What are the Catalogs?
Access to materials related to boundaries and districts in New York City begins with using our online Research Catalog and NYPL Digital Collections.
To learn more on how to utilize these catalogs, visit our research guide Navigating Research at the Map Division.
Please see below for a quick introduction on getting situated with these catalogs and how to request cartographic materials to view in-person.
Image Source: Central Building, Room 100, including card catalogs. NYPL Digital Collections Image ID 1153322
What to Know Before Searching the Online Research Catalog
There are many starting points for beginning research into boundaries of New York City. To ensure a better search, we recommend organizing what you already know and what you are looking for. By narrowing your search, you will have a greater number of relevant results. As such, before starting your search, we recommend knowing:
- The time frame of interest.
- What type of boundary are you interested in?
- What type of data are you looking for within a specific boundary/district?
- Are you interested in the entirety of New York City or a specific borough?
Finding Maps
For research concerning NYC's boundaries and districts in the Online Research Catalog, we recommend that you utilize the Advanced Search function, to have a more precise search.
If you are searching for maps specifically, make sure to indicate the format as "Cartographic."
In addition, utilize the Date facet to narrow your search. We recommend widening your search to a +/- 5 year range, so that you can access a more inclusive set of materials to peruse.
In addition to the Online Research Catalog, we also have the Printed Dictionary Catalog. While not as necessary for this particular topic, you can access a physical copy in the Map Division's Reading Room or a digital copy via HathiTrust. To learn more on how to utilize this particular catalog, visit our research guide Navigating Research at the Map Division.
Many maps from NYPL's Map Division have been digitized, including maps that detail boundaries and districts in New York City. You can access those digitized versions of maps at NYPL Digital Collections. To find digitized maps that are relevant to this topic:
- Go to NYPL Digital Collections
- Input into the search bar any of the recommended searches that are listed in the various subject tabs of this research guide
- On the results page, look to the left panel and checkmark "Cartographic" under "Type." Use the "Date" facet to narrow to the years of interest
Some general examples include:
Requesting Materials to View at the Map Division's Reading Room
Requirements for Viewing:
To view materials in the Map Division's Reading Room:
- You must have a NYPL Card - Register at this link if you do not have one (You do not need to live in NY to register).
- For most cartographic items, you'll also need a NYPL Special Collections account. Register at this link.
Request Process:
Use the Online Research Catalog to identify the items you want to view.
You can request items before you visit. To do so, on each item's record, click either the "Request Appointment" or "Request to Use On-Site" buttons.
Special Collections Requests:
- If a NYPL Special Collections account is needed to submit your request, you'll be guided through the process after clicking the request button on the item's record.
- On the request form for Special Collections material, filling the "Appointment" section is recommended but not required. If you do not specify an appointment time, the item will be held for two weeks at the Map Division's Reading Room.
We Can Help:
If you need assistance navigating the Online Research Catalog or requesting materials, please contact the Map Division at maps@nypl.org