Books About Artists' Books
The books cited below can be requested within the Prints and Photographs Study Room (308). They may provide key historical moments and concepts by artists, as well as a general overview and introduction to the medium.
Getting Started
Artists' Books by
"The spread of printing in the 16th century severed the relationship between artist and book, but modern developments in technology - such as lithography and desk-top publishing - have enabled this relationship to be restored. This book, which explores the history of artists' involvement with the book format in the 20th century, provides the historical, philosophical and artistic background for practitioners and art historians." "The book considers the pre-history of the artist's book, beginning with the work of Mallarme and Apollinaire, Cubist, Futurist, Dada and Fluxus books; the upsurge of manifesto, serial and conceptual works of the 1960s and 1970s and the growth of a self-conscious artists' books tradition in the 1980s and 1990s. The development of the artists' books are placed in the context of technological changes and movements in the history of modern art." "Comprehensive reference material is provided by a bibliographic listing of over 500 key artists' books, an exhibition chronology, invaluable practical advice for the collector and librarian and an extensive index."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Call Number: MDTT 97-9170ISBN: 9781859281635Publication Date: 1995-11-01
Artists' books in the modern era, 1870-2000 by Call Number: MDTT 02-3712ISBN: 9780500237946Publication Date: 2001Artists Books by Artwork by Stefan Klima.
Call Number: MDTT 99-5479ISBN: 1887123180Publication Date: 1998-05-02
Artists Who Make Books by
A vital survey of 32 internationally recognized artists who make books as part of their creative practice - features 500 images of these rarely seen works. The 'artist's book' has long been an important form of expression, and Artists Who Make Books showcases 32 internationally recognized artists who have integrated book production into their larger creative practice. This volume features a selection of books -- many rarely seen -- by every artist included, an accompanying text providing further context, and over 500 illustrations of covers and interior spreads. Insightful interviews with Tauba Auerbach, Paul Chan, and Walther König, and in-depth essays by Benjamin H. D. Buchloh and Lynda Morris round out this illuminating survey.
Call Number: JQG 18-68ISBN: 9780714872643Publication Date: 2017-10-23
Book Art Object by
Book art object is a record of the first biennial Codex Book Fair and Symposium: The Fate of the Art,Berkeley, California, 2007. The event showcased contemporary artist books and fine press and fine art editions produced by some of the worlds most esteemed printers, designers, book artists, and artisans.The book includes transcripts of the following lectures: Sarah Bodman, Research Fellow, Centre for Fine Print Research, UWE, Bristol: The hybrid lexicon: an overview of contemporary artists publishing in the UK; Robert Bringhurst, poet, translator, and typographer: Spiritual geometry: the book as a work of art; and Felipe Ehrenberg, artist, Mexican diplomat, former publisher of the Beau Geste Press, London: Cutting and pasting: metaphor of life. The volume is superbly illustrated in full color throughout.
Call Number: MDTT+ 11-5146ISBN: 9780981791401Publication Date: 2010-11-30
Book Art Object 2 by
The most ambitious and diverse survey of the book arts published to date, Book Art Object 2 serves as a record of the third biennial Codex Book Fair and Symposium, "The Fate of the Art," held in Berkeley, California in 2011. The event showcased contemporary artist books, and fine press and fine art editions produced by the world's most esteemed printers, designers, book artists, and artisans.In addition to showcasing 300 projects by 140 artists/printers, Book Art Object 2 also presents a selection of the papers delivered at the 2009 and 2011 symposium lectures:Paul van Capelleveen, The National Library of the Netherlands: Changing Books: Art and the Contemporary Dutch Private Press Book Richard Ovenden, Keeper of Special Collections and Associate Director, Bodleian Library, Oxford: Book Arts in the 21st Century Research Library Juan Nicanor Pascoe, Proprietor, Taller Martin Pescador, Michoacán: Fine Printing in Mexico: Taller Martin Pescador, Michoacán Antoine Coron, Head of Special Collections, Bibliothèque Nationale de France: Publishing Artists' Books in France Today Ron King, artist, History and Collaboration: Circle Press Also presented are 'dispatches' from renowned artists, printers, and curators including Johannes Strugalla and Ulrike Stoltz of Germany; Jason Dewinetz of Canada; Des Cowley of New Zealand; Sarah Bodmen and Tom Sowden of United Kingdom; and Sandro Berra of Italy.
Call Number: MDTT+ 14-7846ISBN: 9780911221503Publication Date: 2013-11-13
A Century of Artists Books by
Published to accompany the 1994 exhibition at The Museum of Modern Art, New York, this book constitutes the most extensive survey of modern illustrated books to be offered in many years. Work by artists from Pierre Bonnard to Barbara Kruger and writers from Guillaume Apollinarie to Susan Sontag. An importnt reference for collectors and connoisseurs. Includes notable works by Marc Chagall, Henri Matisse, and Pablo Picasso.
