Basics
These resources will introduce you to some concepts behind investing, why you should invest, and the different types of investments available.
Books
The Aspirational Investor by
The Chief Investment Officer of Merrill Lynch Wealth Management explains why goals, not markets, should be the primary focus of your investment strategy--and offers a practical, innovative framework for making smarter choices about aligning your goals to your investment strategy. Today all of us bear the burden of investing wisely, but too many of us are preoccupied with the wrong priorities--increasing returns at all costs, finding the next star fund manager, or beating "the market." Unfortunately conventional portfolio theory and the grand debates in finance have offered investors only incomplete solutions. What is needed, argues Ashvin B. Chhabra, is a framework that shifts the focus of investment strategy from portfolios and markets to individuals and the objectives that really matter: things like protecting against unexpected financial crises, paying for education or retirement, and financing philanthropy and entrepreneurship. The Aspirational Investor is a practical, innovative approach to managing wealth based on key goals and the careful allocation of risks rather than responding to the whims of the financial markets. Chhabra introduces his "Wealth Allocation Framework," which accommodates the three seemingly incompatible objectives that must underpin every sound wealth management plan: the need for financial security in the face of known and unknowable risks; the need to maintain current living standards over time despite inflation; and the need to pursue aspirational goals for wealth creation. Chhabra reveals some surprising facts about wealth creation, reinterprets the success formulas of investing greats like Warren Buffett, and closes the gap between theory and practice by simplifying our understanding of key asset classes and laying out a concise roadmap for identifying, prioritizing, and quantifying financial goals. Raising the bar for what we should expect from our investment portfolios--and our financial advisors--The Aspirational Investor sets us on a path to more confident and fulfilling financial lives.
ISBN: 9780062235107Publication Date: 2015-06-02
Dictionary of Finance and Investment Terms by
More than 5,000 terms related to stocks, bonds, mutual funds, banking, tax laws, and transactions in the various financial markets are presented alphabetically with descriptions. The new ninth edition has been updated to take account of new financial regulations and recent dramatic swings in equities, credit, and other financial developments. Readers will also find a list of financial abbreviations and acronyms, as well as illustrative diagrams and charts. Here's a valuable, thorough dictionary for business students, financial professionals, or private investors.
ISBN: 9781438092546Publication Date: 2014-04-04
The Elements of Investing by
An updated look at best rules of investing provided by two of the world's greatest financial thinkers In the updated edition of The Elements of Investing, authors Charles Ellis and Burton Malkiel--two of the world's greatest financial thinkers--have again combined their talents to produce a straight-talking book about investing and saving. Written with every investor in mind, this reliable resource will put you on a path towards a lifetime of financial success. Page by page, Malkiel and Ellis skillfully focus their message to address the essentials and offer a set of simple, but powerful thoughts on how to avoid Mr. Market and his "loser's game," and instead enjoy the "winner's" approach to investing. All the investment rules and principles you need to succeed are here--with clear advice on how to follow them. Shows you how to focus on the long term instead of following market fluctuations that are likely to lead to costly investing mistakes Contains investment insights that can carry you all the way to, and through, retirement Written by Burton G. Malkiel, the bestselling author of A Random Walk Down Wall Street, and Charles D. Ellis, the bestselling author of Winning the Loser's Game A disciplined approach to investing, complemented by understanding, is all you need to enjoy success. This practical guide explains what you really need to know and puts you on the right course for long-term success through all kinds of markets.
