Exhibition Catalogues
Exhibition catalogues for a gallery show, or museum exhibit can range from a basic checklist of exhibited works to substantial scholarly works examining the represented artist/s. It is important to note that not every exhibition results in a published catalogue, and some may only have a brochure announcing the exhibit.
The Library’s online Research Catalog may be searched using the artist's name and the term "exhibition" (e.g. Louise Bourgeois and Exhibition). Additionally, you may conduct a 'Subject' search for an individual artist. This will provide you with a list of Subject Headings related to that artist (e.g. Bourgeois, Louise -- Exhibition).
To narrow your search, try combining the artist's name with the exhibition venue, like Louise Bourgeois and Max Hutchinson Gallery.
Furthermore, the Library subscribes to several databases that index newspapers and art journals. These databases allow you to search for announcements or reviews of exhibitions pertaining to the artist. Upon locating an article or review that specifies the title of an exhibition, you may search our Catalog or WorldCat for more information.
Please note that not all materials are included in the Library's Catalog. We have Artist & Pamphlet Files that also contain exhibition brochures, catalogs, and press releases.
Listed below are indexes to exhibitions that include lists of artists and their works exhibited chronologically.
Annual Exhibition Records
The Annual and Biennial Exhibition Record of the Whitney Museum of American Art, 1918-1989 by
Annual and biennial exhibition record of the Whitney Museum of American Art, 1918-1989. Incorporating the serial exhibitions of the Whitney Studio Club, 1918-1928, the Whitney Studio Club galleries, 1928-1930, the Whitney Museum of American Art, 1932-1989.
Call Number: *R-ART Desk N6512 .A643 1991ISBN: 0932087124Publication Date: 1991-09-01
The Annual Exhibition Record of the Art Institute of Chicago, 1888-1950 by
Incorporating three annual exhibition series: Annual exhibition of American paintings & sculpture, 1888-1950; Annual exhibition of works by artists of Chicago & vicinity, 1897-1950; Annual exhibition of watercolors by American artists, 1888-1950 (including the international exhibition of water colors, 1921-1943).
Call Number: *R-ART Desk N6510 .F34 1990ISBN: 0932087116Publication Date: 1990-12-01
Annual Exhibition Record of the National Academy of Design, 1901-1950 by
The Annual exhibition record of the National Academy of Design, 1901-1950: incorporating the annual exhibitions, 1901-1950 and the winter exhibitions, 1906-1932.
Call Number: *R-ART Desk N6512 .A645 1990ISBN: 0932087094Publication Date: 1990-06-01
Annual Exhibition Record of the Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts, 1807-1968 by
Annual exhibition record for the Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts. A cumulative record of exhibition catalogues from 1807 to 1968.
Call Number: *R-ART Desk N6505 .A64 1988ISBN: 0932087035Publication Date: 1988-06-01
The Biennial Exhibition Record of the Corcoran Gallery of Art, 1907-1967 by
A published index to the works shown in the Corcoran Gallery's Biennial Exhibitions of Contemporary American Paintings from 1907 through 1967. Listing over 8,578 paintings, the book contains an Index by Artist, Index by Owner, and an Index by Places and Last Names.
Call Number: *R-ART Desk N6510 .B5 1991ISBN: 0932087132Publication Date: 1991-10-01
The Boston Art Club Exhibition Record,1873-1909 by
Provides a history of the Boston Art Club, 1854-1950, by Charles O. Vogel with illustrations, list of exhibitions, and an artist index.
Call Number: *R-ART Desk N6510 .B745 1991ISBN: 0932087183Publication Date: 1991-05-01
National Academy of Design exhibition record, 1826-1860 by
Lists the artists alphabetically and the works chronologically. Gives the artist's address for each year exhibiting.
Call Number: *R-ART Desk N6510 .N38 1943Publication Date: 1943
The National Academy of Design exhibition record, 1861-1900 by
Lists the artists alphabetically and the works chronologically. Gives the artist's address for each year exhibiting.
Call Number: *R-ART Desk N6510 .N38 1973Publication Date: 1973
The Salmagundi Club Painting Exhibition Records 1889 To 1939 by
A guide to the annual exhibition of oil paintings and the annual exhibition and auction sale of pictures.
Call Number: *R-ART Desk N6510 .K37 2008ISBN: 9780979129018Publication Date: 2008-05-01
Salmagundi Club Painting Exhibition Records 1940-1951 and Water Color Exhibition Records 1900-1951 by
Salmagundi Club painting & water color exhibitions.
Call Number: *R-ART Desk N6510 .K373 2009ISBN: 9780979129025Publication Date: 2009-12-09
Indexes to Exhibition Records
Collection of exhibition catalogs by
Photographed catalog cards for exhibition catalogues selected from the holdings of major public, museum, and historical society libraries throughout the U.S. and microfilmed during the 1960s. This volume is a listing, in a single alphabet, of art exhibition catalogs published in the U.S. from the early 19th century to the 1960s. Entries refer to the name of the exhibiting institution, the names of artists exhibited if there are three or fewer, the exhibition date, and the roll and frame numbers needed to locate the catalog on the microfilm held at the AAA. Microfilm reels are available from the AAA through interlibrary loan.
Call Number: *R-ART Z5939 .A73 1979ISBN: 0816102511Publication Date: 1979-06-01
Index of American Print Exhibitions, 1882-1940 by
Index to prints and printmakers represented at the annual salons of leading art societies, at national and international exhibitions, and in the annual publications Fine Prints of the Year (1923–1938) and Fifty Prints of the Year (1925–1944). There is an index of artists, with a listing of works for each name, but unfortunately no title index.
Call Number: MDBF 22-521ISBN: 9780810821392Publication Date: 1988-07-01
Index to American Art Exhibit Catalogues from the Beginning Through the 1876 Centennial Year by
Provides a detailed survey of art exhibited in the U.S. and Canada from 1773 to 1876. Index to 952 catalogs of early American exhibitions not published previously in any other major art exhibition catalog index, including the catalogs of the American Society of Painters in Water Colours held at the National Academy of Design. Entries include title, medium, price, owner, catalog number in the original publication, and any annotations.
Call Number: *R-ART N6507 .Y37 1986ISBN: 0816104409Publication Date: 1986-12-01
Index to art exhibition catalogues on microfiche by
Indexes the microfiche set that is available in the Art Collection, Room 300 under the classmark: *XLC-8
Call Number: 3-MAC 81-467Publication Date: 1976-1977
Modern art exhibitions, 1900-1916; selected catalogue documentation by
A compilation of nearly 900 exhibitions listed. Covers the works of over 400 artists and is organized in chronological order.
Call Number: *R-ART Desk N6490 .G62 1974ISBN: 9783791300665Publication Date: 1974
Paintings and Sculpture in the Collection of the National Academy of Design, 1826-1925 by
This is a fully illustrated catalogue of the Academy's collection of paintings and sculptures.
Call Number: *R-ART Desk N6510 .P25 2004ISBN: 1555950299Publication Date: 2004-08-04
Online Sources
- Pre-1877 Art Exhibition Catalogue Index
The online version of the National Museum of American Art’s Index to American Art Exhibition Catalogues: From the Beginning through the 1876 Centennial Year. The Pre-1877 Art Exhibition Catalogue Index (AECI) contains 136,494 records describing artworks exhibited in the United States and in Canada up through 1876. The Catalogue contains information from 1,057 exhibition catalogs, newspaper articles, and gallery notices.