Call Number: MDT 95-926ISBN: 0870701517Publication Date: 2002-07-02
The Century of Artists' Books by Call Number: MDTT 96-15829ISBN: 1887123016Publication Date: 1995-07-02
The Cutting Edge of Reading by
Calling themselves critics rather than art historians, the Huberts evince an astonishingly vast familiarity with the medium of artists' books, which they survey in the present volume. The works are discussed in groups according to theme and/or format and include works by an international group of ar
Call Number: MDTT 99-9876ISBN: 1887123210Publication Date: 1999-04-02
Diamond leaves: artist books from around the world by Call Number: MDTT+ 16-4307ISBN: 9787549572083Publication Date: 2015
Freedom of the Presses by
The artist's book as activist tactic: a toolkit Freedom of the Presses is at once a textbook and a toolbox for using artists' books and creative publications to further community engagement and social justice projects. Far from being a staid survey of an art historical practice, Freedom of the Presses intervenes in an ongoing discussion about art and activism in the present day by considering the place of the art book in the 21st century. The publisher, Booklyn, has been involved in this conversation since 1999, when a group of six artists decided to band together to promote contemporary artists' books and publications. Booklyn's focus has always been voracious, encompassing street art, punk and activist culture alongside more conventional artists' books. This restless energy is present in Freedom of the Presses, which brings together a provocative mix of humorous, intimate and scholarly writing in order to expand how we think about the concept, content, design, production and distribution of artists' and activists' publications today. Aimed at a global community of librarians, publishers and readers, it offers models of how to reimagine contemporary artists' bookmaking as a socially engaged, political practice. With essays by Kurt Allerslev, Tia Blassingame, Sarah Kirk Hanley, FLY-O, Karen Eliot, Richard J. Lee, Florencia San Mart n, Ganzeer, Suzy Taraba, Stephen Dupont, Bridget Elmer, Janelle Rebel, Marshall Weber, Anton Wurth, Xu Bing, Deborah Ultan and Aaron Sinift, Freedom of the Presses enacts the dialogue it calls for, inviting artists and activists to weigh in on the place of artists' books in the most pressing social, political and cultural issues of our time.
Call Number: MDTT 20-909ISBN: 9780692166789Publication Date: 2019-01-22
Book Arts by
This collection in the popular Masters series, chosen and introduced by one of the world's top curators, offers field-defining work from 43 master book artists. The selections demonstrate conceptual, aesthetic, and technical excellence, as well as incredible beauty. Brief comments from the artists about their work, careers, and philosophies accompany the stunning images of their most innovative and technically accomplished book art achievements.
Call Number: MDTT 14-4926ISBN: 9781600594977Publication Date: 2011-04-05
No Longer Innocent by
This important history of the artist's book, a flourishing form which over the years has often been greeted with confusion by critics, collectors, historians and artists, aims to spell out its role in contemporary art and to claim for it a vital and heretofore unacknowledged status since the blossoming of the artform in the 1970s. Renowned scholar and curator Betty Bright takes an inclusive view of the varied field in order to redress its marginalization, identifying three distinct types: the fine press book, the deluxe book, and the bookwork. She covers crucial supporters of the form, like New York's Center for Book Arts, Franklin Furnace, and the Visual Studies Workshop Press in Rochester, New York, as well as key organizations and figures in Chicago, Atlanta, San Francisco and Los Angeles. Bright examines how artist's books have responded to specific movements, such as Pop, Fluxus and Conceptualism, and how the book arts' own mini-art world of the 1970s was shaped by seminal exhibitions, fledgling nonprofit organizations and collectors.
Call Number: MDTT 06-3324ISBN: 1887123717Publication Date: 2005-07-15
The Photobook: a History - Volume I-3 by
While the history of photography is a well-established canon, much less critical attention has been directed at the phenomenon of the photobook, which for many photographers is perhaps the most significant vehicle for the display of their work and the communication of their vision to a mass audience. In the first of two volumes, both co-edited by Martin Parr and Gerry Badger, The Photobookprovides a comprehensive overview of the development of the photobook: from its inception at the dawn of photography in the early nineteenth century through to the radical Japanese photobooks of the 1960s and 70s, by way of the Modernist and propaganda books of the 1930s and 40s. The selection of photographers compiled by Badger and Parr challenges the popular canon, and their survey of the history of the photobook reveals a secret web of influence and inter-relationships between photographers and photographic movements around the world. The book is divided into a series of thematic and broadly chronological chapters; each features a general introductory text that offers background information and highlights the dominant political and artistic influences on the photobook in the relevant period, followed by more detailed discussion of the individual photobooks. The chapter texts are followed by spreads and images from over 200 books, which provide the central means of telling the history of the photobook. Assimilated diligently by Parr and Badger, these illustrations show around 200 of the most artistically and culturally important photobooks featuring the cover or jacket and a selection of spreads.
Call Number: *R-Photo 05-213ISBN: 9780714842851Publication Date: 2004-12-01
Journals
Some are available online and in print: