Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Understanding Music Division Classmarks: Iconography

A guide to the various classification systems used in the Music Division

Iconography files

The Music Division has over 80,000 images in its holdings. Included are photographs, lithographs, engravings, and drawings.

M-Icon: General iconography

The Iconography File contains images of musicians and musical groups.  Also included are images that supplement a particular subject (such as images of birthplaces of notable musicians).

An inventory is in process. Please email the Division if you have questions or queries.

M-Icon-Musical Instrument File

The Musical Instrument File contains images of musical instruments.  (Adding and maintaining this file were never considered a priority since there were plenty of books with images of musical instruments.)

Clicking on the link below will enable you to browse the collection within the Catalog:

Classmark:  M-Icon-Musical Instrument File

M-Icon-Opera File

The images (primarily photographs) in the Opera File contains views of operas where no single person dominates. (Images of individual singers in costume are generally filed under their name in the general Iconography file.)

Clicking on the link below will enable you to browse the collection within the Catalog:

ClassmarkM-Icon-Opera File

M-Icon-Opera Houses File

The Opera Houses File contains images (primarily photograph and lithographs of older structures) of venues that were and are used for presenting operas.

Clicking on the link below will enable you to browse the collection within the Catalog:

Classmark:  M-Icon-Opera Houses

Rare Photo

Rare Photo contains photographs that are either in poor or fragile condition, or that have been inscribed by the subject(s) of the photograph. Images in the Rare Photo file have been organized by size and then by order of acquisition.

PhC: 5" x 7" or smaller

PhD: 8" x 10" or smaller

PhE:  11" x 14" or smaller

PhF:  16" x 20" or smaller

Other iconography in the Division

Many additional images may be found in the Music Division's clipping file as well as within archival collections.