Research Guides: Planning Your Retirement: Welcome!

Planning for Retirement

This guide will point you to resources to help you understand retirement planning, why and how to start, IRAs, 401(k)s, Social Security, and more.

Need more help?

Financial, Credit, and Medicare Counseling

Do you need one on one assistance? Make an appointment to speak with a counselor about your person finances, credit and debt issues, or Medicare.

Financial Resources for Learning from Home

More resources to help you learn about your finances.

Databases

For the most current information on these topics, search periodical indexes for recent articles. You can access databases with the blue house icon from home with your NYPL card number and PIN.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete includes full text business journals and magazines, covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.
New York Times (1980-present) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from The New York Times. (New York Book Review, 1997 to the present. New York Magazine, 1997 to the present.)
Wall Street Journal (1984-present)
Full text of the Wall Street Journal, 1984-present. (While libraries are closed, we have expanded access so you can log in from home with your library card.)
This database is only accessible at the following NYPL locations: Stephen A. Schwarzman Building; New York Public Library for the Performing Arts, Dorothy and Lewis B. Cullman Center; Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture; Thomas Yoseloff Business Center; All Branch Libraries

LinkedIn Learning (formerly lynda.com)
LinkedIn Learning, formerly Lynda.com, includes over 5,700 courses and over 180,000 videos in popular fields including personal finance.
Please note that you can only access course content through the NYPL's LinkedIn Learning login page, and not by directly visiting the LinkedIn Learning homepage. Also note that NYPL's LinkedIn Learning accounts are now accessible through mobile devices and applications. For Mobile users: 1. Download the LinkedIn Learning app from Google Play / App Store. 2. Open the app. 3. Select - "Sign In." 4. Select "Sign in with your library card." 5. You'll be prompted to "Enter your Library ID." Tap on the box and enter "nypl" (all lowercase, no quote marks). 6. Use your NYPL library card number or username and PIN and click on "Continue." First time users will be prompted to select topics of interest.