Defining the Terms of Your Debate Is Crucial to Winning a Case
Debates tend to work best when both sides have a clear understanding of all terms in the resolution. If your definitions are questioned, or you don't agree with your opponents definitions, you should defend your position with authoritative reference sources. Many debates focus on the words explicitly stated in the resolution. However, understanding philosophical theories behind various abstract concepts, such as "justice," "freedom" and "fairness," is crucial to winning a debate. Below you will find reference sources with authoritative definitions and introductory guides to popular debate subjects. For systematic study of debate vocabulary, read a number of introductory guides on this page.
Have a Question About our Resources ?
Very Short Introductions to Key Debate Subjects
- Very Short IntroductionsThe following titles in the Very Short Introductions provide essential background knowledge for all debaters:
Economics, Democracy, Free Speech, Criminal Justice, American Immigration, American Political Parties and Elections, Education, Ethics, BRICCS, International Security, Kant, Marx, International Migration, Political Philosophy, Objectivity, Poverty, US Supreme Court, Socialism, Utilitarianism
Extinction by Call Number: 576.84 WDebaters are very found of claiming a particular occurence to be an extinction level event. To define, support, or debunk any clams related to extinction, read this volume.
American Foreign Relations by Our role and mission in the world is frequently debated under a great number of topics. Essential reading for Policy and Public Forum Debaters.
Oxford Handbooks For Debaters
- Oxford Handbooks OnlineOffering in- depth scholarly explorations of subjects useful to the debaters, this collection features titles such as Oxford Handbook of Political Institutions and Oxford Handbook of Energy Politics, Oxford Handbook of Global Health Politics, Oxford Handbook of Ethical Theory, Oxford Handbook for Public Choice, Oxford Handbook of Practical Ethics, Oxford Handbook of the Economics of Poverty, and Oxford Handbook of Responsibility to Protect
National and Local Leagues and Organizations
Reference Resources with Authoritative Definitions of Terms
- Oxford English Dictionary
The online version of the Oxford English Dictionary contains all work to date of the third edition, reflecting daily updates and revisions. Also includes the full-text of the second edition, and a historical thesaurus. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Credo ReferenceCredo provides students with definitions from multiple scholarly sources, overview pages, and a unique visual map of related concepts. Search results can be easily sorted by multiple criteria, such as date and length. Credo Reference contains several titles from the Big Ideas SImply Explained series. Don't forget to watch visual mini tutorials, packed with useful research tips.
- Oxford Reference OnlineThe following reference works in Oxford Reference Online are particularly useful for finding definitions commonly used in all forms of debate: Concise Oxford Dictionary of Politics and International Relations, Oxford Companion to American Politics, Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy, Continuum Encyclopedia of British Philosophy
- American Government
Covers the organization and key features of the American political system. Material is divided into general overviews (Topics) and explorations of issues (Perspectives), supported with articles, images, speeches, and other documentation. **Patrons should read the Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Gale eBooks
Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) is an online library of reference titles for multi-disciplinary research, including texts related to American and world history, biography, health, arts, business, travel, religion, and multicultural studies. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Want to figure out the difference between Utopianism and Utilitarianism ?
It's essential to compare definitions of all terms in a couple of different resources. For example, your can look at the definition of utilitarianism in Continuum Encyclopedia of British Philosophy and compare it to the one found in Gale Encyclopedia of Philosophy. For a more substantial overview of Utilitarianism, read Utilitarianism: A Very Short Introduction. To see how utilitarianism compares to other ethical theories, read Ethics by Peter Cave or Ethics 101 by Brian Boone.To figure out how Utilitarianism compares to Utopianism, read Utopianism: A Very Short Introduction. Still wondering if utilitarianism is a good framework for your case? Read Utilitarianism as a Criterion for State Action in Oxford Handbook of Public Choice, Vol 1.
To further advance your understanding of utilitarianism, utopianism, or any other complex concept, use Online Journals, Newspapers,Periodicals and Scholarly E-Books.
Encyclopedia of PhilosophySince 1967, the Encyclopedia of Philosophy, described by Booklist as the best and most comprehensive English-language reference source for philosophy, has been the cornerstone of the philosophy reference shelf. Lauded for its clear and accessible presentation of wide-ranging philosophical subjects, the Encyclopedia has earned its place as a first-stop resource for general readers, students and educators.
Ethics 101 by Ethics 101 offers an exciting look into the history of moral principles that dictate human behavior. Unlike traditional textbooks that overwhelm, this easy-to-read guide presents the key concepts of ethics in fun, straightforward lessons and exercises featuring only the most important facts, theories, and ideas.
Philosophy 101 by Discover the world's greatest thinkers and their groundbreaking notions! Too often, textbooks turn the noteworthy theories, principles, and figures of philosophy into tedious discourse that even Plato would reject. Philosophy 101 cuts out the boring details and exhausting philosophical methodology, and instead, gives you a lesson in philosophy that keeps you engaged as you explore the fascinating history of human thought and inquisition.
Finding Online Journals, Newspapers, Periodicals and Scholarly E-Books
The Find E-Journals and E-Books by Title Page is the best place to locate journals in electronic format and scholarly e-books.
- Searching and Browsing: This page allows you to search by:
- Title or ISSN/ISBN
- By journals only, books only, or both
- You can also browse by letter or subject
- Searching for Periodicals: Although the title of the page says "journals" this page will help you find electronic versions of journals, newspapers, and other periodicals. When you find the title of the serial you are looking for the description will display the following:
- The date coverage
- The database the serial is in (click on the database name to access the serial)
- Whether the database is available remotely or onsite only
- Searching for Scholarly E-Books
- If you are looking for books by scholarly publishers or text books this is the place to do it. Many of these books you will not find in NYPL's other e-book applications, such as Simply-E, Overdrive or 3M because they are part of collections specifically curated for different research topics.
Need an alternative primer to subject ? Try Beginners Guide Series
Ethics by Should we aim to maximize happiness? Are there characteristics that we should foster within ourselves? Why is it important to act morally? From the ancient Greeks to Sartre, from utilitarianism to the categorical imperative, Ethics: A Beginner's Guide presents this vital topic of philosophy via its most influential thinkers and theories.
Economics by Markets, models, mechanisms and monopolies... most of us understand that economics is important, but what exactly is it - and what do economists do? In this fresh and engaging introduction, Oxford University's James Forder skilfully presents the key concepts crucial to mastering the subject.
Oil by World acclaimed scientist Vaclav Smil reveals everything there is to know about nature's most sought-after resource. Without oil, there would be no globalisation, no plastic, little transport, and a global political landscape that few would recognise. It is the lifeblood of the modern world, and humanity's dependence upon it looks set to continue for decades to come.
What Every Debater Needs to Know
A number of titles in What Everyone Needs to Know , another excellent series from Oxford, can be of great help to all debaters.
Citizenship by Call Number: 323.6 SAlmost everyone has citizenship, and yet it has emerged as one of the most hotly contested issues of contemporary politics.
The Opioid Epidemic by Call Number: 362.2909 OThe opioid epidemic is responsible for longest sustained decline in U.S. life expectancy since the time of World War I and the Great Influenza.
The Israeli-Palestinian Conflict by Call Number: 956.04 WCovering the conflict from its nineteenth-century origins to the latest developments of the twenty-first century, this book explains the key events, examines the core issues, and presents the competing claims and narratives of both sides.
Polarization by Call Number: 306.2097 MWhile the current political climate seems to suggest that extreme views are becoming more popular, McCarty also argues that, contrary to popular belief, the 2016 election was a natural outgrowth of 40 years of polarized politics, rather than a significant break with the past.
