Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Artstor is committed to enhancing scholarship and teaching through the use of digital images and media. The Artstor Digital Library includes millions of high quality images for education and research across disciplines from a wide variety of contributors around the world.
British Library Digital Collections
View digitized copies of selected manuscripts and archives including Beowulf and Leonardo da Vinci's Notebook; and also Sounds Online with over 95,000 selected sound recordings from the Library's extensive collection of music, spoken word and nature.
Calisphere is a gateway to digital collections from California's great libraries, archives, and museums. Discover over 1,975,000 images, texts, and recordings—and counting.
Cornell University Library Digital Collections
Launched in December 2015, the Cornell University Library (CUL) Digital Collections portal aggregates CUL’s rich digital collections content into a single interface, with the goal of enabling easier access and discovery of these resources.
Discover inspiring cultural heritage from European museums, galleries, libraries and archives. This website gives you access to millions of books, music, artworks and more – with sophisticated search and filter tools to help you find what you’re looking for.
Frick Digital Collections
This site enables visitors to browse and download jpegs of large format digital files created through projects supported by the National Endowment for the Humanities, The Henry Luce Foundation and METRO. The collections include photoarchive images and documentation, book materials, Frick Collection images, and archival documents.
The Getty Research Institute Digital Collections
The Digital Collections provide free access to a growing number of digitized items from the Research Library, Special Collections, Photo Archive, and Institutional Archives, that range from the 15th century to the present.
Harvard Digital Collections
Harvard Digital Collections provides free, public access to more than 6 million objects digitized from our collections - from ancient art to modern manuscripts and audio visual materials.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
The Library of Congress is the largest library in the world, with millions of books, recordings, photographs, newspapers, maps and manuscripts in its collections.
The New York Public Library Digital Collections
Explore 901,814 items digitized from The New York Public Library's collections. This site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.
Smithsonian Libraries Digital Collections
Our digital collections include over 35,000 digitized books and manuscripts (available in either our Digital Library or as part of the Biodiversity Heritage Library) as well as digitized photo collections, ephemera, and seed catalogs.
Yale University Library Digital Collections
Yale University Library’s digital collections provide access to millions of digitized works and images.
Grants & Opportunities
The Art World’s Source for Income and Exhibition Opportunities – Since 1994.
The Art Guide
TheArtGuide.com is designed to support, promote and encourage the growth of art and spirit of creativity through viewer shared comments, images and posts of current art information. "Calls for Artists" section provides listing of opportunities.
Artist Resources | RISDCareers
Explore the resources page of Rhode Island School of Design, to get a sampling of some of the career options that fine artists might pursue, as well as key resources to connect with the art world.
The community for the arts, cultural and creative industries. Share opportunities, arts open calls, competitions, casting calls, and creative jobs.
A selection of international open calls and opportunities for contemporary art related competitions, prizes, exhibitions, awards, proposals, and grants for artists, writers and curators.
art show provides listings of awards, exhibits, fellowships and other opportunities for artists.
The Asian American Arts Alliance
The Asian American Arts Alliance is a nonprofit organization dedicated to ensuring greater representation, equity, and opportunities for Asian American artists and cultural organizations through resource sharing, promotion, and community building.
The Black Embodiments Studio
The Black Embodiments Studio is the 2020-2022 resident program of the Jacob Lawrence Gallery and the School of Art + Art History + Design at the University of Washington.
The Bronx Council on the Arts
BCA offers funding to support community-centered arts and culture projects and to recognize outstanding local artists.
The Bronx Museum of the Arts - AIM
Since 1980, the Bronx Museum of the Arts has supported New York’s artist community through the Artist in the Marketplace Fellowship,
Brooklyn Arts Council
Brooklyn Arts Council grants strive to support local artists and small arts organizations whose work enhances the cultural climate of our borough, city, state, and nation. These awards encourage professional development, community growth, and fellowship among artists.
Calendar for Artists
This site provides listings of competitions, awards, prizes, residencies and other artists opportunities.
Candid Learning provides trainings, resources, and learning experiences through sharing peer wisdom, and case studies.
CEC ArtsLink, Inc
CEC ArtsLink promotes international communication and understanding through collaborative, innovative arts projects for mutual benefit.
