Research Guides: Remote Resources for College Students: Need a Study Break?

Popular Magazines

Flipster
Access over 100 popular magazines, including Bon Appetit, Sports Illustrated, Time, and People, through this digital platform. Send issues to the app (available in the Apple App Store and Google Play) for offline reading. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Please Note: In order to access magazines through the Flipster app please follow the steps below:
1. Download the Flipster app onto a device.
2. Go to the NYPL articles & databases page and access Flipster through our website. Or type the following URL in your web browser on your phone or device: https://www.nypl.org/collections/articles-databases/flipster
3. Click on Connect to Database, you will be asked to sign in with your library card and pin number if accessing remotely. Look up the magazine you want, choose "Read this Issue".
4. There is an option in the upper left hand corner (looks like 3 lines), chose open in App.
5. The Flipster app usually opens automatically, but if not just go to the Flipster App and click on "shelf" the magazine should be downloaded and can be read offline.
PressReader
Provides access to current newspapers from around the world in full-color, full-page format. Includes over 2,000 U.S. and international titles. Formerly called PressDisplay. Registering as a user with the site is optional and allows for personalized, saved settings. Patrons should consult PressReader's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy before registering. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Please Note: In order to access newspapers and magazines through the PressReader app please follow the steps below: 1. Go to the NYPL Articles & Databases page and access PressReader through our website. Visit https://www.nypl.org/collections/articles-databases/pressreader 2. Sign in with your library card credentials. 3. Locate the green button on the bottom of your screen or device and click Open in app. 4. Download the app. 5. To ensure that you have access in the app, please activate HotSpots. To do this, tap on Settings in the menu > HotSpots > Enable HotSpots.
New Yorker Digital Archive
The entire run of the New Yorker, in full text and full color, from 1925-present. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

Learn Something New

LinkedIn Learning (formerly lynda.com)
LinkedIn Learning, formerly known as Lynda.com, is an online educational site that features thousands of courses and video tutorials where you can discover, complete, and track courses related to your field and interests. Users will need to create accounts in order to track course progress, create playlists of potential coursework, and keep course notes. Patrons should refer to LinkedIn's Privacy Policy and Website Use Policy before starting.

To log in, please click on "Get Started" and enter your NYPL library card number or username and your PIN.
Please note that you can only access course content through the NYPL's LinkedIn Learning login page, and not by directly visiting the LinkedIn Learning homepage. Also note that NYPL's LinkedIn Learning accounts are now accessible through mobile devices and applications. For Mobile users: 1. Download the LinkedIn Learning app from Google Play / App Store. 2. Open the app. 3. Select - "Sign In." 4. Select "Sign in with your library card." 5. You'll be prompted to "Enter your Library ID." Tap on the box and enter "nypl" (all lowercase, no quote marks). 6. Use your NYPL library card number or username and PIN and click on "Continue." First time users will be prompted to select topics of interest.
Mango Languages
Learn a new language with this interactive database that provides step by step lesson plans for 71 different languages. This database features ESL lessons for Arabic, Cantonese, Mandarin, French, German, Greek, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Brazilian Portuguese, Polish, Russian, Spanish, Turkish, and Vietnamese speakers. A text translator is provided. A mobile app is also available to download. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
First time users must create a profile in order to access the resource.
Ancestry Library Edition
Access billions of names in thousands of genealogical databases including Census and Vital Records, birth, marriage and death notices, the Social Security Death Index, Passenger lists and naturalizations, Military and Holocaust Records, City Directories, New York Emigrant Savings Bank records, and African American and Native American Records. Library version of Ancestry.com.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
This database is only accessible at the following NYPL locations: Stephen A. Schwarzman Building; New York Public Library for the Performing Arts, Dorothy and Lewis B. Cullman Center; Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture; Thomas Yoseloff Business Center; All Branch Libraries

Popular eBooks

SimplyE is The New York Public Library's free e-reader app that makes it easier than ever to borrow e-books. It is available on the App Store or Google Play.

OverDrive

On OverDrive you can browse a large selection of e-books, audiobooks, and video, for use with a wide variety of e-readers, portable devices, PCs, and Macs.

\Cloud Library
Explore a growing selection of e-books, for use with the iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch, Android products, and Windows PCs. Download the app to get started.

Audiobooks

AudioBookCloud
Listen to audio books in many different categories, including fiction, nonfiction, and classics. These books are always available, never on hold, and do not need to be downloaded.

SimplyE

SimplyE, The New York Public Library's free e-reader app, allows users to find and borrow audiobooks in addition to eBooks.

Movies and Music

Naxos Music Library
Streamed recordings of primarily classical music. Also includes world/folk music, Chinese orchestral, folk, and traditional music. Naxos Music Library offers the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues, plus thousands of titles from other labels, including Chandos, BIS, Hungaroton, Hanssler, Bridge, First Edition, CPO, Coro, and Wergo.
OverDrive
Explore popular movies in the OverDrive collection, alongside e-books and audiobooks.