Stocks
Stocks represent ownership of a portion, or "share", of a company. and are what most people have in mind when talking about investing. See the resources below to learn about stocks, the market, and how to choose stocks for your investing goals.
Books
The Five Keys Steps to Value Investing by
How to determine what stocks are really worth-- and buy the best at a discount "The Five Keys to Value Investing is practical, insightful, and a great roadmap to not only value investing but how to make money in the stock market." -- Joel Greenblatt, Managing Partner, Gotham Capital "Jean-Jacques has written a great how-to guide for both beginning and experienced value investors. He skillfully draws on the canon and legacy of the great value investors, such as Graham and Buffett...a terrific addition on this time-tested methodology." -- Eric T. McKissack, Vice Chairman, Ariel Capital Management/Ariel Mutual Funds Investors left to pick up the pieces of the shattered stock market are rediscovering value investing-- the time-tested technique based on assessing and buying businesses as opposed to "picking" hot stocks. The Five Keys to Value Investing provides a methodical framework for using value analysis to uncover investment opportunities based on their business strengths, and building a solid portfolio of stocks that is destined to provide superior long-term returns. Written by a professional value investor who worked for the best, The Five Keys to Value Investing explains how to answer the four basic questions of value investing: Does this stock represent a good business to own? What is its balance between price and value? What specific events will spur it to appreciate? What are the stock's safety levels?
ISBN: 9780071416078Publication Date: 2003-01-01
Guide to Analysing Companies by
In today's volatile, complex and fast-moving business world, it can be difficult to gauge how sound a company really is. An apparently strong balance sheet and impressive reported profits may be hiding all sorts of problems that could even spell bankruptcy. So how do you: Know whether a company is well run and doing well? Decide which ratios and benchmarks to use to assess performance? Work out if a company has massaged its results? Recognise the danger signs on the corporate horizon? Compare companies operating in different sectors or countries? These and many other important questions are answered in a completely updated and revised sixth edition of this clear and comprehensive guide. It is aimed at anyone who wants to understand a company's annual report, judge a customer's creditworthiness, assess a company's investment potential, and much more.
ISBN: 9781610394796Publication Date: 2015-01-06
The Intelligent Investor, Rev. Ed by
The greatest investment advisor of the twentieth century, Benjamin Graham taught and inspired people worldwide. Graham's philosophy of "value investing"--which shields investors from substantial error and teaches them to develop long-term strategies--has made The Intelligent Investor the stock market bible ever since its original publication in 1949. Over the years, market developments have proven the wisdom of Graham's strategies. While preserving the integrity of Graham's original text, this revised edition includes updated commentary by noted financial journalist Jason Zweig, whose perspective incorporates the realities of today's market, draws parallels between Graham's examples and today's financial headlines, and gives readers a more thorough understanding of how to apply Graham's principles. Vital and indispensable, The Intelligent Investor is the most important book you will ever read on how to reach your financial goals.
ISBN: 9780061745171Publication Date: 2009-03-17
Money Machine by
In Money Machine, Gary Smith shows you how billionaire investors like Warren Buffett make their fortune and achieve 8% returns each year using value investing. Money Machine is filled with expert advice on how to:Identify the "intrinsic value" of a companyDecide which stocks to pick and which to avoidTime the market for the greatest gainsBeat the market every single yearAnd more . . . There's no reason your money should be sitting in a bank account. By learning value investing, you can reap the rewards of consistent, reliable gains that can make you a millionaire by the time you retire. Don't just work for you money-put your money to work for you and retire in style.
ISBN: 9781681685724Publication Date: 2017-06-08
Stock Investing for Dummies by
Grow your stock investments in today's changing environment Updated with new and revised material to reflect the current market, this new edition of Stock Investing For Dummies gives you proven strategies for selecting and managing profitable investments. no matter what the conditions. You'll find out how to navigate the new economic landscape and choose the right stock for different situations--with real-world examples that show you how to maximize your portfolio. The economic and global events affecting stock investors have been dramatic and present new challenges and opportunities for investors and money managers at every level. With the help of this guide, you'll quickly and easily navigate an ever-changing stock market with plain-English tips and information on ETFs, new rules, exchanges, and investment vehicles, as well as the latest information on the European debt crisis. Incorporate stocks into your investment portfolio Understand and capitalize on current market conditions Balance risk and reward Explore new investment opportunities Stock Investing For Dummies is essential reading for anyone looking for trusted, comprehensive guidance to ensure their investments grow.
