Internet Resources
The resources noted below provide numerous information on artists’ books. Not only are some of these organizations collectors, but also, publishers, educators, and associations that provide: exhibitions, programming, residencies and workshops. These include libraries,archives, museums, galleries and presses.
Image: Bad Conez by Aubrey Theobald. MEMZ+ (Theobald) 19-3195. Photographed by Christian Erroi.
Other Libraries and Institutions
- Booklyn Artists Alliance Booklyn’s mission is to promote artists’ books as art and research material and to assist artists and organizations in documenting, exhibiting, and distributing their artwork and archives.
- The Center for Book Arts The Center for Book Arts promotes active explorations of both contemporary and traditional artistic practices related to the book as an art object. The Center seeks to facilitate communication between the book arts community and the larger spheres of contemporary visual and literary arts, while being a model organization locally, nationally, and internationally within the field.
- Central Booking CENTRAL BOOKING is a non-traditional gallery that highlights the breadth of book art while continuing a firm exhibition program exploring the convergence of art and science. We are committed to organizing events that are often involved with the environment and social justice issues.
- Franklin Furnace Artists' Books Collection Franklin Furnace's mission is to present, preserve, interpret, proselytize and advocate on behalf of avant-garde art, especially forms that may be vulnerable due to institutional neglect, cultural bias, their ephemeral nature, or politically unpopular content. Franklin Furnace is dedicated to serving artists by providing both physical and virtual venues for the presentation of time-based art, including but not limited to artists' books and periodicals, installation art, performance art, and unforeseen contemporary avant-garde artforms; and to undertake other activities related to these purposes. Franklin Furnace is committed to serving emerging artists; to assuming an aggressive pedagogical stance with regard to the value of avant-garde art to life; and to fostering artists' zeal to broadcast ideas.
- Full Tilt Bookbinding Classes Hand bookbinding requires technique, skill and practice, as well as a few specific hand tools. Full Tilt classes address all of these by focusing on one particular structure, incrementally. The needs of the present-day bookbinder are considered in conjunction with historical aspects of the book. Classes are accessible to all levels of experience.
- Granary Books For thirty-five years, Granary Books has brought together writers, artists, and bookmakers to investigate verbal/visual relations in the time-honored spirit of independent publishing. Granary’s mission—to produce, promote, document, and theorize new works exploring the intersection of word, image, and page—has earned the Press a reputation as one of the most unique and significant small publishers operating today.
- Guild of Bookworkers, New York Chapter The Guild of Book Workers promotes interest in and awareness of the tradition of the book and paper arts by maintaining high standards of workmanship, hosting educational opportunities, and sponsoring exhibits.
- Intima Press Mindy Belloff of Intima Press creates Fine Press book editions in the heart of New York City. As the only Private Press in Manhattan, established for over 15 years on Union Square, the Press is committed to traditions of high art and the by-hand craft of letterpress printing, fine artist's books, unique bindings, poetic broadside editions, and elegant designs and typography.
- Printed Matter, Inc. Welcome to Printed Matter, Inc., the world’s leading non-profit organization dedicated to the dissemination, understanding and appreciation of artists’ books.
- Smithsonian Libraries Artists' Books The Smithsonian Libraries’ collection of artists’ books spans numerous formats, styles, and countries, and the works are available to researchers for study and inspiration.
- Thomas J. Watson Library, The Metropolitan Museum of Art The artists' publications study collection supports research and scholarship on these important works. This collection, international in scope, includes artists' books, zines, bookworks, artist magazines, pamphlets, artists' files, reference books, dealer catalogs, pricelists, journals, and all forms of artists' publishing. Books are acquired through gift and purchase.
- Visual Studies Workshop Visual Studies Workshop’s mission is to support makers and interpreters of images through education, publications, exhibitions, and collections.
- Women's Studio Workshop Our mission is to operate and maintain an artists’ workspace that encourages the voice and vision of individual women artists, provides professional opportunities for artists at various stages of their careers, and promotes programs designed to stimulate public involvement, awareness, and support for the visual arts.
Associations & Organizations
- ABC [Artists’ Books Cooperative] ABC [Artists’ Books Cooperative] is an international group of artists seeking to create, engage, and communicate on issues concerning self-publishing. Group interactions are centered on book fairs, exhibitions, and our online forum, where we discuss all aspects of making and proliferating work.
- American Printing History Association (APHA) The American Printing History Association (APHA) is a membership organization that encourages the study of the history of printing and related arts and crafts, including calligraphy, typefounding, typography, papermaking, bookbinding, illustration, and publishing.
