Research Guides: Remote Resources for College Students: eBooks

Selected Academic eBook Collections

ACLS Humanities E-Book Project
Provides online access to a fully searchable collection of high-quality books in the Humanities, recommended and reviewed by scholars. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Brill Online Books and Journals
Provides full-text access to scholarly journals and book-length scholarship in the humanities and social sciences. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Cambridge Core
Access to the full text of over 500 books published by Cambridge University Press and covering the humanities, social and natural sciences, medicine, and English language teaching. Please note: NYPL has access to content published beginning in 2015. All other titles provide access to tables of contents and indices only. Formerly known as Cambridge Books Online (CBO). **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Oxford Handbooks Online
The full collection of Oxford Handbook series, which provides peer-reviewed research articles from scholars in the field of archaeology, business & management, classical studies, criminology & criminal justice, economics & finance, history, law, linguistics, literature, music, philosophy, political science, psychology, and religion. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Oxford Scholarly Editions Online
OSEO provides an interlinked collection of authoritative Oxford editions of major works from the humanities. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Sage Knowledge
The full text and full catalog of Sage Publishing's social science ebook platform. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Very Short Introductions
The full text of the entire catalog of Oxford University Press's Very Short Introductions series. The books in this platform offer concise overviews to a range of academic subjects in the arts & humanities, law, medicine & health, science & mathematics, and social sciences. **Patrons should read Very Short Introduction's Privacy Policy before searching.**
Digitalia
Digitalia is a database of thousands of Spanish and Latin American ebooks and ejournals covering a variety of subjects. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

Reference Collections

Gale eBooks
Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) is an online library of reference titles for multi-disciplinary research, including texts related to American and world history, biography, health, arts, business, travel, religion, and multicultural studies. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Credo Reference
Provides full-text online access to hundreds of multidisciplinary reference book collections, including art, history, law, medicine, psychology, technology, bilingual dictionaries and encyclopedias. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Credo is a vast, online reference library, providing access to the full text of hundreds of highly regarded and popular titles. And Credo brings the facts alive with images, sound files, animations, and much more. Find speedy, simple answers and authoritative, in-depth articles.Credo Reference contains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopaedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range or subject-specific titles covering everything from accounting to zoology, via maps, math, management, martial arts, media studies, medicine, mountains, moons, music, multimedia, mythology.
Oxford Reference Online
Oxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource. Titles cover a wide range of humanities, social science, performing arts, and general reference subjects. Dance publications include the International Encyclopedia of Dance and the Oxford Dictionary of Dance. Theatre publications include The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance and The Concise Oxford Companion to the Theatre. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

Historical Book Collections

Available without an NYPL Library card:

The HathiTrust Digital Library is a collection of digitized books from libraries around the world, many of which are in the public domain and can be read at no cost online. Note: you may need to be onsite at any NYPL location to download select items.

The Internet Archive provides access to millions of titles. For some titles, users must sign up for a free Internet Archive library card.

Digital Research Books (Beta)

NYPL has developed Digital Research Books, an early beta test of a new project that collects digital versions of research books from many different sources — including Open Access publications — into one convenient place to search.

Use at home with a Library card and pin:

Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Provides full text, digital images of every book printed in England, Scotland, and Ireland, and every book in the English language printed abroad, from 1475 to 1700. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
EEBO contains Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue of printed materials published in the English language from 1475 to 1640, Wing's Short-Title Catalogue of works dating from 1641 to 1700, and Thomason Tracts, a compendium of broadsides on the English Civil War printed between 1640 and 1661. The books in EEBO are presented as scanned images, so all illustrations and maps are included.