Research Guides: Artists Studios Resources : Articles &amp; Databases

Article & Databases

ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new window
Provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art. Dates of Coverage: 1974-present. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts articles from an international selection of periodicals including French, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, Swedish, and English-language journals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
This database is only accessible at the following NYPL locations: Stephen A. Schwarzman Building; New York Public Library for the Performing Arts, Dorothy and Lewis B. Cullman Center; Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture; Thomas Yoseloff Business Center; All Branch Libraries
Artifex This link opens in a new window
Artifex Press is a publisher of digital catalogues raisonnés and is now a part of Cahiers d’Art Institute. A catalogue raisonné is the definitive, comprehensive, and annotated compilation of all the known works of an artist. Artifex Press combines art-historical research with the flexibility of digital publishing, creating digital archives for various artists, including: Chuck Close, Jim Dine and Tim Hawkinson. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Art Index Retrospective
Indexes articles in periodicals, yearbooks, and museum publications, 1929-1984.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Indexes articles on architecture in its broadest sense, including archaeology, decorative arts, interior design, furniture, landscape architecture, and city planning from 1930s to present. Includes a large number of architects' obituaries, a rich source of biographical information. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
Provides biographical information on 650,000+ people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines. For more in-depth biographies of figures from American history, consult American National Biography. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Design and Applied Arts Index
International index to design and craft journals. Dates of Coverage: 1973-present. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Contains nearly 120,000 annotated references from more than 450 design and craft journals, and data on nearly 50,000 designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops.
Flipster
Access over 100 popular magazines, including Bon Appetit, Sports Illustrated, Time, and People, through this digital platform. Send issues to the app (available in the Apple App Store and Google Play) for offline reading. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Please Note: In order to access magazines through the Flipster app please follow the steps below:
1. Download the Flipster app onto a device.
2. Go to the NYPL articles & databases page and access Flipster through our website. Or type the following URL in your web browser on your phone or device: https://www.nypl.org/collections/articles-databases/flipster
3. Click on Connect to Database, you will be asked to sign in with your library card and pin number if accessing remotely. Look up the magazine you want, choose "Read this Issue".
4. There is an option in the upper left hand corner (looks like 3 lines), chose open in App.
5. The Flipster app usually opens automatically, but if not just go to the Flipster App and click on "shelf" the magazine should be downloaded and can be read offline.
Global Newsstream
Search the most recent global news content–with archives that stretch back into the 1980s–from over 2,500 news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites in full-text format. Global Newsstream provides one of the largest collections of news from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A searchable, digitized archive -- from the first date of publication to the last three to five years -- of major scholarly journals in many academic fields. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
ARTSTOR's content can be searched, accessed and downloaded through JSTOR.
Access to this resource has been temporarily expanded to NYPL cardholders working from home, courtesy of JSTOR.
LinkedIn Learning (formerly lynda.com)
LinkedIn Learning, formerly known as Lynda.com, is an online educational site that features thousands of courses and video tutorials where you can discover, complete, and track courses related to your field and interests. Users will need to create accounts in order to track course progress, create playlists of potential coursework, and keep course notes. Patrons should refer to LinkedIn's Privacy Policy and Website Use Policy before starting.

To log in, please click on "Get Started" and enter your NYPL library card number or username and your PIN.
Please note that you can only access course content through the NYPL's LinkedIn Learning login page, and not by directly visiting the LinkedIn Learning homepage. Also note that NYPL's LinkedIn Learning accounts are now accessible through mobile devices and applications. For Mobile users: 1. Download the LinkedIn Learning app from Google Play / App Store. 2. Open the app. 3. Select - "Sign In." 4. Select "Sign in with your library card." 5. You'll be prompted to "Enter your Library ID." Tap on the box and enter "nypl" (all lowercase, no quote marks). 6. Use your NYPL library card number or username and PIN and click on "Continue." First time users will be prompted to select topics of interest.
National Geographic Virtual Library
Full content from National Geographic Magazine, from 1888 to the present. Search covers, articles, images, maps, and advertisements, or browse by issue. Also included are topic guides and Common Core teaching resources. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Newspapers.com This link opens in a new window
This database is available remotely during the Library's closure.
Newspapers.com is the largest online newspaper archive consisting of 300+ million pages of historical newspapers from 11,100+ newspapers from around the United States and beyond, with a focus on full runs and portions of runs of well-known, regional and state titles in addition to small local newspapers. The collection includes a broad range of dates, mostly covering the 19th and 20th centuries.
New Yorker Digital Archive
The entire run of the New Yorker, in full text and full color, from 1925-present. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Nineteenth Century Art Worldwide
A scholarly e-journal devoted to the study of nineteenth-century painting, sculpture, graphic arts, photography, architecture, and decorative arts. Dates of Coverage: 1780-1920. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Oxford Art Online
Oxford Art Online offers users the ability to access the vast content of Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms all in one interface. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
PressReader
Provides access to current newspapers from around the world in full-color, full-page format. Includes over 2,000 U.S. and international titles. Formerly called PressDisplay. Registering as a user with the site is optional and allows for personalized, saved settings. Patrons should consult PressReader's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy before registering. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Please Note: In order to access newspapers and magazines through the PressReader app please follow the steps below: 1. Go to the NYPL Articles & Databases page and access PressReader through our website. Visit https://www.nypl.org/collections/articles-databases/pressreader 2. Sign in with your library card credentials. 3. Locate the green button on the bottom of your screen or device and click Open in app. 4. Download the app. 5. To ensure that you have access in the app, please activate HotSpots. To do this, tap on Settings in the menu > HotSpots > Enable HotSpots.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to over 500 peer-reviewed scholarly journals and top quality book-length scholarship in the humanities and social sciences. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**