Digital Delivery
The New York Public Library offers a variety of ways to receive an article, image, or a portion of a book digitally. See below for the different ways you can request digital delivery.
Interlibrary Services
Interlibrary Services provides access to materials held at libraries outside the NYPL system. Books, microfilm, and other non-print materials can be borrowed for use in the research libraries or for circulation outside of the Library. Articles may be requested and delivered electronically through this service.
NYPL maintains partner relationships with major academic libraries as well as national institutions such as the Library of Congress, National Library of Medicine, and the Center for Research Libraries. We also borrow manuscript materials on microfilm from archival organizations such as the Archives of American Art and state historical societies. We will attempt to acquire materials from institutions outside of the United States as well.
For more detailed information, see the Interlibrary Services and Document Delivery webpage here:
https://www.nypl.org/
Center for Research Libraries
Researchers at The New York Public Library have access to the extensive primary source collections of the Center for Research Libraries, an international consortium of university, college and independent research libraries. CRL acquires and preserves newspapers, journals, documents, archives, and other resources for research and teaching. You can request an interlibrary loan or have materials digitized on demand. Consult the CRL Topic Guides for more information on collection strengths, or search their catalog here: http://catalog.crl.edu/
To have an item delivered digitally from CRL's collections, please submit a request through the Interlibrary Services form here: https://www.nypl.org/
ReCAP Shared Collection
Use the Library's new Shared Collection Catalog to find and request physical and digital delivery of items from NYPL Research Libraries, Columbia University Libraries and Princeton University Libraries. Read more about the ReCAP Shared Collection here.
Fee-Based Reproduction Services
If your duplication needs exceed what can be provided by Interlibrary Services and the ReCAP Shared Collection, or you are not a New York Public LIbrary patron, you may request digital delivery through our fee-based reproduction services.
For details about digital duplication requests via our Permissions and Reproductions department, please see this page: https://www.nypl.org/help/get-what-you-need/photographic-services/obtaining-images
For details about fee-based research, please see this page: https://www.nypl.org/help/get-what-you-need/fee-based-research-order-form