Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music Industry 101: Credits

A Guide for Making Sound Decisions

Music Industry 101: A Guide for Making Sound Decisions

Music Industry 101: A Guide for Making Sound Decisions

Credits

This guide was originally created by library interns Christina Davis and Joe Peterson and is maintained by the Music Division & Recorded Sound Reference Librarians. The images used in this guide are an assortment from the NYPL's Digital Collection and other sources. Each image is credited below.

Images

Orchestra Conductors

Created by Mohamed Hassan, this photo was provided by the free image database Pexels.

"Oliver Smith and Rudolf Bing with Lucia Chase signing a contract with Metropolitan Opera, no. 31" is available as part of the New York Public Library Digital Collections.

"Actors (L-R) Keith Carradine and Gregory Peck at recording session for the Broadway musical "The Will Rogers Follies." (New York)" is available as part of the New York Public Library Digital Collections.

DJ in white jacket

Created by Inga Seliverstona, this image is available from Pexels, a free online photo database.

Billie Holiday (right) with Louis Armstrong in publicity photograph for the 1947 film

Billie Holiday (right) with Louis Armstrong in publicity photograph for the 1947 film "New Orleans" is available as part of the New York Public Library Digital Collections.

Chance the Rapper

This image of Chance the Rapper was obtained from the Wikimedia Commons is used under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 4.0 International license.

Aretha Franklin

This photo of Aretha Franklin was obtained from the NYPL New York Jazz Museum Photograph Collection.

Patrons reading in the library.

This image was obtained from the New York Public Library Digital Collections.

Beethoven in his study

This image of composer Beethoven was obtained from the New York Public Library Digital Collections.

James Tigner, Jr., with poster adversising the Rapper's, Atlanta, Georgia, January 1987

This image, of James Tigner Jr. in Atlanta, was obtained from the Georgia State University Library Digital Collections and was created by the Atlanta Journal-Constitution.

Nashville, TN

This image of the state capitol in Nashville, TN is available from the The Miriam and Ira D. Wallach Division of Art, Prints and Photographs: Photography Collection and is a part of the NYPL Digital Collections.

Koussevitzky

"Koussevitzky" is sourced from the NYPL Digital Collections.

"Music Rhymes" is sourced from the NYPL Digital Collections.

"Gene Kelly, Leila Ernst and Vivienne Segal in the unique o'Hara Rodgers-Hart musical comedy, "Pal Joey" being offered at the Ethel Barrymore Theater by the resourceful George Ab[bott]" is sourced from the NYPL Digital Collections.

Contact

Music Division & Recorded Sound Reference Librarians's picture
Music Division & Recorded Sound Reference Librarians
Contact:
40 Lincoln Center Plaza (65th St and Columbus Ave)
Third Floor
New York, NY 10023
(212) 870-1625
Website