Chicago Artists Coalition
CAR sustains vibrant and accessible artistic communities in Chicago by offering online resources on its site. Users can post and find calls for artists, job opportunities, and art studio space. Emerging artists, curators, and businesses can also learn more about CAC grants and art advising services.
CODAawards - CODAworx
CODAawards celebrate the projects that most successfully integrate commissioned art into interior, architectural, or public spaces.
The College Art Association of America
CAA’s philosophy is to create a lifetime context for thinking about a career, because a healthy working life is multifaceted and complex and involves more than one strategy to accomplish one’s goals. CAA presents programs and services for members at all stages of their careers.
We support forward-thinking and adventurous artists across the country through funding, counsel, gatherings, & career development services.
CT Visual Artist Resource Guide: Opportunities
This site includes a variety of opportunities and resources available to visual artists.
Entry Thingy is the art calls for entry opportunities to which you can apply, artwork management, jury system and more.
The Huntington Arts Council
The Huntington Arts Council enriches the quality of life of Long Islanders with programs and services that address the needs and interests of artists, cultural organizations and the community.
Lower Manhattan Cultural Council
Founded in 1973 LMCC serves, connects and makes space for artists and community.
Mass Cultural Council
Using form, sound, color, language, and movement, artists help us interpret our past, understand the present, and envision a better future. Their work breaks down barriers and helps us appreciate what it means to be human. That’s why we believe that supporting artists and art is essential to our mission.
Newark Arts Council
Newark Arts’ goal is to share resources, develop collaborations and cross-functional opportunities, promote advocacy efforts, assist in audience development and public awareness of arts and culture, and serve as a cultural resource to the community.
New York Foundation for the Arts
NYFA empowers the creative community by providing critical support, resources, and opportunities.
The NYC Department of Cultural Affairs
DCLA works with individual artists through the Percent for Art permanent public art program and the newly launched Public Artists in Residence program. In addition, DCLA supports New York City artists directly and indirectly through various ongoing efforts as well as through local arts councils.
NYC Percent for Art
Since 1982, New York City's Percent for Art law has required that one percent of the budget for eligible City-funded construction projects be spent on public artwork.
Queens Council on the Arts
The Queens Arts Fund (QAF) offers grants to Queens-based individual artists and nonprofit organizations offering distinctive arts and cultural programming that directly serves the community members of Queens.
San Francisco Artist Network
SFAN strives to support the making of quality art in all media, to provide a nurturing environment for artists’ professional development, and to connect artists with potential exhibition opportunities and increased income.
Staten Island Arts
Staten Island Arts offers grants to artists of all disciplines, collectives, and organizations making art or producing cultural programming. We also offer two grants for arts education providers.
The Wattis Institute
The Wattis is a laboratory for testing the future of contemporary art through temporary exhibitions, public events, and in-depth research. It is part of the California College of the Arts in San Francisco.
Institutions, Museums & Projects
The Art Institute of Chicago
Explore thousands of artworks in the museum’s wide-ranging collection—from our world-renowned icons to lesser-known gems from every corner of the globe—as well as our books, writings, reference materials, and other resources.
Artist's Studio Museum Network
Allowing visitors privileged access to the fascinating environments in which great art has been created, each of these museums has its own unique story to tell. We set up the Artist's Studio Museum Network to bring these stories to a wider public, and to bring single-artist museums, house museums and studio museums across Europe closer together in partnership.
Barbara Hepworth Museum and Sculpture Garden
In 1949 Barbara Hepworth created a studio and sculpture garden in St Ives where she lived and worked for the rest of her life. Comprising over 30 works in wood, stone, plaster and bronze, the Barbara Hepworth Museum and Sculpture Garden gives a remarkable insight into one of Britain’s most important 20th century artists.
Downtown Collection at the Fales Library
The Downtown Collection documents the New York downtown arts scene that evolved in SoHo and the Lower East Side during the 1970s and through the early 1990s. The Collection includes the personal papers of artists, filmmakers, writers and performers; archives of art galleries, theater groups and art collectives; and collections relating to AIDS activism, and more.
The Elizabeth Foundation for the Arts Studio Program
EFA Studio Program, founded in 1998, is an open-submission, juried membership program that provides affordable private studio space, facilitates career development, and promotes public and critical exposure for its artists.
