Database Research for Debaters
After you defined your terms and acquired a basic understanding of the topic, use electronic databases to find evidence that supports your contentions. Electronic databases contain highly selective academic content, organized for rapid search and retrieval. While evidence in support of your contentions can be found in all databases, note that you might need to visit the library to access some of our databases. A round icon with a lion to the right of the database title indicates the fact that this database can only be accessed at the library. All databases with blue house icon next to the title, can be remotely accessed with you library card. All databases have a section of helpful research tips. To keep track of your research, or to share some articles with you team members, you can create database login credentials.
- CQ Press LibraryCQ Press Library One of special value for debaters. This database contains comprehensive reports on a variety of policy issues. In addition to Pro and Con, provided by the experts in the field, reports contains statistical analysis, latest legislative issues associated with the subjects and cross-references to related reports. It contains resources on American government, current affairs, history, politics, public policy, and social science data analysis.CQ Press Library includes access to CQ Almanac, CQ Researcher Plus Archive, CQ Weekly, Political Handbook of the World, and Politics in America. Trace the history of public policy issues, analyze Congress' legislation and membership, review political profiles for over 200 countries, and more.
- ProQuest Congressional Publications (1789 - present)It is self-evident that Congressional Debaters must be familiar with Congressional Publications. All debaters will benefit from Congressional Publication featured topics , perpetually used in all forms of debate. Featured topics ofteninclude war , nuclear energy, space exploration, terrorism, and human rights.
- United Nations iLibrary
The United Nations iLibrary presents a large and growing number of publications across a broad range of UN programs. It comprises not only core sales publications including dozens of statistical compilations, but also more thematic treatments of drug problems, terrorism, climate change, human rights and gender issues, formal reports from its programs and funds as well as a growing archive of Official Records. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Articles & Databases
Scholarly E-Books and E-Text Books
These online collections provide access to thousands of scholarly e-books and text books across all disciplines and in multiple languages.
- Cambridge Core
Access to the full text of over 500 books published by Cambridge University Press and covering the humanities, social and natural sciences, medicine, and English language teaching. Please note: NYPL has access to content published beginning in 2015. All other titles provide access to tables of contents and indices only. Formerly known as Cambridge Books Online (CBO). **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Oxford Handbooks Online
The full collection of Oxford Handbook series, which provides peer-reviewed research articles from scholars in the field of archaeology, business & management, classical studies, criminology & criminal justice, economics & finance, history, law, linguistics, literature, music, philosophy, political science, psychology, and religion. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Oxford Scholarly Editions Online
OSEO provides an interlinked collection of authoritative Oxford editions of major works from the humanities. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Brill Online Books and Journals
Provides full-text access to scholarly journals and book-length scholarship in the humanities and social sciences. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Sage Knowledge
The full text and full catalog of Sage Publishing's social science ebook platform. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to over 500 peer-reviewed scholarly journals and top quality book-length scholarship in the humanities and social sciences. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- ACLS Humanities E-Book Project
Provides online access to a fully searchable collection of high-quality books in the Humanities, recommended and reviewed by scholars. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Databases with Remote Access
- Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society
Covers a variety of contemporary debated subjects to explore different viewpoints and develop critical thinking skills. Material is divided into an alphabetical list of subjects (Topics) and concepts divided into categories (Perspectives), supported with articles, images, speeches, and other documentation. A good companion to Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
Opposing Viewpoints offers material to support differing views and help students develop critical thinking skills on thousands of current social topics in the forms of primary source documents, statistics, websites and multimedia. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Academic OneFile
This article database includes full-text and abstracts of scholarly, trade, and general-interest periodicals covering topics in the areas of current events, general sciences and technology, social sciences, arts, and humanities. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Academic Search Premier
A multi-disciplinary database of more than 4,600 magazines and journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full-text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for 8,470 journals. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- ACLS Humanities E-Book Project
Provides online access to a fully searchable collection of high-quality books in the Humanities, recommended and reviewed by scholars. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- ACLU American Civil Liberties Union Papers 1912-1995
