Monograms & Signatures
Artist signatures are an important research tool if you are trying to identify someone based on a piece of art. Below is a list of reference works on the monograms and signatures of artists if all you have is a signature or marking for the artist.
This image shows the evolution of James McNeil Whistler's signature. Whistler was an American painter, and his signature became so popular that collectors would bring pieces they had already purchased back to him so he could do the signature again.
Monograms & Indiscernible Signatures
Artists' Monograms and Indiscernible Signatures by
This is the first comprehensive book dealing solely with artists' monograms and signatures that are difficult to identify. This volume includes some 5,200 signatures of 3,700 artists worldwide, with information on nationality and the most up-to-date birth and death dates, and a broad listing of reference sources. With special chapters for monograms and initials; symbols and oriental signatures; Cyrillics; illegible signatures/monograms/initials and Hebraic; alternate surname signatures; and common last name signatures.
Call Number: *R-ART N45 .C374 1991ISBN: 0810824159Publication Date: 1991-09-01
Artists' Monograms and Indiscernible Signatures II by
This second volume contains some 2,100 artists and 3,000 signature examples. In addition to the standard signature entries, the book features sections for monograms and initials, common surname signatures, alternative surname signatures, symbols, and Cyrillic signatures.
Call Number: *R-ART N45 .C375 2007ISBN: 9780810858985Publication Date: 2007-05-30
Artists' Monograms and Indiscernible Signatures III by
This third volume contains more than 1,250 signatures of some 1,225 artists. In addition to the standard signature entries, the book features sections for monograms and initials, common surname signatures, alternative surname signatures, symbols, and Cyrillic signatures.
Call Number: *R-ART N45 .C376 2009ISBN: 9780810863835Publication Date: 2009-02-09
The Classified Directory of Artists' Signatures, Symbols and Monograms by
Signatures, symbols and monograms for American artists and the U.K.
Call Number: *R-ART N45 .C36 1982bxISBN: 0950889318Publication Date: 1987-01-01
Dictionary of Signatures and Monograms of American Artists by
Signatures & monograms of American artists from the colonial period to the mid 20th century. Contents include: signatures & monograms; initials; shapes & symbols; circular shapes; pictorial marks & odd shapes; and undecipherable monograms.
Call Number: *R-ART N45 .F35 1988ISBN: 0932087043Publication Date: 1989-04-01
Signature Books
Abstract Artists by
In this volume, Castagno has collected the signatures and monograms of artists who have spent all or a part of their careers in abstract art--painters, printmakers, sculptors, and photographers worldwide. This book features approximately 2,300 artists with more than 3,900 signature examples of how they sign their works. In addition to the standard signature entries, the book contains sections for monograms and initials, common surname signatures, alternative surname signatures, symbols, and Cyrillic signatures. This book also lists an additional 1,500 artists whose entry bears no signature. All 3,800 artists are listed with the most updated information on nationality, birth, and/or death dates.
Call Number: *R-ART N45 .C37 2007ISBN: 9780810858978Publication Date: 2007-05-30
African, Asian and Middle Eastern Artists by
In this volume, Castagno has collected the signatures and monograms of artists from Africa, Asia, and the Middle East, including signature examples of artists from China, India, Japan, South Africa, Israel, and many other countries. In addition to the standard signature entries, the book contains sections for monograms and initials, common surname signatures, alternative surname signatures, and symbols.
Call Number: *R-ART N45 .C369 2009ISBN: 9780810863576Publication Date: 2008-12-19
American Artists by
Lists 5,100 artists, with nearly 10,000 signature examples with biographical, bibliographical, and auction sources. Includes many important 19th-century artists and notable late 20th-century artists.
Call Number: *R-ART N45 .C37 1989ISBN: 0810822490Publication Date: 1990-03-01
American Artists II by
This second volume contains some 3,500 artists and 4,600 signature examples. In addition to the standard signature entries, the book features sections for monograms and initials, common surname signatures, alternative surname signatures, symbols, Cyrillic signatures, and illegible signatures.
Call Number: *R-ART N45 .C372 2007ISBN: 9780810858954Publication Date: 2007-05-30
Artists As Illustrators by
With more than 14,000 entries of nineteenth- and twentieth-century artists, this book is the most comprehensive international listing of artists as illustrators. The entries include illustrators, sculptors, and fine art artists who have done illustrations for books, magazines, records, and posters.
Call Number: *R-ART NC961.63 .C37 1989ISBN: 0810821680Publication Date: 1989-05-01
Australian, British and Irish Artists by
A directory featuring some 2,625 artists with 3,850 signature examples. In addition to the standard signature entries, the book features sections for monograms and initials, common surname signatures, alternative surname signatures, symbols, and illegible signatures.
Call Number: *R-ART N45 .C377 2009ISBN: 9780810863842Publication Date: 2009-03-02
European Artists by
Lists more than 4,800 European and 400 Australian, South African, and Japanese artists who worked from 1800 to 1990, and offers 9,000 signature examples.
Call Number: *R-ART N45 .C38 1990ISBN: 0810823136Publication Date: 1990-09-01
European Artists II by
This second volume on European artists is a continuation of the identification of artists' signatures, with some 2,100 artists and 3,000 signature examples. In addition to the standard signature entries, the book features sections for monograms and initials, common surname signatures, alternative surname signatures, symbols, Cyrillic Signatures, and illegible signatures.
Call Number: *R-ART N45 .C382 2007ISBN: 9780810858961Publication Date: 2007-05-30
European Artists III by
This third volume features an additional 2,800 artists and signatures. In addition to the standard signature entries, the book features sections for monograms and initials, common surname signatures, alternative surname signatures, and illegible signatures.
Call Number: *R-ART N45 .C383 2009ISBN: 9780810862081Publication Date: 2008-12-19
Jewish Artists by
In this volume, Castagno has collected more than 1,100 signatures and monograms of Jewish artists, as well as signatures of artists whose work reflects Jewish themes. In addition to the standard signature entries found in Castagno's other books, this volume features additional biographical information, providing a more complete profile of the artist and his or her work.
Call Number: *R-ART N45 .C384 2010ISBN: 9780810874213Publication Date: 2010-08-20
Latin American Artists' Signatures and Monograms by
Each entry includes, if applicable, nationality, birth and death dates, key letters to a listing of reference sources, and the most recent auction citings (if any) of the last twenty years. Nearly 4,800 artists and 9,000 signatures.
Call Number: *R-ART N45 .C385 1997ISBN: 0810832933Publication Date: 1998-02-12
Old Masters II by
In this second volume, there are more than 800 artists listed, with more than 1,100 signature examples. In addition, this volume now treats artists from the early 19th century, thereby broadening the time period covered in the first volume.
Call Number: *R-ART N45 .C392 2009ISBN: 9780810863859Publication Date: 2009-01-19
Old Masters Signatures and Monograms, 1400-Born 1800 by
There are 2,700 signature examples of 1,700 artists. Three sections following the main body of this volume offer the researcher easy cross-referencing--monograms and initials, symbols, and alternate names. The appendix includes supplemental signature information on additional artists whose actual signatures were not available, but whose importance could not be omitted.
Call Number: *R-ART N45 .C39 1996ISBN: 9780810830820Publication Date: 1996-05-01
