NYPL Special Collections Account - User Guide: Contact Staff + Research Centers

Fifth Avenue and 42nd Street
New York, NY 10018

The Special Collections account is currently in use for the following collections at the Stephen A. Schwarzman Building:

• Manuscripts and Archives and NYPL Archives: manuscripts@nypl.org
• Rare Book collection and George Arents Collection: rarebooks@nypl.org
• Henry W. and Albert A. Berg Collection of English and American Literature: berg@nypl.org
• Carl H. Pforzheimer Collection of Shelley and His Circle: pforzheimer@nypl.org
• The Miriam and Ira D. Wallach Division Photography Collection and Print Collection, including the Spencer Collection: photography@nypl.org + prints@nypl.org
• Lionel Pincus and Princess Firyal Map Division: maps@nypl.org
• Dorot Jewish Division: dorotjewish@nypl.org

For additional information about this Research Center and its divisions, please visit Stephen A. Schwarzman Building - Research.

40 Lincoln Center Plaza (entrance at 111 Amsterdam between 64th and 65th)
New York, NY 10023

The Special Collections account is currently in use in the following divisions at the NYPL Library for the Performing Arts:

• Billy Rose Theatre Division: theatre@nypl.org (including selected materials from the Reserve Film and Video Collection)
• Jerome Robbins Dance Division: dance@nypl.org
• Music Division: music@nypl.org
• The Rodgers and Hammerstein Archives of Recorded Sound: recordedsound@nypl.org
• Theatre on Film and Tape Archive: toft@nypl.org

For additional information about this Research Center and its divisions, please visit NYPL Library for the Performing Arts - Research.

515 Malcolm X Boulevard (135th St and Malcolm X Blvd)
New York, NY 10023

The Special Collections account is currently in use in the following divisions at the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture: 

• Manuscripts, Archives and Rare Books: schomburgarchives@nypl.org
• Moving Image and Recorded Sound Division: schomburgaudioMIRS@nypl.org 
• Photographs and Prints Division: schomburgphotography@nypl.org 
• Art and Artifacts Division: schomburgart@nypl.org

For additional information about this Research Center and its divisions, please visit Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture - Research.

New York Public Library for the Performing Arts at Lincoln Center

• Katharine Cornell-Guthrie McClintic Special Collections Reading Room (Serving materials from the Jerome Robbins Dance Division, The Rodgers and Hammerstein Archives of Recorded Sound, Music Division, and Billy Rose Theatre Division)
  • Appointments are recommended but not required; walk-in visitors are welcome.
• Lucille Lortel Screening Room (Serving Theatre on Film and Tape Archive materials)
  • Appointments are recommended but not required; walk-in visitors are welcome.

Stephen A. Schwarzman Building

• Brooke Russell Astor Reading Room (Room 328)
  • Advance appointments are required.
• Carl H. Pforzheimer Collection of Shelley and His Circle Reading Room (Room 319)
  • Advance appointments are required.
• Henry W. and Albert A. Berg Collection Reading Room (Room 320)
  • ​​​​​​​Advance appointments are required.
• Lionel Pincus and Princess Firyal Map Division Reading Room (Room 117)
  • ​​​​​​​Appointments are recommended but not required; walk-in visitors are welcome.
• Miriam and Ira D. Wallach Division Print and Photography Study Room (Room 308)
  • ​​​​​​​Advance appointments are required.

Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture 

• Art and Artifacts Reading Room
  • ​​​​​​​Please contact schomburgart@nypl.org to schedule an appointment.
• Manuscripts, Archives and Rare Books Reading Room
  • ​​​​​​​Advance appointments are required.
• Moving Image and Recorded Sound Reading Room
  • ​​​​​​​Appointments are recommended but not required; walk-in visitors are welcome.
• Photographs and Prints Reading Room
  • ​​​​​​​Advance appointments are required.