Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
On this page you can find other resources for periodicals from the African diaspora including research guides from other research libraries.
Periodicals in the Collection
Non NYPL Resources
AfricaBib is a large database that consists of seven bibliographic databases that allow researchers to locate articles about Africa by country using a search form.
African Activist Archive
This resource is digital humanities project dedicated to preserving and making available online records of activism (posters, documents, photos, etc.) in the U.S. to support the struggles of African peoples
This resources is a digital platform and research repository for think leaders across Africa and the diaspora. The portal curates research materials and holds over 5,000 research reports, occasional papers and policy briefs.
African Studies Abstract Online (ASA Online)
ASA Online provides a quarterly overview of journal articles and edited works on Africa in the field of the social sciences and the humanities in the African Studies Centre Library in at University Leiden
The Afro is the website for The Afro-American, which is an a African-American publication that services that Maryland and D.C. area. The archival issues of this title can be found on microfilm and via the database ProQuest Historical African-American newspapers
AllAfrica is a digital platform that publishes hundreds of reports from various news organizations and institutions from around the world.
Black Past - African American History: Research Guides & Websites
This online resource contains links to digitized versions of African American periodicals and indexes to some publications.
Black Perspectives is the outgrowth of the African American Intellectual Historical Society (AAIHS) blog that was founded in 2014. It is an online platform for public scholarship on global Black thought, history, and culture. It features short scholarly essays on a range of topics by scholars from the African diaspora.
Center For Research Libraries
The Center for Research Libraries is an international consortium of university, college and independent research libraries. You may search their database to locate periodicals from the African diaspora and request the titles via NYPL's Interlibrary Loan service if they are not available at NYPL or the Shared Collection.
Essence.com is the digital platform and online companion to the print publication of the periodical Essence magazine which is dedicated to celebrating and exploring issues faced by Black women.
The Grio is a digital platform that features content and articles on news, lifestyle, education and popular culture geared to Black Americans.
The Root is a digital platform that features articles about contemporary African American life via current events and portals that are specifically targeted to Black men and women.
This resource is a catalog that has holdings of international libraries and it allows researchers to locate library materials based on your zip code.
Research Guides From Other Institutions