Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Researching Periodicals From the African Diaspora: Periodicals from Sub-Saharan Africa

Introduction

On this page you can find resources to locate periodicals from sub-Saharan Africa including titles that are available in print and electronic versions.

Periodicals in Collection

Journal Articles

Alao, George. (1999). The Development of Lusophone Africa's Literary Magazines. Research in African Literatures. 30 (1), 169-183.

 

Gonzalez Echegaray, Carlos. (2015). History of the Press in Equitorial Guinea in the 20th Century: Periodicals Published in Equatorial Guinea 1901-2000Africa Bibliography 2014: Works Published During 2014. November 2015. vii-xxix. 

 

Mabawonku, Iyabo & Aina, L.O. (2005). Characteristics of Library and Information Science Journals Published in West AfricaSouth African Journal of Library and Information Science. 71 (3), 275-281.

Finding Titles in the Collections

If you know the title of the publication from Sub-Saharan Africa you may search by title in the catalog.

Or, to locate periodicals by country, you may do a subject search by country for example:

Kenya -- Periodicals

Databases

Databases with the blue icon  next to the title indicate that they can be accessed remotely with a valid NYPL card. Databases with the icon of the lion next to the title indicate that they can only be accessed on site.

African Periodical E-Resources

African Journals on Line (AJOL) is a platform that allows researchers to access full text articles from hundreds of African journals.

Liberation Journals Index is an analytic, searchable, online index that covers a suite of Pan-African periodicals including La Revue du Monde Noir,Tropiques: Revue Culturelle and others.

Bibliographies and Indexes