Research Guides: Remote Resources for College Students: Journals, Articles and Newspapers

Scholarly Article Collections

The databases below contain content across the disciplines. For more information on subject-specific databases, please see the research guides created by NYPL's expert librarians, as well as the A to Z list of databases.

Academic Search Premier
A multi-disciplinary database of more than 4,600 magazines and journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full-text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for 8,470 journals. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
ProQuest Research Library
Provides articles from periodicals covering arts, business, children, education, health, humanities, law, multicultural studies, sciences, social sciences, and general interest. Full text is available for nearly two-thirds of its titles. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
ProQuest Research Library contains articles from over 2600 newspapers and periodicals covering the arts, business, humanities, health, social sciences, sciences. Of those journals approximately 1700 are available with the full text and/or image.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This database is available remotely during the Library's closure.
A searchable, digitized archive -- from the first date of publication to the last three to five years -- of major scholarly journals in many academic fields.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. Its extensive scope and content provide users with a wealth of extremely useful information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study. The database features more than 1,986,000 records with subject headings from a 19,600+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

Current Newspaper and Magazine Collections

PressReader
Provides access to current newspapers from around the world in full-color, full-page format. Includes over 2,000 U.S. and international titles. Formerly called PressDisplay. Registering as a user with the site is optional and allows for personalized, saved settings. Patrons should consult PressReader's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy before registering. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Please Note: In order to access newspapers and magazines through the PressReader app please follow the steps below: 1. Go to the NYPL Articles & Databases page and access PressReader through our website. Visit https://www.nypl.org/collections/articles-databases/pressreader 2. Sign in with your library card credentials. 3. Locate the green button on the bottom of your screen or device and click Open in app. 4. Download the app. 5. To ensure that you have access in the app, please activate HotSpots. To do this, tap on Settings in the menu > HotSpots > Enable HotSpots.
Flipster
Access over 100 popular magazines, including Bon Appetit, Sports Illustrated, Time, and People, through this digital platform. Send issues to the app (available in the Apple App Store and Google Play) for offline reading. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Please Note: In order to access magazines through the Flipster app please follow the steps below:
1. Download the Flipster app onto a device.
2. Go to the NYPL articles & databases page and access Flipster through our website. Or type the following URL in your web browser on your phone or device: https://www.nypl.org/collections/articles-databases/flipster
3. Click on Connect to Database, you will be asked to sign in with your library card and pin number if accessing remotely. Look up the magazine you want, choose "Read this Issue".
4. There is an option in the upper left hand corner (looks like 3 lines), chose open in App.
5. The Flipster app usually opens automatically, but if not just go to the Flipster App and click on "shelf" the magazine should be downloaded and can be read offline.
New York Times (1980-present) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from The New York Times. (New York Book Review, 1997 to the present. New York Magazine, 1997 to the present.) **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Washington Post (1988-present)
Full-text articles from the Washington Post, via National Newspapers Premier. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**