The Getty Research Institute
The Getty Research Institute is dedicated to furthering knowledge and advancing understanding of the visual arts and their various histories through its expertise, active collecting program, public programs, institutional collaborations, exhibitions, publications, digital services, and residential scholars programs.
Historic Artists’ Homes and Studios
HAHS is a coalition of 48 independent museums that were the homes and working studios of American artists. Each of these museums is now devoted to understanding and explaining how an artist made their art. We have made these museums open to everyone, so come and witness creativity.
Individual Artist Museums
An individual artist museum is dedicated to the life and work of one visual artist in the form of a foundation or museum that can be established during an artist's lifetime or after the death. This is not a definitive list of individual artist museums in the world.
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
Joan Mitchell Foundation - Professional Development & Resources for Artists
Professional development is a key component of our support for artists. Grantees and other program participants are connected with consultants who can advise on everything from finances to writing a compelling artist statement. Over the years, we’ve created a wide range of resources to support artists at all career stages. Select guides, articles, and resource lists are available on this site.
From a 1950s building in Tøyen to a modern museum by Oslo’s waterfront, four years prior to Edvard Munch’s death in 1944, he bequeathed all his own works in his possession to the City of Oslo. Munch was already involved in discussions about a future museum while he was alive, but it was not until 1963 when the museum opened in a very contemporary building.
Museo Frida Kahlo - The Blue House
The Museum opened in July 1958, and exhibits the ambience that inspired Frida Kahlo for her creation, as well as her personal belongings. Along with paintings by Kahlo and her husband Diego Rivera, remarkable art pieces, sculptures, photographs, books and other objects are also displayed. The garden is an essential part of the Blue House as it gives visitors access to the exhibition of Kahlo’s dresses.
The Museum Of Friends
MoF is a contemporary art museum that opened in 2006 in the rural community of Walsenburg in Colorado. The founders' shared vision was to create a place where everyone feels welcomed and the art created by all people valued. MoF is known for it’s inclusive and egalitarian open door policy with intention to uplift the community through discussions of creativity, inclusion and opportunities.
Museum of Modern Art Online Courses
In MoMA’s free Massive Open Online Courses (MOOCs) on Coursera, you will hear directly from artists and designers, look closely at works in our collection and exhibitions, and join a global community of learners unlike any other. Enroll any time and complete the course at your own pace.
National Endowment for the Arts
National Endowment for the Arts' list of the organizations that provide frequently updated COVID-19 news and resources for artists and arts organizations.
The Museum has an international reach and we work with artists and partners across the globe. Our programs and collaborations provide a platform for cross-cultural dialogue, fostering empathy, mutual understanding, and respect.
Your guide to FREE educational media. Find thousands of free online courses, audio books, textbooks, eBooks, language lessons, movies and more.
Project Gutenberg is an online library of free eBooks. It has a long history, which predates the modern Internet and continues until today.
The Rubens House
The brilliant and versatile artist Peter Paul Rubens lived in this palazzo with his family. Here he also painted with his colleagues and assistants. He created many of his paintings in this house, in the centre of Antwerp. The museum has an interesting collection and also shows visitors how the master lived and worked.
The Studio Museum in Harlem
The Studio Museum in Harlem is the nexus for artists of African descent locally, nationally, and internationally and for work that has been inspired and influenced by Black culture. It is a site for the dynamic exchange of ideas about art and society.
The Underground Museum
Founded by artists Noah and Karon Davis in 2012, The UM is an arts and culture center operating out of four converted storefronts in the Arlington Heights neighborhood of Los Angeles. We bring art experiences traditionally reserved for major institutions to diverse audiences for free because we believe that art is an essential part of a vibrant, just, and healthy society.
Whitney Museum of American Art - Independent Study Program
ISP consists of three interrelated parts: Studio Program, Curatorial Program, and Critical Studies Program. The ISP provides a setting within which students pursuing art practice, curatorial work, art historical scholarship, and critical writing engage in ongoing discussions and debates that examine the historical, social, and intellectual conditions of artistic production.
The Women’s Caucus for Art
The mission of the Women’s Caucus for Art is to create community through art, education, and social activism. WCA is committed to recognizing the contribution of women in the arts; providing women with leadership opportunities and professional development; expanding networking and exhibition opportunities for women; supporting local, national and global art activism; and advocating for equity in the arts for all.