Websites
Healthcare.gov This Web site provides information on a wide variety of health finance issues including insurance and health care laws.
Medicare.gov This is the official U.S. government Medicare Web site and includes links for information and online search tools.
Medicaid.gov This Web site describes features of Medicaid, eligibility requirements, and how to sign up for benefits.
New York State Health Insurance Programs This is a one-stop source of information about New York health insurance programs such as Child Health Plus (an income-based eligible health insurance program for children), the Age 29 Dependent Coverage Extension and many others.
Medicaid in NYS (NYS Department of Health) This Web site is a one-stop resource for questions about the Medicaid program administered by New York State.
Health Insurance Information Counseling and Assistance Program (HICAP) provides Medicare beneficiaries with information, education, and counseling about Medicare and other health insurance.
Books
Social Security, Medicare and Government Pensions by
Your complete guide to Social Security retirement and medical benefits. The rules for claiming Social Security benefits have changed. Find out if you can still choose between your own benefits and spousal benefits. Learn this and more with Social Security, Medicare & Government Pensions--completely updated for 2020. Social Security benefits. Figure out how to get retirement, disability, dependents and survivors benefits, or Supplemental Security Income (SSI). Decide whether it's best to claim benefits early, at full retirement age, or not until you turn 70--and how to time your claims so you and your spouse get the best benefits. Medicare & Medicaid. Learn how to qualify for and enroll in both programs, including Medicare Part D drug coverage. Medigap insurance & Medicare Advantage plans. Compare Medigap and Medicare Advantage plans, and choose what's best for you. Government pensions & veterans benefits. Discover when and how to claim the benefits you have earned. What's New in 2020? End of donut hole for prescription drugs New Medicare costs and Social Security amounts for 2020, and Changes to some Medigap plans. Whether you're looking for yourself or helping a parent, you'll find valuable information here to help get the benefits you've earned.
ISBN: 9781413327212Publication Date: 2020-02-25- Weiss Ratings' guide to health insurersCall Number: *R-BIZ HG9395 W45 (63(winter 2010)-97(sum 2019)-)Publication Date: CurrentA quarterly compilation of health insurance company ratings and analyses.
- Mergent bank & finance manualCall Number: JBM 03-290 (2001-2010, 2013-2016-)Publication Date: CurrentProfiles of large insurance companies with financial statements and Moody's rating information. All aspects of the insurance industry are covered, with detailed statements on a comparative basis. It provides basic financial statements and Moody's rating information for insurance companies. Available online as the Mergent Online database (minus the ratings).
Database
- Best's Library CenterBest's Library Center combines the time-honored Best's Insurance Reports in a single platform, allowing users to assess companies' financial strength, performance ratios and market segments.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- MergentOnlineHas basic information on public and private U.S. and international companies. It is the equivalent of the current Mergent manuals. It includes company financials, subsidiaries, capital stock (ex. dividends and splits), executive officers, insider traders, SEC filings, company news, company annual reports, competitor information, equity and corporate bond portraits, and industry reports.
