On This Page
- What is a Special Collections Account?
- Registering for a Special Collections Account
- What to do if you forget your Account information
- Visit Frequently Asked Questions about the Special Collections Account
What is a Special Collections Account?
The New York Public Library welcomes all to its special collections. To request access to special collections material, all users will need to create a Special Collections Account.
Account holders can:
- propose research visit dates and request to use materials
- track and review all requests
- save an unlimited amount of requests for later submission
The account is web-based and can be accessed from anywhere with an internet connection. It is separate from your NYPL library card account, and will have its own username and password.
Please contact specialcollections@nypl.org with any questions.
Special Collections Account home page
Registering for a Special Collections Account
Click here to register for a free NYPL Special Collections Account
After reading and accepting selected NYPL policies, you will be prompted to fill out a profile and create a username and password.
Once the form is complete and submitted, you will be directed to the homepage of your Special Collections Account. You can update your personal information and change your password anytime via the My Account menu once logged in.
For additional information, visit our Frequently Asked Questions.
What if you are not sure if you have an Account?
Please contact specialcollections@nypl.org and we can look this up for you.
What if you forget your username?
Please contact specialcollections@nypl.org and we can look this up for you.
What if your forget your password?
On the login page of the Special Collections Account at specialcollections.nypl.org, please click on "Forgot Password?". You may also go directly from this guide to this link to reset your password. Note that the link you are sent will expire after 10 minutes, so please click on it as soon as you receive the email. If you do not receive an email, check your spam folder or contact specialcollections@nypl.org.
Does the Account expire?
Your Special Collections Account will be good for one year from the day you register. After one year, when you try to log in, the Account will ask you to review your information and resubmit your registration to make sure your details are current. Then the Account will renew for another year.
How can I change my information?
If your contact information or details have changed, visit My Account on the top menu at any time to change your user information and password.