Records used by genealogists
Identifying which record will best answer your genealogy question is central to successful genealogy research. For instance, what record will tell you where your ancestor lived? Presuming your ancestor lived in the the United States, you might go searching for them in a digitized historical city directory, or a census.
The United States federal census is perhaps the best place to start your family history research, starting with the most recently released census - currently 1940 - and working back.
Key records used by genealogists are
- Censuses
- Vital records
- Ship passenger lists
- Naturalization records
This page provides resources to help you identify what information those records contain, the history of the records, and where you can find them.
Left: 1860 Census, Frederick Douglass, Rochester, Ward 12, Monroe, New York Page 300
Censuses
It bears repeating; censuses are a great place to begin your research. The United States first began enumerating its citizens in 1790, and has continued to do so every 10 years since. A varying amount of information was recorded, depending on what the government wanted to collect; generally speaking, the earlier the census, the less information was recorded. The U.S. Federal census is released to the public 72 years after it is taken.
When genealogists talk about the census, they are invariably referring to the census population schedules, that variously recorded the names, ages, and addresses of individuals each census year. You'll see recorded who lived in a household, and what their relationships were. The census captured information about work, place of origin and immigration, race, and property ownership. This is data that provides clues to the existence and location of other records, like property deeds, ship passenger lists, naturalization records, and records of birth, marriage, and death.
Besides population, the U.S. Federal census had different schedules. The 1850 and 1860 census, for instance, included a slave schedule that recorded the names of slave owners, and provided information about the race, gender, and age of slaves, but not their names. There have also been schedules of military veterans (in 1840 and 1890), mortality (1850-1880), business, industry, and agriculture, and different censuses of Americans Indians. In addition to the federal census, many states conducted their own censuses, typically every ten years at the five year point between the federal enumerations.
The census is an excellent tool for tracing lineage. Working backwards from the most recently released population schedule (1940), the examples below trace the lineage of the Wilson family, from Henry Wilson, born in New York in 1938, to his great-great grandfather William Godfrey Wilson, who lived in Seneca Village, New York, in 1850.
1940 U.S. Federal Census, New York City: Henry Wilson, age 1, with his parents Peter H. Wilson Jnr, 20, and Catherine Wilson, 18.
1930 U.S. Federal Census, New York City: Peter Henry Wilson Jnr., 10, with his father Peter Henry Wilson, 47.
1900 U.S. Federal Census, New York City: Peter Henry Wilson, 14, with his father Isaiah Wilson, 56.
1850 U.S. Federal Census, New York City: Isaiah Wilson, 6, with his father William Godfrey Wilson, 39.
Key facts and uses
- United States Federal Census taken every ten years from 1790
- Released to the public 72 years after enumerated
- Describes household members (relationships), age, birthplace (of self & parents), year of immigration, naturalization status, addresses (varies by year)
- 1790-1880, 1900-1940 population schedules mostly survive (some exceptions): 1890 mostly lost in a fire in 1921
- Starts basic, more detailed as time progresses
- 1790-1840 names household head only; enumerates others by gender / age / race / if a slave
- 1850 -1940: identifies all household members, and describes relationships, work, addresses, immigration, and more biographical data
- The slave schedules of 1850 and 1860 identify the names of slaveholders and demographic data about slaves, but not their names
- Consider also nonpopulation census records, state censuses, and international censuses
Solomon Northup in the U.S. Federal Census of 1840
Access to the census
The U.S. Federal census, and other censuses, can be accessed in most genealogy databases
- Ancestry Library Edition
- Find My Past
- FamilySearch (free online)
NYPL has many census on microfilm, and many print indexes for censuses: ask in the Milstein Division or email history@nypl.org: more details below.
Further reading
United States Census / FamilySearch
National Archives: Resources for Genealogists: Census records
Genealogy Tips: Searching the Census by Address
Your Guide to the Federal Census by Call Number: *R-USLHG HA37.U6 H556 2002ISBN: 1558705880Publication Date: 2002-03-25Census research is one of the first steps in constructing a family tree, however, deciphering census data is not always easy. This guide to the Federal Census acts as a research assistant, offering step-by-step instructions. It also features case studies, a glossary, and extraction forms.
The Genealogist's Census Pocket Reference by Call Number: *R-USLHG CS49 .G455 2012ISBN: 9781440321450Publication Date: 2012-03-29Your Census Research Companion Census records are a key source for tracing your family tree--and this handy collection puts census-related resources, tips, lists and need-to-know facts at your fingertips! Use The Genealogist's Census Pocket Reference to find websites with census records and date questions from each U.S. census 1790 to 1940 maps of the territory covered in each federal census a key to common abbreviations instructions to enumerators population and immigration trends explanations of special schedules state and international census resources ...and so much more! Stash this indispensable book in your computer case, tote bag--or yes, your pocket--and take it with you whenever you research.
Ship passenger lists
History and content
Ship passenger lists and border crossings are the most common record of immigration. The Steerage Act of 1819 mandated the creation of ship passenger lists (sometimes called manifests). Passenger lists prior to this date are few and far between, and may have been compiled later, from different sources.
Customs Passenger Lists (1820-c.1891)
Early ship passenger lists were less detailed than those that would follow, but still included:
- Ship’s name and master
- Port of Embarkation
- Date and port of arrival
- Passenger’s
- name
- age
- sex
- occupation
- nationality
Immigration passenger lists (1891-1924)
The Immigration Act of 1891 established the Office of Immigration, and immigration receiving stations begin operations, notably Ellis Island, in 1892. Passenger lists from this period asked more questions, providing more and more data useful to genealogists, including:
- More specific information about the passenger's birth place
- Name and address of contact (possibly a relative) in US
- Name and address of closest living relative in native country
With the The Immigration Act of 1924 and the introduction of the visa system, ship manifests began to ask fewer questions,. Nevertheless, through the mid-20th century the records continued to include a lot of information useful to genealogists.
Access
FamilySearch has a comprehensive list of US passenger lists, border crossings, and other immigration records available online. Some databases link to Ancestry.com. The NYPL subscriptions to Ancestry Library Edition and FindMyPast provides free access to those records at the point of service.
United States Immigration Online Genealogy Records
100s of different collections of ship passenger lists and other immigration records, including:
- New York, Passenger and Crew Lists (including Castle Garden and Ellis Island), 1820-1957
- Massachusetts, Passenger and Crew Lists, 1820-1963
- Baltimore, Passenger Lists, 1820-1964
- Pennsylvania, Passenger and Crew Lists, 1800-1962
- New Orleans, Passenger Lists, 1813-1963
- UK and Ireland, Incoming Passenger Lists, 1878-1960
- Hamburg Passenger Lists, 1850-1934
One-Step Webpages by Stephen P. Morse
Tools for searching passenger lists for the Port of New York (including Ellis Island and Castle Garden) and other ports.
FamilySearch
- New York Passenger Arrival Lists (Ellis Island), 1892-1924
- New York Passenger Lists, 1820-1891
Print sources
Further reading
Genealogy Tips: Using NYPL Resources at Home to Research Immigrant Ancestors
American Passenger Arrival Records by Call Number: *R-USLHG CS49 .T46 1993ISBN: 0806313803Publication Date: 2001-01-01United States -- Genealogy -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Ships -- Passenger lists -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Registers of births, etc. -- United States -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.
United States -- Emigration and immigration -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Family Tree Guide to Finding Your Ellis Island Ancestors by Call Number: *R-USLHG CS49 .C383 2005ISBN: 9781558706941Publication Date: 2005-06-05In this comprehensive guide, you'll discover: the basic information you need to begin your search. tips and strategies for successfully finding your Ellis Island ancestors online. how passenger lists were created and what information they contain. how to use microfilmed passenger lists and indexes. what to do if you're still coming up empty-handed. Journey with your ancestors as you learn what it was like for them to travel across the ocean by steamship, how they processed through Ellis Island, and where to find information and photographs of your ancestor's ship. And for those who had ancestors who arrived right before the Ellis Island years, a special chapter is devoted to Castle Garden and its arrivals. It's the only guide you'll need for finding your Ellis Island ancestors.
