Mutual funds/ETFs
Mutual funds and ETFs are popular forms of investing in securities. The Business Library has many resources to help you understand them and choose among the hundreds available to you.
Books
All about Exchange-Traded Funds by
BUILD A SOLID, PROFITABLE PORTFOLIO WITH TODAY S HOT TEST FUNDS All About Exchange-Traded Funds delivers everything you need to know about ETFs from A to Z. It begins with an overview of the history of ETFs before moving on to important-to-know topics, such as regulatory essentials, the benchmarks and strategies that ETFs track, valuation, and ways to actively manage a portfolio of ETFs. Whether you re a novice or experienced investor, you ll get valuable information about: The advantages of ETFs over mutual funds and common stocks The underlying indexes of ETFs, along with profiles on the top index sponsors Various investing options from broad-based and fixed-income to global and sector ETFs Applying asset allocation to increase your portfolio performance INCLUDES SAMPLE ETF PORTFOLIOS YOU CAN USE TO MODEL YOUR OWN PORTFOLIO"
ISBN: 9780071770125Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Common Sense on Mutual Funds by
John C. Bogle shares his extensive insights on investing in mutual funds Since the first edition of Common Sense on Mutual Funds was published in 1999, much has changed, and no one is more aware of this than mutual fund pioneer John Bogle. Now, in this completely updated Second Edition, Bogle returns to take another critical look at the mutual fund industry and help investors navigate their way through the staggering array of investment alternatives that are available to them.
ISBN: 9780470138137Publication Date: 2009-12-02
The ETF Book by
Written by veteran financial professional and experienced author Richard Ferri, The ETF Book gives you a broad and deep understanding of this important investment vehicle and provides you with the tools needed to successfully integrate exchange-traded funds into any portfolio. Each chapter of The ETF Book offers concise coverage of various issues and is filled with in-depth insights on different types of ETFs as well as practical advice on how to select and manage them.
ISBN: 9781118045091Publication Date: 2011-01-04
Exchange Traded Funds by
The progress of exchange traded funds (ETFs) in the 21st century has been impressive. They are being used more and more widely as an investment approach and the range of asset classes that they cover has reached the point where a diversified portfolio of investments can be built entirely of these products. As such, it is important for those involved in the finance industry to have a handle on exchange traded funds, either for their own investing or as an adviser to the investments of others.This new book looks at how ETFs are constructed, how they are regulated, the variety of asset classes they cover and some practicalities involved with investing in them. No look at ETFs would be complete without an examination of the indices that they track, and so a discussion of different equity index construction methods is included. There are also thoughts about the essentials to keep in mind when using ETFs to move into more advanced types of investment, such as commodities, fixed income and leveraged products.In a detailed chapter on the use of ETFs within an investment portfolio, special attention is paid to the potential investment concentration, currency exposure and liquidity issues that can arise when investing in exchange traded funds. There are also lists of all major and some of the smaller ETF providers in the appendices of the book.With ETFs being an increasingly important part of the investment spectrum, no one can afford to be without a working knowledge of how these products operate. 'Exchange Traded Funds' will give you a good introduction to this area.
ISBN: 9780857191144Publication Date: 2011-02-25
Index Investing for Dummies by
A recommended, proven way to broaden portfolios and profits Recommended by finance experts and used extensively by institutional investors, index funds and exchange-traded funds (ETFs) provide unmanaged, diversified exposure to a variety of asset classes. Index Investing For Dummies shows active investors how to add index investments to their portfolios and make the most of their money, while protecting their assets. It features plain-English information on the different types of index funds and their advantage over other funds, getting started in index investing, using index funds for asset allocation, understanding returns and risk, diversifying among fund holdings, and applying winning strategies for maximum profit.
