Visual arts
Clara Brahm and Rachel Wischnitzer correspondence Correspondence between Clara Brahm and Rachel Wischnitzer spans the decade between 1946-1956 and relate to art and architecture, with some emphasis on Jewish work.
Midtown Y Photography Gallery records The records contain slides of many of the photographers who exhibited their work at the Midtown Y Photography Gallery. There are also slides of photographer's work that was considered for an exhibit. Related material includes administrative records, general correspondence, general gallery information, exhibitions, handbills, financial, printed matter and photographs.
Theatre
S. N. Behrman papers Document the literary career and personal life of the playwright and essayist, S. N. Behrman. The date span of the papers is 1912-1987. They include personal and professional correspondence; diaries; notebooks, manuscripts, typescripts, galley proofs and publication tearsheets of Behrman's writings; news clippings; scrapbooks; photographs; and a few items of ephemera. The S. N. Behrman Papers are an important resource for the study of the American theatre, the Hollywood film industry, popular magazine literature and New York intellectual culture.
Eleonora von Mendelssohn papers Eleonora von Mendelssohn was a German stage actress who emigrated to America at the time of Hitler's rise to power. She was actively involved in aiding other emigres and had much contact with the German acting community in Hollywood and New York. The collection includes personal and business papers and memorabilia of Eleonora von Mendelssohn and family members dating from 1880-1949.
Adah Fogel papers Adah Fogel was a literary translator and interpreter. The collection contains letters from English playwright, David Rudkin, pertaining to a proposed Royal Shakespeare Company production of The Golem.
Joseph Mitchell papers Document Joseph Mitchell's career as a journalist and New Yorker writer and his proclivity to document life in New York City. Includes his research material, notes, ephemera, and photographs, which include subject files of Yiddish theatre clippings.
Miriam Shomer Zunser papers: Mariam Shomer Zunser was a playwright for the Yiddish and English language theater. Born in Odessa and emigrated to the United States with her family in 1890, she began her literary career writing for the English section of the Yiddish newspaper Tageblat and translating Yiddish pieces into English. She began writing for the Yiddish theater in the 1920s and later in English for the Broadway stage. The collection contains a small amount of correspondence, 1905-1942; typescripts of her dramatic and other works.
Jacob Charash papers Jacob (Jack) Charash (ca. 1880-1949) was a press agent, theatrical manager, dramatist, and translator of plays from Yiddish and German. He was co-founder and co-director of the Anglo-Jewish Theatre, a unit of the WPA Federal theatre Project. Collection contains correspondence, contracts and agreements, and theatrical papers of Charash.
New Yorker records Weekly magazine founded in New York City in 1925. The records consist of correspondence, interoffice memoranda, edited and corrected manuscripts and typescripts, drawings, lists of story and art ideas, photographs, and sound recordings and printed materials related to the daily operations of the magazine from 1924-1984. Includes a series of news clippings entitled "Goings On - Yiddish Theater."
From the collections
Jewish-Palestine Participation - Performance of Dance of the Chalutz. New York World's Fair, 1939 and 1940 Incorporated records. Manuscripts and Archives Division.
Music
Ruth and Hermann Vollmer papers Chiefly an autograph collection of manuscript letters, documents, musical scores, photographs, and other papers of European, British, and American composers, musicians, authors, novelists, poets, playwrights, historians, philosophers, painters, sculptors, scientists, physician, politicians, statesmen, royalty, and others spanning the period from the 17th to the 20th centuries.
August Belmont papers August Belmont, Sr. was a banker, diplomat, and a patron of the arts. He was born in the German Rhine Province in 1816 to Jewish parents. He married Caroline Slidell Perry, daughter of Commodore Matthew Perry (1794-1858), in 1949. Belmont began his career at the age of 14 in the office of the Rothschilds. He established the internationally known banking-house August Belmont & Co. during the financial panic of 1837. He served as Minister to the Netherlands from 1854 to 1857 under the Pierce administration. Belmont was appointed director of the New York Academy of Music in 1878.