Why Should Debaters Keep Up with the News ?
Debates that are focused on rapidly developing geopolitical situations and ongoing international conflicts require very recent evidence. Acquiring a wide perspective on current affairs through a variety of news sources will contribute to your ability to build cases.
Periodicals and Journals at the New York Public Library: An Overview
The New York Public Library provides access to thousands of periodicals and journals in multiple languages, from across the United States and the globe. These resources cover the time span from the 17th century to the present day. These periodicals and journals are accessible in many formats: electronic, microfilm, and in print by visiting a New York Public Library location.
This guide provides instruction on finding and accessing journals and periodicals at the New York Public Library in any format, whether you are searching for a specific title or searching by subject matter.
Newspapers: Historical & Current
Newspapers are great primary resources to research historical and current events. The New York Public Library provides access to thousands of Newspapers from the 17th century to the present day, in multiple languages.
Current US Newspapers
The New York Public Library provides access to U.S. newspapers from hundreds of cities across the country. To explore more U.S. newspapers as well as regional city newspapers visit the PressReader database.
- Boston Globe (1980-present)
Full text coverage of the Boston Globe, from 1980 to the present, via ProQuest National Newspapers Premier. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Chicago Tribune (1989-present)
Full text of the Chicago Tribune, 1989-present. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Christian Science Monitor (September, 1988-present)
A major daily newspaper covering national and international news. Published in the US and noted for unbiased, concise and comprehensive coverage. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- ProQuest Recent Newspapers Collection
Formerly known as Digital Microfilm Newspapers. Browse microfilm content in digital form for: American Banker (2008-), Barron's (2008-), Boston Globe (2008-), Chicago Tribune (2008-), Democrat and Chronicle-Rochester, NY (2010-), Detroit News (2008-), Guardian-London (2010-), New York Law Journal (2009-), New York Times-Late Edition, East Coast (2008-), Newsday (2010-), Philadelphia Inquirer (2010-), Saint Louis Post-Dispatch (2008-), USA Today (2009-), Wall Street Journal-Eastern Edition (2008-), Washington Post-Final Edition (2008-) and Washington Times (2010-). The coverage extends up to the present, but does not include the most recent 6-12 weeks, depending on the title. Please Note: To see the list of all digital microflim titles click on "Publications" on the top toolbar. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Ethnic NewsWatch (1959-present)
Collection of ethnic, minority, and native newspapers, magazines, and journals published in America. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- U.S. Newsstream
U.S. Newsstream provides access to current U.S. news content, as well as archives that go back into the 1980s. It includes access to content from The New York Times, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post, CNN Newswires, and the Huffington Post. Also included is access to Gannett regional newspapers, as well as other local, regional, and national titles from throughout the U.S. This resource was previously named Gannett Newsstand. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Gale OneFile: News This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text of 1000 plus newspapers, both national and international. This resource contains content previously held in Infotrac Newsstand and National Newspaper Index (1977-present). **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Los Angeles Times
Full text coverage of the Los Angeles Times, from 1985 to the present, via ProQuest National Newspapers Premier. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Los Angeles Times (1881-1997)
Searchable full-text and page images from the Los Angeles Times archive. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Philadelphia Inquirer (1860-2001)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: the Philadelphia Inquirer provides full images of articles published from its first issue in 1860 through 2001. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2010)
Founded by Christopher James Perry, the Tribune is the oldest, continuously published African American newspaper in the United States. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.*
- Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010)
One of the most nationally circulated Black newspapers, the Courier reached its peak in the 1930s. A conservative voice in the African-American community, the Courier challenged the misrepresentation of African-Americans in the national media and advocated social reforms to advance the cause of civil rights. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (1786-2003)
This historical newspaper, the largest daily newspaper serving the Pittsburgh metropolitan, provides full-text images of the newspapers from their first issues in the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries through the end of the twentieth century. Dates of Coverage: 1786-2003. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- ProQuest National Newspapers
Searchable full text from the 1980's to the present of over 25 local, regional and national newspapers including the the New York Daily News, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, and The Christian Science Monitor. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Washington Post (1877-2005)
Searchable full-text and page images from the Washington Post archive. This database delivers the backfiles of The Washington Post, from its first issue in 1877 through it electrifying Watergate expose in 1972 and beyond. It provides a unique perspective of U.S. politics and government. Part of ProQuest Historical Newspapers, this database delivers cover-to-cover full-images in PDF and searchable ASCII text. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Washington Post (1988-present)
Full-text articles from the Washington Post, via National Newspapers Premier. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- PressReader
Provides access to current newspapers from around the world in full-color, full-page format. Includes over 2,000 U.S. and international titles. Formerly called PressDisplay. Registering as a user with the site is optional and allows for personalized, saved settings. Patrons should consult PressReader's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy before registering. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Finding Online Journals, Newspapers, Periodicals and Scholarly E-Books
The Find E-Journals and E-Books by Title Page is the best place to locate journals in electronic format and scholarly e-books.
- Searching and Browsing: This page allows you to search by:
- Title or ISSN/ISBN
- By journals only, books only, or both
- You can also browse by letter or subject
- Searching for Periodicals: Although the title of the page says "journals" this page will help you find electronic versions of journals, newspapers, and other periodicals. When you find the title of the serial you are looking the description will display:
- The date coverage
- The database the serial is in
- Whether the database is available remotely or onsite only
- Searching for Scholarly E-Books
- If you are looking for books by scholarly publishers or text books this is the place to do. Many of these books you will not find in NYPL's other e-book applications, such as Simply-E, Overdrive or 3M because they are part of collections specifically curated for different research topics.