Picture Collection
Since its creation in 1915 as a resource for artists, illustrators, designers, teachers, students, and general researchers, The New York Public Library’s Picture Collection provides 1.5 million circulating images clipped from books and magazines across 12,000 subject headings, from clothing and dress to military battles to insects. The collection also features extensive holdings of prints, photographs, vintage postcards, and greeting cards, and around 150,000 non-circulating reference images from the early 1900s and prior. The Picture Collection's unique organization of items into subject headings proves invaluable for researchers across various creative domains. See a LibGudie Finding Pictures in the Picture Collection.
The Library has digitized 45,000 of these historic items as part of its online Digital Collections.
Included below are several Slavic and East European subject headings covered in the collection. It's important to note that this collection is historical, encompassing subject headings and subheadings for defunct countries (e.g., Yugoslavia-History, Pottery-Czechoslovakia). An array of topics such as costume, dance, embroidery, government, houses, interiors, jewelry, markets, music, navy, palaces, pottery, etc., are subdivided by country. Additionally, individual countries have their folders, often further subdivided (some examples are provided below). The quantity of images in each folder varies, and the selection of images does not aim to provide a comprehensive representation of the topic.
-
Hungary
-
Hungary — Budapest
-
Hungary — History
-
Hungary — History–1899 & earlier
-
Hungary — Industries
-
Hungary — Life
-
Poland
-
Poland — Gdansk
-
Poland — Gdynia
-
Poland — History
-
Poland — Industries
-
Poland — Krakow
-
Poland — Life
-
Poland — Rivers
-
Poland — Warsaw