ISBN: 9780470465349Publication Date: 2009-01-06
Investing in ETFs for Dummies by
Diversify! Add ETFs to your investment portfolio Whether you are a seasoned investor or you're just getting into the investment game, one thing is certain: you need to diversify! Investing In ETFs For Dummies is a practical, easy-to-use resource that introduces you to the world of exchange-traded funds--and provides you with the knowledge you need to incorporate ETFs into your investment strategy. Discover commodity ETFs, style ETFs, country ETFs, and inverse ETFs, all of which play an important role in this new trading environment. Supplement your knowledge with an understanding of the risks and rewards associated with ETF investments, and consider how ETF investments can complement your current portfolio. Though not as well-known as some other investment options, ETFs are wonderful tools for filling in the gaps in your investment portfolio. These investment options have the power to give you access to markets or investment areas that, otherwise, may be restricted, too expensive, or exceedingly risky--and can open investment doors you may have not yet considered. Understand how to navigate the ETF marketplace with confidence Make informed investment decisions based upon fundamental knowledge about the ETF market Explore the latest ETF products, providers, and strategies to guide you in choosing the right ones for your needs Increase the diversity of your investment portfolio, and bring a new facet of potential to your investment strategy Investing In ETFs For Dummies is a great resource if you're looking to enhance your investment portfolio by participating in the ETF market!
ISBN: 9781119121947Publication Date: 2015-10-09
The Power of Passive Investing by
A practical guide to passive investing Time and again, individual investors discover, all too late, that actively picking stocks is a loser's game. The alternative lies with index funds. This passive form of investing allows you to participate in the markets relatively cheaply while prospering all the more because the money saved on investment expenses stays in your pocket. In his latest book, investment expert Richard Ferri shows you how easy and accessible index investing is. Along the way, he highlights how successful you can be by using this passive approach to allocate funds to stocks, bonds, and other prudent asset classes. Addresses the advantages of index funds over portfolios that are actively managed Offers insights on index-based funds that provide exposure to designated broad markets and don't make bets on individual securities Ferri is also author of the Wiley title: The ETF Book and co-author of The Bogleheads' Guide to Retirement Planning If you're looking for a productive investment approach that won't take all of your time to implement, then The Power of Passive Investing is the book you need to read.
ISBN: 9780470937129Publication Date: 2010-11-04
Databases
- BloombergThe interactive network of Bloomberg Financial Markets offers up-to-date pricing information, history, data, analytics, and multimedia news.
- Morningstar Investment Research CenterAccess Morningstar financial reports, screening, analyst reports and portfolio screening. Use the Help & Education link to access information about this database and online course modules on investing.
- S&P Capital IQ (Standard and Poor's Capital IQ)Statistics and Articles. Includes Bond Guide, Corporation Records, Dividend Record, Earnings Guide, Industry Surveys, Mutual Fund/ETF Reports, Standard & Poor's Register, Stock Guide, and Standard & Poor's Stock Reports.
- Value Line Research CenterOn-line access to Value Line's leading publications covering stocks, mutual funds, options and convertible securities as well as special situation stocks.
Reference Materials
Weiss Ratings' investment research guide to bond and money market mutual funds.Latest issue at the Business Library Reference Desk
Weiss Ratings' investment research guide to exchange-traded fundsLatest issue at the Business Library Reference Desk- Weiss Ratings' investment research guide to stock mutual fundsLatest issue at the Business Library Reference Desk
Web Sites
- Barrons.com: FundsArticles on mutual funds and ETFs
- CEF ConnectInformation source for closed-end funds. Education Center includes: Basics, Types & Strategies and Advanced Topics. Also has daily Prices and screening.
- FINRA.org: Investment FundsEducational articles on mutual funds, ETFs, and various fees involved with them.
- Investment Company Institute (ICI): News & ResourcesLinks to articles, FAQs, glossaries, and more on mutual funds, ETFs, and related topics
- Investment Management Education Alliance (IMEA):Articles on choosing mutual funds
- Investopedia: Mutual Fund EssentialsDefinitions and articles on mutual funds and ETFs
- iSharesThe Education page has insights on selecting and purchasing different types of ETFs
- Khan Academy: Investment vehicles, insurance, and retirementFree online class, the first module is an introduction to mutual funds and ETFs
- State Street Global AdvisorsTutorials on ETFS, from the creators of the exchange-traded fund
Further Reading
For further reading on mutual funds and ETFs, click on the subject links below to search the catalog for books on: