internationally, many of them among the most influential exhibits of our age. Ways of Curating is a compendium of the insights Obrist has gained from his years of extraordinary work in the art world.

Today's works of art may have no obvious focal point. Traditional artistic media no longer do what we expect of them. The styles and movements that characterized art production prior to the 21st century no longer exist. This book provides a straightforward guide to understanding contemporary art based on the concept of the tabula rasa - a clean slate and a fresh mind.

Primarily spanning the years 1987 and 1989, these audio journals recorded as David Wojnarowicz took solitary road trips around the United States or ruminated in his New York loft, the audio journals are an intimate and affecting record of an artist facing death. By turns despairing, funny, exalted, and angry, this volume covers a period largely missing from Wojnarowicz's written journals, providing us with an essential new record of a singular American voice.

This collection of quotes demonstrates the simplicity of Ai Weiwei's thoughts on key aspects of his art, politics, and life. Weiwe is known for his use of social media to disseminate his views. The short quotations have been carefully selected from articles, tweets, and interviews by this Chinese artist and activist. The book is organized into several categories: freedom of expression; art and activism; government, power, and moral choices; the digital world; history, the historical moment, and the future; and personal reflections.

Equal parts oral history and analysis of craft, What It Means to Write About Art offers a comprehensive overview of American art writing. Thirty in-depth conversations chart the role of the critic as it has evolved from the 1960s to today, providing a resource for aspiring artists and writers. Jarrett Earnest's wide-ranging conversations with critics, historians, journalists, novelists, poets, and theorists--each of whom approach the subject from unique positions--illustrate different ways of writing, thinking, and looking at art.

One of the things not taught in art school is how active and engaged you need to be. You have to become your own finance, business and marketing manager, researcher, curator and administrator. Your career is in your hands, but you didn't attend a business school, and you need to focus on what you know best. This book is a survival guide to life as an artist, while also a springboard for aspiring artists. It provides expert advice, tips and inspiration to help you build a successful career.

Where the Heart Beats is the first book to address the phenomenal importance of Zen Buddhism to John Cage's life and to the artistic avant-garde of the 1950s and 1960s. Using Cage's life as a starting point, this volume looks beyond to the individuals Cage influenced and the art he inspired. His creative genius touched many artists including Robert Rauschenberg, and Yoko Ono.

When Betty Friedan published The Feminine Mystique in 1963, the book exploded into women's consciousness. Fifty years on, in the age of #MeToo and Black Lives Matter, this publication is ready to inspire a new generation of feminists. Activists and writers Alix Kates Shulman and Honor Moore offer an unprecedented collection of works, many long out-of-print and hard to find, including excerpts from Judy Chicago's text "Through the Flower: My Struggle as a Woman Artist," that catalyzed and propelled the women's liberation movement.

Women Artists brings together twenty-nine essential essays from throughout Linda Nochlin's career, making this the definitive anthology of her writing about women in art. Included are her major thematic texts "Women Artists After the French Revolution,” "Starting from Scratch: The Beginnings of Feminist Art History," and the landmark essay and its rejoinder "'Why Have There Been No Great Women Artists?'

This anthology explicitly investigates work in relation to contemporary art, surveying artistic strategies that grapple with the complexities of being an art worker in the new economy, a post-producer, a collaborator, a fabricator, a striker, an ethical campaigner, or would-be transformer of labor from oppression to liberation.

Hans Haacke's art articulates the interdependence of multiple elements. This volume is a collection of Hans Haacke’s writings that range from straightforward descriptions of his artworks to wide-ranging reflections on the relationship between art and politics.

This volume walks students through every step of the writing process, from looking critically at art, to researching, to developing a thesis, to revising and polishing a final draft. Questions and examples prompt readers as they study artworks, develop a thesis, structure an argument, and cite research.

The first collection of Mark Rothko's writings, which range the entire span of his career, includes some 90 documents--from short essays, and letters, to statements, and lectures. What emerges from this volume is a more detailed picture of a sophisticated, deeply knowledgeable, and philosophical artist who was also a passionate and articulate writer. The texts are fully annotated, along with a chronology of the artist's life and work.

A Year in the Art World relates the exploits of a curious insider, who ventures deep into the workings of the art industry to ask: what is it that people in the art world actually do? What drives an interest in working with art? How do artworks acquire value? And how has technology transformed the art world of today?

The fourth and final volume in Anne Truitt's series of journals that the artist kept from the winter of 2001 to the spring of 2002, two years before her death.

Curator Sarah Urist Green left her office in the basement of an art museum to travel and visit a diverse range of artists, asking them to share prompts that relate to their own ways of working. This book brings together more than 50 assignments gathered from some of the most innovative creators working today, including Sonya Clark, Michelle Grabner, The Guerrilla Girls, Fritz Haeg, Pablo Helguera, Alec Soth, Gillian Wearing, and many others.

In Your Creative Career, the author shows her fellow artists and creatives how to build a business that reflects their talent and true calling while generating serious cash. Whether the goal is to build an empire and be financially free, create a lifestyle business, or just to have more time, this book guides readers through every aspect of creative entrepreneurship.

Lane Relyea describes a general organizational shift in the art world that affects not only material infrastructures but also conceptual categories and the construction of meaning.

Working in Paris at the height of geometric abstraction and Art Informel, in an intellectual climate dominated by Existentialism, Yves Klein presaged many developments in the postwar avant garde: performance art, Minimalism and Conceptualism. As this volume demonstrates, Klein wrote prolifically, often in the form of manifestos or more ironic texts written to accompany his proto-Conceptual installations.