Websites
Make Money Smart (English) and (Spanish) Online financial education.
Mymoney.gov This website is a product of the Congressionally chartered Federal Financial Literacy and Education Commission, which is made up of more than 20 Federal entities that are coordinating and collaborating to strengthen financial capability and increase access to financial services for all Americans.
Personal Finance Learn how to set up your financial goals, get a handle on your debt, and make a plan to save and invest.
Have Financial Questions: Everything you need to understand your finances and did not know who to ask.
Databases
Here you can find courses such as Stay Ahead in Personal Finance; Personal Finance Tips Weekly; Personal Finance Tips and Tricks, and Manage Your Personal Finance.
Video
Books
Napkin Finance by
WALL STREET JOURNAL BESTSELLER "An incredible, compelling read. It covers an astonishing amount of ground with basic simplicity and good humor. A masterful starting point for any investor. Tina Hay is a wizard."--Ben Stein, economist, author, actor and commentator A handy crash course in personal finance, Napkin Finance is the groundbreaking guide everyone needs to help them manage their money and feel more secure. Surveys have found that two thirds of Americans can't pass a basic financial literacy test, and nine in ten believe personal finance should become a required high school course. Tina Hay understands the confusion. While attending Harvard Business School, she struggled to keep up with classmates-many of whom came from the banking world-when it came to understanding jargon and numbers-heavy concepts. Tina developed a visual learning strategy using sketches and infographics that helped her succeed in her studies and master even the most complex financial topics. Since then, Tina founded Napkin Finance, a thriving company built on the concept of taking seemingly overwhelming topics--such as budgeting, investments, and retirement accounts--and turning them into simple, skimmable explanations. Now, she's synthesized the most important content into this personal finance handbook. Napkin Finance includes dozens of individual learning modules, on topics ranging from credit scores to paying off student loans to economics and blockchain. The first illustrated guide that makes finance fun and accessible, Napkin Finance can help even the most numbers-phobic reader learn about complex financial topics without dying of boredom.
ISBN: 9780062915023Publication Date: 2019-12-30
Clever Girl Finance by
Take charge of your finances and achieve financial independence - the Clever Girl way Join the ranks of thousands of smart and savvy women who have turned to money expert and author Bola Sokunbi for guidance on ditching debt, saving money, and building real wealth. Sokunbi, the force behind the hugely popular Clever Girl Finance website, draws on her personal money mistakes and financial redemption to educate and empower a new generation of women on their journey to financial freedom. Lighthearted and accessible, Clever Girl Finance encourages women to talk about money and financial wellness and shows them how to navigate their own murky financial waters and come out afloat on the other side. Monitor your expenses, build a budget, and stick with it Make the most of a modest salary and still have money to spare Keep your credit in check and clean up credit card chaos Start and succeed at your side hustle Build a nest egg and invest in your future Transform your money mindset and be accountable for your financial well-being Feel the power of real-world stories from other "clever girls" Put yourself on the path to financial success with the valuable lessons learned from Clever Girl Finance.
ISBN: 9781119580843Publication Date: 2019-06-21
Budgeting 101 by
"Cagan makes the case that a budget isn't a buzz killer. It's financial salvation." --The Washington Post Don't break the bank--learn to create and stick to a budget with this comprehensive, easy-to-understand guide to saving money sensibly in this edition of the popular 101 series. Sometimes, it can seem like saving money is impossible. With everyday expenses, from groceries and gas, to the electric bill and lunch money, as well as those unexpected expenses, like car repairs and medical bills, getting--and keeping--control of your finances can feel overwhelming. With Budgeting 101, you can start saving now. This clear and simple guide provides tons of practical advice for keeping track of your finances. With useful tips on setting financial goals, reducing debt, finding ways to save money, and creating and following a budget plan, you'll have your dollars and cents under control in no time. Why spend more of your hard-earned money on a financial advisor? Filled with expert advice on a wide range of the most common financial concerns and step-by-step instructions to managing your money both now and in the future, Budgeting 101 has you covered.
Call Number: 332.024 CISBN: 9781507209073Publication Date: 2018-11-06
The 30-Day Money Cleanse by
Take control of your finances and de-stress your relationship with money! Like food, money is something all of us use but none of us talk about-creating a stressful relationship that most of us suffer from, obsess over, and try to avoid altogether because it feels too impossible to manage. No matter your income, understanding and controlling your own financial position will allow you to not just exist securely but to be happy and free in your choices.
