How Do I Convince the Judges to Vote for Me : A Primer on Logic and Rhetoric
Successful debaters are not simply blessed with a natural talent for oratory. They rely upon rhetoric, the study of principles and rules to be followed by a speaker striving for eloquence. A number of books on ancient and modern rhetoric will help you become confident and compelling.
In addition to being persuasive, your arguments must be logical. If the conclusion of your argument is firmly supported by your premises, you are less likely to confuse the judge. Recognizing logical fallacies that will be used against you by your opponent will put you in control of the round. Most debate cases can benefit from a well-placed quote. Take a look at the Quotes box to find one suitable for your purpose. Reading great speeches is a brilliant way to develop your own public speaking abilities. Classic Speeches E-resources will provide you with instant access to a number of brilliant speeches and debates of major historical significance.
Rhetoric
How to Win an Argument by Timeless techniques of effective public speaking from ancient Rome's greatest orator. How to Win an Argument gathers the rhetorical wisdom of Cicero, ancient Rome's greatest orator, from across his works and combines it with passages from his legal and political speeches to show his powerful techniques in action.
Rhetoric by In this Very Short Introduction, Richard Toye explores the purpose of rhetoric. Rather than presenting a defence of it, he considers it as the foundation-stone of civil society, and an essential part of any democratic process. Using wide-ranging examples from Ancient Greece, medieval Islamicpreaching, and modern cinema, Toye considers why we should all have an appreciation of the art of rhetoric.
Thank You for Arguing, Third Edition by A master class in the art of persuasion, as taught by professors ranging from Bart Simpson to Winston Churchill, newly revised and updated. The time-tested secrets taught in this book include Cicero's three-step strategy for moving an audience to action, and Honest Abe's Shameless Trick for lowering an audience's expectations.
The Art of Public Speaking by Call Number: 808.51 CA pioneer in the field of self-help, Dale Carnegie distilled his experiences as a salesman and lecturer in his first guide to successful speech-making, The Art of Public Speaking. This predecessor to his bestseller, How to Win Friends and Influence People, was co-written with J. B. Esenwein.
Encyclopedia of Rhetoric by The Encyclopedia surveys basic concepts (speaker, style and audience); elements; genres; terms (fallacies, figures of speech); and the rhetoric of non-Western cultures and cultural movements. It covers rhetoric as the art of proof and persuasion; as the language of public speech and communication; and as a theoretical approach and critical tool used in the study of literature, art, and culture at large, including new forms of communication such as the internet.
Quotation E-Resources
Oxford Dictionary of Humorous Quotations ( 5 ed)
Oxford Essential Quotations ( 6 ed. )
Oxford Dictionary of Political Quotations ( 4 ed)
Oxford Dictionary of American Quotations ( 2 ed)
Oxford Dictionary of Quotations (8 ed)
Bloomsbury Thematic Dictionary of Quotations
Bloomsbury Biographical Dictionary of Quotations
Logic of Your Argument
Being Logical by A mastery of logic begins with an understanding of right reasoning–and encompasses a grasp of the close kinship between logical thought and logical expression, a knowledge of the basic terms of argument, and a familiarity with the pitfalls of illogical thinking.
Logic: a Very Short Introduction by Logic is often perceived as having little to do with the rest of philosophy, and even less to do with real life. In this lively and accessible introduction, Graham Priest shows how wrong this conception is.
Mastering Logical Fallacies by Call Number: 165 W"If I have learned anything in ten years of formal debating, it is that arguments are no different: without a good understanding of the rules and tactics, you are likely to do poorly and be beaten."--HENRY ZHANG, President of the Yale Debate Association Your argument is valid and you know it; yet once again you find yourself leaving a debate feeling defeated and embarrassed. The matter is only made worse when you realize that your defeat came at the hands of someone's abuse of logic--and that with the right skills you could have won the argument.
An Illustrated Book of Bad Arguments by Call Number: 168 A"A flawless compendium of flaws." --Alice Roberts, PhD, anatomist, writer, and presenter of The Incredible Human Journey The antidote to fuzzy thinking, with furry animals! Have you read (or stumbled into) one too many irrational online debates? Ali Almossawi certainly had, so he wrote An Illustrated Book of Bad Arguments! This handy guide is here to bring the internet age a much-needed dose of old-school logic (really old-school, a la Aristotle).
Bad Arguments by Call Number: 165 BA timely and accessible guide to 100 of the most infamous logical fallacies in Western philosophy, helping readers avoid and detect false assumptions and faulty reasoning You'll love this book or you'll hate it. So, you're either with us or against us. And if you're against us then you hate books. No true intellectual would hate this book.
Classic Speeches E-Resources
American Heritage Book of Great American Speeches for Young People by When PatrickHenry declared, "Give me liberty, or give me death!", when MartinLuther King Jr. said, "I have a dream", Americans listened and were profoundly affected.
Give Me Liberty by "Give me liberty," demanded Patrick Henry, "or give me death!" Henry's words continue to echo in American history and that quote, and the speech it comes from, remains one of the two or three known to almost every American. The other speeches that have become part of our American collective consciousness all have one theme in common: liberty. These feats of oration seem to trace the evolution of America's definition of liberty, and to whom it applies.
Chambers Book of Great Speeches Book by The Chambers Book of Great Speeches is the most comprehensive guide available to the inspired and inspiring speeches that have shaped the world we live in. There are over 250 speakers covered, from Bella Abzug to Emile Zola. Each speaker is introduced with a brief biography setting them in context. Each speech also has an introduction explaining its setting, and is accompanied by marginal notes which fill in any background information. The speeches themselves are international in scope and stretch throughout world history, from ancient times through to twenty-first century orators such as Barack Obama, Steve Jobs and Lord Coe.
- HathiTrust
HathiTrust database contains the entire text of Lincoln-Douglas debate, and volumes of other famous speeches.