This archive includes more than 2 million pages of primary resource materials from the records of the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU). The records focus on civil rights, race, gender, and issues relating to the U.S. Supreme Court. The collection includes: legal briefs, newspapers, internal memoranda, client correspondence, and committee reports. Topics covered include: the rise of the Ku Klux Clan, the Civil Rights movement, and ACLU's involvement in the Vietnam War. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- African American Experience This link opens in a new window
Full-text digital resource exploring the history and culture of African Americans, as well as the greater Black Diaspora. Great resource for middle school, high school, and undergraduate users. Browse by type of content and by era. **Patrons should read the Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- American Government
Covers the organization and key features of the American political system. Material is divided into general overviews (Topics) and explorations of issues (Perspectives), supported with articles, images, speeches, and other documentation. **Patrons should read the Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- American Indian Experience
Full-text digital resource exploring the history and culture of American Indians. Ideal resource for middle school, high school, and undergraduate research on American Indian history. Fully searchable, or browsable by era, tribe, state, and region. **Patrons should read the Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Cambridge Core
Access to the full text of over 500 books published by Cambridge University Press and covering the humanities, social and natural sciences, medicine, and English language teaching. Please note: NYPL has access to content published beginning in 2015. All other titles provide access to tables of contents and indices only. Formerly known as Cambridge Books Online (CBO). **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Credo Reference
Provides full-text online access to hundreds of multidisciplinary reference book collections, including art, history, law, medicine, psychology, technology, bilingual dictionaries and encyclopedias. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Crime, Punishment, and Popular Culture
This digital archive contains over 2 million pages of primary resource materials that present a broad history of crime in the 19th Century, through manuscripts, books, broadsheets, and periodicals. During this time period, crime and criminals were followed intensely in the newspapers and served as a popular subject for literature and art. This archive covers topics such as the development of the police force, the reformation of the judicial system, the evolution of the penal system, forensic techniques, and popular detectives. Materials in this archive include: police force reports, trial transcripts, prison postcards, true crime fiction, Penny Dreadfuls, The National Police Gazette, and manuscript collections from famous police, criminals, and detectives. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A searchable, digitized archive -- from the first date of publication to the last three to five years -- of major scholarly journals in many academic fields. Access to this resource has been temporarily expanded to NYPL cardholders working from home, courtesy of JSTOR. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Oxford Bibliographies Online
A collection of research guides for a wide variety of subjects. Includes topic overviews and annotated bibliographies. **Patrons should read the Oxford Bibliographies Online Privacy Policy before searching.**
- Oxford Handbooks Online
The full collection of Oxford Handbook series, which provides peer-reviewed research articles from scholars in the field of archaeology, business & management, classical studies, criminology & criminal justice, economics & finance, history, law, linguistics, literature, music, philosophy, political science, psychology, and religion. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Philosopher's Index with Full Text
Indexing, abstracting, and full text of the literature on epistemology, ethics, logic, metaphysics, law, religion and science from periodicals, monographs, and other documents. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to over 500 peer-reviewed scholarly journals and top quality book-length scholarship in the humanities and social sciences. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- ProQuest Research Library
Provides articles from periodicals covering arts, business, children, education, health, humanities, law, multicultural studies, sciences, social sciences, and general interest. Full text is available for nearly two-thirds of its titles. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Sage Knowledge
The full text and full catalog of Sage Publishing's social science ebook platform. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- University Press Scholarship Online
University Press Scholarship Online offers full text of over 7,000 academic monographs in 21 subject areas covering the humanities, social sciences, medicine, and law from six leading university presses. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- World at War: Understanding Conflict and Society
Coverage of major wars including causes, effects, and involved parties in Europe, Asia, Africa, and the Americas, from 2000 BCE to the present. Material is divided into general overviews (Topics) and explorations of issues (Perspectives), supported with articles, images, speeches, and other documentation. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- World History in Context
From antiquity to the present day, search a broad collection of scholarly analysis and full-text periodicals, reference works and primary documents that cover the events, movements, and individuals that have shaped world history. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**