- The Artist Book Foundation The Artist Book Foundation is dedicated to documenting and celebrating the lives and work of artists through the richest visual presentations and most informed narratives. Preserving and sharing this artistic heritage enriches our communities and provides inspiration for current and future generations.
- Asheville Bookworks An incubator for creative breakthrough, fundamentally focused on the artists’ book and print arts.
- The College Book Art Association The College Book Art Association is a non-profit organization fundamentally committed to the teaching of book arts at the college and university level, while supporting such education at all levels, concerned with both the practice and the analysis of the medium.
- Designer Bookbinders Designer Bookbinders is one of the foremost societies devoted to the craft of fine bookbinding.
- Fine Press Book Association The Fine Press Book Association (FPBA) is an international organization promoting the creation, study, and collection of contemporary book arts that aspire to the highest standards of craft and design.
- Guild of Book Workers The Guild of Book Workers promotes interest in and awareness of the tradition of the book and paper arts by maintaining high standards of workmanship, hosting educational opportunities, and sponsoring exhibits.
- International Association of Hand Papermakers & Paper Artists (IAPMA) The International Association of Hand Papermakers and Paper Artists (IAPMA) is the world leading organisation for paper artists.
- Minnesota Center for Book Arts We celebrate the book as a vibrant contemporary art form that takes many shapes. Our mission is to lead the advancement of the book as an evolving art form.
- Philadelphia Center for the Book Drawing on the rich cultural traditions of Philadelphia, the Philadelphia Center for the Book serves as a catalyst to advance the book as a vital contemporary art form, connecting the diverse community of institutions and individuals whose passion is books.
- San Francisco Center for the Book The San Francisco Center for the Book is a center of inspiration for the book arts world, featuring the art & craft of letterpress printing, bookbinding, and artists bookmaking.
- Society of Book Binders Dedicated to traditional and contemporary bookbinding and to the preservation and conservation of the printed and written word.
Online Resources
- Artists Books Online Artists' Books Online is designed to promote critical engagement with artists books and to provide access to a digital repository of metadata, scans, and commentary. The project serves several different communities: artists, scholars and critics, librarians and curators, and interested readers. ABsOnline operates as an online collection with curatorial guidelines established by an advisory board of professionals.
- Book Arts Web This is the home of the Book Arts Web which features links to a large selection of book arts related sites on the web, including educational opportunities, professional organizations, tutorials, reference materials, and galleries with images.
- Bookbinding Now Bookbinding Now is a community based biweekly audio series addressing all aspects of the book.
- Directory of Artists' Books Collections This directory is being compiled to increase awareness of artists' books collections. It currently contains collections primarily in the United States and Canada.
- Free For All An exhibition of artists' books for you to download and assemble. Eight artists give you their work, absolutely free. Print them, make them, and spread them around.
- Science and the Artist's Book Science and the Artist's Book is an exhibition which explores links between scientific and artistic creativity through the book format.
- Zines at the New York Public Library The guide presents an overview of zines in NYPL's collection, including how to search for and request zines.
Conferences & Fairs
- American Printing History Association (APHA) Conference The American Printing History Association (APHA) is a membership organization that encourages the study of the history of printing and related arts and crafts, including calligraphy, typefounding, typography, papermaking, bookbinding, illustration, and publishing.
- Booklyn AB/Z Fair AB/Z Fair, a dynamic Manhattan-based book fair of pioneering contemporary creative publishing from A(rtists’) B(ooks) to Z(ines).
- CODEX International Book Fair Its purpose was to create an environment for promoting the book as a work of art. They accomplished this by bringing together the Best of the Best book artists and fine press printers from around the world to share their work, explore new and old concepts, and to start an on-going conversation about the fate and future of the book as an essential art form.
- College Book Art Association Conference The College Book Art Association is a non-profit organization fundamentally committed to the teaching of book arts at the college and university level, while supporting such education at all levels, concerned with both the practice and the analysis of the medium.
- Editions|Artists' Book Fair Editions/Artists’ Books Fair has been New York’s premier showcase for the discovery of new and contemporary prints, multiples, and artists’ books for over 20 years now.
- Manhattan Fine Press Book Fair The Manhattan Fine Press Book Fair is an annual one day fair that takes place in early March. It is organized as part of the larger NY Paper and Ephemera Fair, or “Shadow Fair,” that coincides with the NY Antiquarian Book Fair.
- Printed Matter Art Book Fairs Printed Matter Art Book Fairs are among the leading international gatherings for the distribution of artists’ books, celebrating the full breadth of the art publishing community.