Introduction
On this page you can find resources at the Schomburg Center for scholarly publications (including peer-reviewed titles) about the African diaspora.
Finding Titles in the Collection
If you know the title of the scholarly journal you may search the title in the catalog:
Databases
The full text version of some scholarly publications about the global Black experience can be found via databases, some of which may be accessed on site and others (if the database title has an icon of a blue house) may be accessed remotely to users with a valid NYPL card.
Finding Scholarly African Periodicals
African Journal on Line is a database that allows researchers to access full text articles from hundreds of African journals.
Quarterly Index of African Periodical Literature, a platform that is powered by the Library of Congress, is an index of over 700 periodicals (most of which are scholarly) acquired from 29 African countries published between 1991-2011.
Afro Scholar Newsletter
The Afro Scholar Newsletter, which was published by the African American studies program at University of Illinois beginning in the 1980s through the early 1990s, contains bibliographies, citations and other resources about Black Studies. The digitized version of this publication can be viewed here.
Bibliographies
Directory of scholarly journals published in AfricaCall Number: Sc D 98-3138- Guide to scholarly journals in Black studiesCall Number: Sc *051.3-G
Digital Schomburg
Digital Schomburg provides access to trusted information and scholarship including full text articles from scholarly periodicals. To view the curated list of periodicals from the African diaspora click here.