Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

International Newspapers at The New York Public Library: General Newspapers Databases

General International Newspaper Database

America's Historical Newspapers

Full-text of thousands of titles (including Caribbean Newspapers from 1718-1876), chronicling the American experience and history of the people who shaped the nation from 1690 to the recent past. A full list of titles is viewable here

Center for Research Libraries Global Resources Network (CRL) 

An international association of libraries across universities, colleges, and independent research organizations. The CRL's digital international newspaper collection is searchable by country or by the US state where the newspaper is published. 

elephind | Historical World Newspapers 

An open access, digital archive that allows users to search simultaneously across multiple historical newspaper sites from around the world. Roughly 4,345 different titles from around the world are included.

Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2010

A global historical newspaper and periodical database chronicling current affairs and economic and business history of the last 120 years. This scholarly resource provides access to over 2,000 full-text titles, including page images. 

Gallica

The digital Library of the Bibliothèque Nationale de France and its partners. Gallica contains over 2 million digitized items.

Global Newsstream

Covers the most recent global news content in one of the largest collections of newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, and podcasts, from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Includes over 2,500 full-text news sources in various formats stretching back to the 1980s. 

Global Press Archive

A collection of newspapers in more than 30 languages, that will ultimately include titles from over 80 countries. GPA offers full-image and full-text access to: Imperial Russian Newspapers, Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers, Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers, and Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers. 

Historical Jewish Press

The Jewish Press documents the history and culture of world Jewry from various countries and in multiple languages. An indispensable source documenting several decades of Jewish history from the 1780s to present day.

Infotrac Newsstand

Searchable full-text database of more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as prime titles from around the world. Also included are thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts, and transcripts. 

Newspaper Source (EBSCO)

This database provides access to more than 200 full-text (U.S.) and international newspapers. Also includes newswires and television and radio news transcripts.

PressReader

Contains digital access to over 7,000 newspapers from around the world in full-color, full-page format and in more than 60 languages. Changeable interface allows user to view content in various languages. 

ProQuest Historical Jewish Newspapers

A great database where users can conduct a simultaneous search of the The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1857-1922), The American Israelite (1874-2000),  Boston Advocate (1905-1909), The Israelite (1854-1874), The Jerusalem Post (1950-1988), the Jewish Advocate (1905-1990) and The Jewish Exponent (1887-1990),  and Palestine Post (1933-1950). 

University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC) 

UFDC offers free and open access to several international newspapers including newspaper titles from the Digital Library of the Caribbean. A great database with special features such as: map view. This feature allows users to browse newspaper titles through a geographic search of a region or two selected coordinates on the map.  

World Digital Library - Library of Congress and UNESCO

An indispensable database for international historical newspapers research, World Newspaper Archive includes titles published in Africa, Latin America, South Asia, and the United States. This database is searchable by language, dates and eras, article titles, and formats, and place of publication.

World-Newspapers.com

A free online resource that provides world newspapers and magazines organized by country and region. Also included are several world news services and providers. 

World Newspaper Archive (1800-1922)

Provides the largest fully-searchable collection of historical newspapers from Africa, Latin America, South Asia, the United States and around the world.