American Passage by ISBN: 9780060742744Publication Date: 2010-05-04"By bringing us the inspiring and sometimes unsettling tales of Ellis Island, Vincent Cannato's American Passage helps us understand who we are as a nation." -- Walter Isaacson "Never before has Ellis Island been written about with such scholarly care and historical wisdom. Highly recommended!" --Douglas Brinkley, bestselling author of The Wilderness Warrior The remarkable saga of America's landmark port of entry, from immigration post to deportation center to mythical icon.
Vital records
Vital records are records collected by the local government that record births, marriages, and deaths, and are sometimes referred to as records of civil registrations. Individuals and families often have copies of their own birth and marriage certificates and licenses. Records of civil registration are not the same as records of baptisms marriages, burial, and so on, recorded at various houses of worship and cemeteries. In the absence of vital records, religious records, however, can be the best way to find information about these life events.
Generally speaking civil registration is a recent phenomenon, beginning in the 19th century, but not really taking hold until the 20th century.
For more information consult the further reading sources listed below.
The birth certificate, below, for instance, records the birth of musician Melvin James (Sy) Oliver, at 20 Peninsular Street, Battle Creek, Michigan, December 17, 1910. His father is recorded as Melvin C. Oliver, 37, born Pulaski, Tennessee, occupation waiter. His mother is Alice Taylor (her maiden name), age 21, born Little Rock, Arkansas. The family live at 20 Peninsular Street, where Alice is a homemaker.
Access
New York City: Digitized vital records
The New York City Municipal Archives is undertaking a mass digitization project to provide online access to 13.3 million historical birth, death, and marriage records, that are now available to search by name and certificate number online, from approximately 1855-1949.
Though coverage varies, birth certificates are available through 1909, and marriage records, and death certificates through 1949.
For more details, see the Municipal Archives guide to New York City historical vital records.
Indexes
Researchers can also use the following indexes to locate vital records in the Five Boroughs.
BIRTH INDEXES
Italian Genealogy Group and German Genealogy Group (pre-1910)
Family Search New York, New York City Births, 1846-1909 (may include parents’ names but no certificate #)
Ancestry Library Edition, New York, New York, Birth Index, 1910-1965
MARRIAGE INDEXES
pre-1938 certificates
Italian Genealogy Group and German Genealogy Group
Family Search (“marriage records 1827-1940”)
1908-1972 applications, affidavits and licenses: Reclaim the Records
1950-1995 licenses: Reclaim the Records
Ancestry Library Edition, New York, New York, Marriage License Indexes, 1907-2018
DEATH INDEXES
Italian Genealogy Group and German Genealogy Group pre-1949
Family Search New York, New York City Municipal Deaths, 1795-1949
Ancestry Library Edition
- New York, New York, Extracted Death Index, 1862-1948
- New York, New York, Death Index, 1949-1965
Note: The German and Italian Genealogy Group vital records indexes are for all ethnicities.
Records
The New York Genealogical and Biographical Society has an excellent guide to requesting vital records in New York City and New York State.
Finding New York Birth, Marriage, and Death Records
Vital records held at the Municipal Archives.
Requesting vital records from the Municipal Archives.
United States
Death Indexes and Records Online
This website is an extensive directory of links to online death indexes, listed by state and county. Included are death records, death certificate indexes, death notices and registers, obituaries, probate indexes, and cemetery and burial records.
Find a Grave contains listings, images and some additional burial and biographical information from cemeteries in the United States and other countries. An index to cemeteries and burial information from this website are also available through the Ancestry database.