Call Number: 332.6 MISBN: 9781118553749Publication Date: 2012-12-19
Investing by
Robert G. Hagstrom is one of the best-known authors of investment books for general audiences. Turning his extensive experience as a portfolio manager at Legg Mason Capital Management into valuable guidance for professionals and nonprofessionals alike, he is the author of six successful books on investment, including The Warren Buffett Way, a New York Times best-seller that has sold more than a million copies. In this updated second edition of Investing: The Last Liberal Art, Hagstrom explores basic and fundamental investing concepts in a range of fields outside of economics, including physics, biology, sociology, psychology, philosophy, and literature. He discusses, for instance, how the theory of evolution disrupts the notion of the efficient market and how reading strategies for literature can be gainfully applied to investing research. Building on Charlie Munger's famous "latticework of mental models" concept, Hagstrom argues that it is impossible to make good investment decisions based solely on a strong knowledge of finance theory alone. He reinforces his concepts with additional data and a new chapter on mathematics, and updates his text throughout to reflect the developments of the past decade, particularly the seismic economic upheaval of 2008. He has also added a hundred new titles to the invaluable reading list concluding the book. Praise for the first edition: "I read this book in one sitting: I could not put it down."-Peter L. Bernstein, author of Against the Gods: The Remarkable Story of Risk "Elegant and irresistible. Robert G. Hagstrom makes the complex clear as he confidently crisscrosses through the disciplines of finance, biology, physics, and literature. The only way to understand investing better, [Investing] shows, is to understand the world better. Ideas spark off the page at every turn. This is simply a gem of a book."-James Surowiecki, New Yorker "Investing is a brisk and engaging read, and it is a pleasure to be in the presence of Hagstrom's agile mind."-International Herald Tribune
ISBN: 9780231531016Publication Date: 2013-01-08
Investing All-In-One for Dummies by
Invest in your financial future Featuring guidance from renowned finance expert Eric Tyson and content from other top selling For Dummies investment titles, Investing All-in-One For Dummies offers the foolproof, time-tested guidance you need to turn those hard-earned dollars into a successful and diversified portfolio. Covering everything from stocks, bonds, mutual funds, real estate, and the latest in online investing, this hands-on resource lays out an arsenal of techniques for you to select the investment accounts that best suit your particular style, needs, and goals. Investing All-in-One For Dummies offers a succinct framework and expert advice to help readers make solid decisions and confidently invest in the marketplace Develop and manage a winning financial portfolio Find the right investments for you, no matter your age or income bracket Get the latest information on retirement planning, tax laws, investment options, and more Benefit from sound strategies brought to you by a well-recognized personal finance counselor There's no time like the present to invest in your own financial future--and this book shows you how.
ISBN: 9781119376637Publication Date: 2017-04-10
Investing for Dummies by
Investing For Dummies, 7th Edition (9781118884928) is now being published as Investing For Dummies, 7th Edition (9781119293347). While this version features an older Dummies cover and design, the content is the same as the new release and should not be considered a different product. Invest in your financial future with this valuable, popular, and easy-to-use guide This latest edition of Investing For Dummies is infused with new and updated material to help you ramp up your portfolio today! This includes time-tested advice, updates to investing recommendations, and strategies that reflect changing market conditions. Investing may be an intimidating prospect, but this resource will serve as your primer on all aspects of the topic, including how to develop and manage a portfolio, invest in stocks, bonds, mutual funds, and real estate, open a small business, and understand the critical tax implications of your investing decisions. Updates have been made to sections on investing resources, health insurance, retirement planning, and investment options, among others. Investing For Dummies, 7th Edition will help ease you into investing confidently. Dive into the new content to get sage advice regardless of where you are in your investment planning stage--beginning to develop plans, investing through a company 401(k), or seeking to shore up your nest egg prior to retirement, this book covers it all. Addresses all aspects of investing, including how to develop and manage a portfolio that includes various investment instruments Features expanded and updated coverage on investing resources, retirement planning, tax laws, investment options, and real estate Offers time-tested advice and strategies from Eric Tyson, a nationally-recognized personal finance counselor and bestselling author If you're looking to get sound guidance and trusted investment strategies, Investing For Dummies sets you up to take control of your investment options.
Call Number: 332.6 TISBN: 9781118884935Publication Date: 2014-07-07
Investing in Your 20s and 30s for Dummies by
Investing in Your 20s & 30s For Dummies (9781119293415) was previously published as Investing in Your 20s & 30s For Dummies (9781118411230). While this version features a new Dummies cover and design, the content is the same as the prior release and should not be considered a new or updated product. The easy way to make sense of investing when you're just starting out Today's 20- and 30-somethings have witnessed a miserable investment market during most, if not all, of their adult lives. But going forward, the opposite is more likely to be true. In order to build a retirement portfolio that is capable of covering expenses in your golden years, it is necessary to start saving and investing while you are young. Investing in Your 20s & 30s For Dummies offers investment advice for taking the first steps as you star out on your own earning a livable income. Investing in your 20s & 30s For Dummies cuts to the chase by providing emerging professionals, like yourself, the targeted investment advice that you need to establish your own unique investment style. Covering everything from evaluating assets and managing risk to demystifying what the phrase "diversifying your portfolio" really means, this guide offers expert investment advice that you shouldn't be without. Helps you determine your investment timeline and goals Offers plain-English explanations of investment lingo Includes tips for investing while having debt Guidance on where and when to seek investment advice If you're in your 20s or 30s, the sooner you're investing, the more time you have to compound your returns and grow your portfolio. So what are you waiting for?