ISBN: 9781119239291Publication Date: 2016-04-05
Stock Market Investing for Beginners by
Learn how to invest your money the smart way.EVERYONE INVESTS.All forms of investment share a common purpose: to provide for a better future. Stock market investing is one of the best tools you can use to build a more secure financial foundation for you and your family. But without an experienced guideHowever, for those of us who aren't professional stockbrokers, the process of the stock market investing can seem complex and bewildering. Stock Market Investing for Beginners will arm you with the information you need to understand the basics of stock market investing, and start taking control of your financial future. Stock Marketing Investing for Beginners will take the frustration and intimidation out of stock market investing, so that you can make the investments that are right for your financial goals.We invest our time, effort, and attention in what we find important. All forms of investment share a common purpose: to provide for a better future. By making even a small investment in the stock market now, you can put yourself on the road to a longer and happier life. But without an experienced guide, the stock market can be complex and bewildering. Stock Market Investing for Beginners gives you the tools to start investing wisely and successfully, with: * Straightforward explanationIntroduction tof the fundamentals of the stock market investing* 10 key stock marketing investing questions answered 5 strategies for picking winners * Pros and cons of the basic types of investment products* Useful aAdvice on buying, selling, owning, and diversifying* Invaluable tTips on building your perfect financial portfolio through stock marketing investingThe sooner you start investing, the better off you will be. Stock Market Investing for Beginners will show you how to make a small investment now, for a better tomorrow.
ISBN: 9781623153021Publication Date: 2013-11-26
Databases
- BloombergThe interactive network of Bloomberg Financial Markets offers up-to-date pricing information, history, data, analytics, and multimedia news.
- MergentOnlineInformation on more than 21,000 US and international companies, including 10,000 NYSE, AMEX and Nasdaq exchange companies. All SEC (EDGAR) filings and domestic and international annual reports are included. Dates of Coverage: 1996-present. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Morningstar Investment Research CenterAccess Morningstar financial reports, screening, analyst reports and portfolio screening. Use the Help & Education link to access information about this database and online course modules on investing.
- S&P Capital IQ (Standard and Poor's Capital IQ)Statistics and Articles. Includes Corporation Records, Dividend Record, Earnings Guide, Industry Surveys, Mutual Fund/ETF Reports, Standard & Poor's Register, Stock Guide, and Standard & Poor's Stock Reports.
- Value Line Research CenterProvides capabilities for viewing, sorting, screening, graphing, and preparing reports on individual equities. The survey gives ranking on over 200 search fields, including earnings estimates, appreciation potential, annual financial data, and business ratios. The database includes the ability to view and print the actual full-page research reports from the Value Line Investment Survey print publication.
Reference Materials
Mergent's dividend achieversCall Number: *R-SIBL HG4050 .M37 Financial ServicesLatest ed. at the Business Library. To find the most consistent dividend-paying stocks, professional investment managers, analysts, and knowledgeable individual investors use Mergent's Handbook of Dividend Achievers- the definitive guide for sound investments. Published quarterly, Mergent's Dividend Achievers features the latest data on a unique universe of companies with a history of rewarding shareholders. Each full-page profile provides in-depth investment criteria, including a stock performance chart, dividend record, business description, seven years of financial results and ratios, analysis of recent developments and more. Also Includes Canadian Companies with 5 consecutive years of Dividend Increases.
Mergent dividend recordLatest ed. available at Business Library Reference Desk. Weekly issues and annual cumulation. Latest editions available at Business Library Reference Desk- The Value Line investment survey [print]Latest issues at the Business Library Reference Desk. Published in three sections: Part 1 (Summary and Index), Part 2 (Selection and Opinion), and Part 3 (Ratings and Reports).
Web Sites
- Morningstar Investing Classroom: StocksLessons covering stock investing and constructing a portfolio
- Khan Academy: Stocks and bondsFree online class introducing basic concepts.