Further reading
Red Book by Call Number: Desk-USLHG CS49 .R44 2004ISBN: 1593311664Publication Date: 2004-06-01No scholarly reference library is complete without a copy of Ancestry's Red Book. In it, you will find both general and specific information essential to researchers of American records. This revised 3rd edition provides updated county and town listings within the same overall state-by-state organization. Whether you are looking for your ancestors in the northeastern states, the South, the West, or somewhere in the middle, ""Ancestry's Red Book has information on records and holdings for every county in the United States, as well as excellent maps from renowned mapmaker William Dollarhide. In short, the ""Red Book is simply the book that no genealogist can afford not to have. The availability of census records such as federal, state, and territorial census reports is covered in detail. Unlike the federal census, state and territorial census were taken at different times and different questions were asked. Vital records are also discussed, including when and where they were kept and how ""
International Vital Records Handbook. 7th Edition by Call Number: Desk-USLHG CS42.7 .K46 2017ISBN: 9780806320618Publication Date: 2017-05-03At one time or another you will need a copy of a birth, marriage, divorce or other certificate. Requirements and fees vary from state to state and from country to country. In this handbook, Kemp provides the tools need to obtain certification of important life events, whether for yourself, for historical verification, or for a genealogical search.- New York City Municipal Archives by Call Number: JFF 16-1841ISBN: 9780692620427Publication Date: 2016-02-01Describes the vast l collections of New York City's official government archives.
Naturalization records
Beginning in 1790, naturalization is the process by which an alien becomes a citizen of the United States. Historically speaking there were two steps to the naturalization process
- Declaration of Intention (or First Papers)
- Petition (Second or Final Papers) This is when Oath of Allegiance is taken, and recorded
Declarations became voluntary after 1952, and are usually the most detailed record.
Early records are less detailed, naturalizations taken after 1906 or so become more detailed. Information included in more detailed naturalization papers might include:
- Name
- Age
- Occupation
- Personal description
- Date and place of birth
- Citizenship
- Present and last foreign addresses
- Ports of embarkation and entry
- Name of ship
- Date of arrival in the U.S.
- Spouse and children's names and dates of birth
- Address
- Photograph (after 1929)
Later naturalization records often include witness affidavits, and a Certificate of Arrival.
Maria Augusta Von Trapp, Certificate of Arrival, 1943
It should be noted that not everyone who immigrated to the United States became a citizen. Many people declared their intention to naturalize, but did not petition. It's worth finding the declaration, because that is often the naturalization record that contains the most information, and, possibly, a photograph.
Maria Augusta Von Trapp, Declaration of Intention to naturalize, 1944.
Access
Ancestry Library Edition
125+ groups of indexes and original naturalization records, national and regional
FamilySearch
United States Naturalization and Citizenship Online Genealogy Records includes links to records held at other genealogy databases.
Fold3
USCIS Genealogy program
Records not online, or at the National Archives? More recent records may be accessible via the United States Citizenship and Immigration Service Genealogy Program
Further reading
National Archives
Naturalization Records: Introduction and Links to Resources
Prologue magazine articles online
FamilySearch
FamilySearch Research wiki: United States Naturalization and Citizenship
Mastering Immigration and Naturalization Records by Call Number: *R-USLHG CS47 .Q55 2013ISBN: 9781593601676Publication Date: 2012-11-13Very few books on this one subject; fills a missing need for budding DIY genealogists! This volume in Cold Spring Press's new "Quillen's Essentials of Genealogy" gets to the heart of what genealogical research is for most Americans: hitting the shores of the Atlantic Ocean looking east to the UK, Ireland, and Europe as they begin their search for their ancestors. Largely a nation populated by European immigrants from the 17th through early 20th centuries, immigration and naturalization records is often just the source needed to locate important genealogical information. "Mastering Immigration & Naturalization Records" will cover the following topics: -- What are Immigration Records?; -- What is the genealogical value of Immigration Records?; -- Where do I find Immigration Records?; -- How to locate Naturalization Records; -- Genealogical value of naturalization records.
New York Family History Research Guide and Gazetteer by Call Number: DESK-USLHG F118 .N46 2017ISBN: 9780692319987Publication Date: 2015-01-15“Immigration, migration, and naturalization,” from New York family history research guide and gazetteer / prepared by NYGBS, pp.43-54 (2014)
The Source by Call Number: 929.1072 SISBN: 1593312776Publication Date: 2006-06-01An invaluable overview of the many types of record, document, and resource used by genealogists, includes the chapter “Immigration records”.