Call Number: 332.6 TISBN: 9781119296614Publication Date: 2016-05-31
Investing Online for Dummies by
Building substantial online investments is a page away Anyone can invest online, but without the right guidance and know-how, a well-meaning online investment can go wrong--fast. Inside, you'll find the investment strategies you need to pick a winning strategy, find an online broker, and build a successful investment portfolio. This friendly and easily accessible guide bypasses confusing jargon and points you toward the most helpful websites, online calculators, databases, and online communities that will help you succeed in the stock market. Updated to cover the latest tools of the trade, this new edition of Investing Online For Dummies offers expert online investing advice that you can take to the bank! From setting reasonable expectations, figuring out how much to invest, and assessing appropriate risks to picking an online broker and finding investment data online, this power packed book sums up everything you'll encounter as you invest your way to hard-earned financial success. Understand the basics of investing and learn to measure risks Analyze stocks and financial statements Choose an online broker and execute trades online Use online tools to calculate your investment performance Don't take a risk on the wrong tool or strategy. Investing Online For Dummies features a stockpile of powerful, effective resources to help you build an impressive portfolio.
Call Number: 332.6028 KISBN: 9781119228370Publication Date: 2016-01-13
The Only Investment Guide You'll Ever Need by
"The Only Investment Guide You'll Ever Need . . . actually lives up to its name." -- Los Angeles Times "So full of tips and angles that only a booby or a billionaire could not benefit." -- New York Times For nearly forty years, The Only Investment Guide You'll Ever Need has been a favorite finance guide, earning the allegiance of more than a million readers across America. This completely updated edition will show you how to use your money to your best advantage in today's financial marketplace, no matter what your means. Using concise, witty, and truly understandable tips and explanations, Andrew Tobias delivers sensible advice and useful information on savings, investments, preparing for retirement, and much more.
Call Number: 332.024 TISBN: 9780544771413Publication Date: 2016-04-26
Databases
- From lynda.com: Developing Investor Acumen Interested in learning more about how your investments actually work? In this course, Jane Barratt focuses on practical, actionable investment strategies that can help busy professionals improve their portfolio and personal net assets on an ongoing basis. Jane builds upon basic investment concepts, equipping you with the knowledge and skills you need to make your money work for you. Key topics covered throughout the course include risk (and how it changes over your life), how to define an investment strategy that's right for you, asset classes and how they can fit together, how to decode your account statements, and specific to-dos that can help you move your investments forward.- from lynda.com
- From lynda.com: Managing your Personal Investments Learn how to invest your money and make it work harder for you. In this course, investment advisor Jane Barratt dispels the myth that "investing is just for retirement." In fact, intelligent investing is critical to long-term financial well-being—and pays higher dividends than simply saving money alone.- from lynda.com
- From lynda.com: Understanding Capital Markets In this course, Dr. Michael McDonald explores the world of capital markets, including stocks, bonds, options, mutual funds, currencies, and commodities. Learn about stock valuation, bond valuation, options, bond yields, calculation of bond ratings, and how earnings reports and other market events impact stock investors. Dr. McDonald also demonstrates how to buy and sell financial products, and assess the risk that goes along with each one.- from lynda.com
Further Reading
For further reading on investing basics, click on the subject links below to search the catalog for books on:
-
Finance -- Dictionaries
-
Finance, Personal
-
Investments
-
Investments -- Computer Network Resources
-
Investments -- Dictionaries
-
Young Adults -- Finance, Personal
Web sites
- Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA)Click on the For Investors tab for pages on investing concepts, finding an investment professional, free classes, and more.
- Investment Management Education Alliance (IMEA):Articles and tutorials on investing topics
- InvestopediaDictionary of all investment and financial terms.
- MyMoney.GovThe U.S. government's website is dedicated to teaching all Americans the basics about financial education. Whether you are buying a home, balancing your checkbook, or investing in your 401(k), the resources on MyMoney.gov can help you maximize your financial decisions. Throughout the site, you will find important information from 20 Federal agencies and Bureaus designed to help you make smart financial choices.
- FINRA Investor Education FoundationThe FINRA Investor Education Foundation, formerly known as the NASD Investor Education Foundation, gives investors tools and information to better understand the markets and the basics of saving and investing.