ISBN: 9781977389510Publication Date: 2019-01-01
The Infographic Guide to Personal Finance by
"Want to better manage your money? This book will show you how...It simply delivers a tough topic in graphically appealing, digestible bites." --The Washington Post Balance your budget, plan for your future, and breeze through confusing details with this easy-to-follow illustrated personal finance guide. Get your finances in shape! In The Infographic Guide to Personal Finance, you will learn all the skills you need to make good financial decisions and grow your personal wealth. Full of colorful descriptions organized in an easy-to-read format, this book contains infographics such as: -Choosing your bank -Building an emergency fund -Choosing a financial planner -Where your money is going -What not to buy -Health insurance -Property insurance -What federal taxes pay for With the help of this guide, you'll learn how to make good investments, save for big things like a house or college tuition, budget, and more!
Call Number: 332.024 CISBN: 9781507204665Publication Date: 2017-12-05
Broke Millennial Takes on Investing by
A guide to investing basics by the author of Broke Millennial, for anyone who feels like they aren't ready (or rich enough) to get into the market Millennials want to learn how to start investing. The problem is that most have no idea where to begin. There's a significant lack of information out there catering to the concerns of new millennial investors, such as: * Should I invest while paying down student loans? * How do I invest in a socially responsible way? * What about robo-advisors and apps--are any of them any good? * Where can I look online for investment advice? In this second book in the Broke Millennial series, Erin Lowry answers those questions and delivers all of the investment basics in one easy-to-digest package. Tackling topics ranging from common terminology to how to handle your anxiety to retirement savings and even how to actually buy and sell a stock, this hands-on guide will help any investment newbie become a confident player in the market on their way to building wealth.
Call Number: 332.6 LISBN: 9780143133643Publication Date: 2019-04-09
Mastering Money: How to Beat Debt, Build Wealth, and Be Prepared for Any Financial Crisis by
Overcome debt, make smart money decisions, and build a financially secure future Do you support your family, pay your taxes, get the bills done on time--and yet still struggle to achieve financial security? If so, you're not alone. About one-third of all Americans have not saved for retirement, another third have no savings at all, and more than half have no budget. How did we get here? Two words: financial illiteracy. As money and finance have become more complex over the decades, the average American has not been able to keep up--in essence, leaving our personal financial decisions up to banks, bureaucrats, policymakers, and even fraudsters. Norm Champ, a former director at the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC), provides an in-depth primer on how money works, designed just for you--the non-finance reader. Champ shows how to: * Pay off your loans and stay out of debt for the long run * Build savings that will see you through thick and thin * Avoid financial disaster--from bad credit deals to outright scams * Start building a safe, smart investing portfolio Our financial system is easier to grasp than you think--and armed with this new knowledge and insight, you'll finally take control of your financial future. When you know how money works, you make better financial decisions. It's that simple. Mastering Money demystifies finance and provides plainspoken, straightforward advice for building a solid financial foundation you can count on in good times and bad.
Call Number: 332.024 CISBN: 9781260452532Publication Date: 2019-11-05
Managing Money by
Theme: Hi-Lo, Lifeskills, career, achieve independence, skills, moving, finding a home, on your own Combining practical content with visual appeal, the 21st Century Lifeskills handbooks read more like a magazine than a book. Highly readable with full-color photographs, a smaller trim size and an eye-popping layout, these 120-page handbooks are great for teaching life skills to a twenty-first century population. The 10 handbooks in this series will provide readers a thorough and non-threatening introduction to the multi-dimensional competencies, concepts, and vocabulary they need to achieve independences--including community resources, job searching, money management, job etiquette, health, moving and more. Used along or in conjunction with the 21st Century Lifeskills worktexts, these handbooks offer students a unique and visual way to achieve real-world literacy. The handbook is a thorough and non-threatening introduction to: The Wise Buyer; Shopping for Goods; Shopping for Services; Consumer Rights. This handbook offers students a unique and visual way to achieve real-world literacy.
Call Number: 332.024 BISBN: 9781616516598Publication Date: 2011-12-28
