Overview of the JBH Collections
The Jean Blackwell Hutson Research and Reference Division provides access to books, journal, newspapers, microforms and more containing information by and about people of African descent throughout the world, concentrating on the humanities, the social sciences, and the arts. Geographically, the collection emphasizes the Americas, the Caribbean, and Sub-Saharan African. Its holdings of over 300,000 bound volumes, 25,000 microfilms and microfiches, 750 maps, and 570 newspaper titles date from the late 19th century to the present and are growing continuously. English is the predominant language of the division's holdings, supplemented by works in French, Portuguese, Spanish, German, and other European languages, and 200 African languages and dialects.
Collection Highlights
- Extensive historical and current collection of African American, Caribbean, and African newspapers, magazines, pamphlets, travel guides and other serials including complete runs and rare titles
- African American history and scholarship is comprehensive
- Literature (fiction, poetry, and drama) of Black writers from around the world in numerous languages
- Substantial texts on Harlem and Black people in the performing and visual arts
- Histories of Ancient African Kingdoms
- West Indian history and culture
- Haitian literature and history including the Kurt Fisher Haitian collection
- African American freemasons including the Harry A. Williamson collection
- African American Greek letter societies (Black fraternities and sororities)
- Notable collection of Doctoral dissertations
- Notable holdings in over 60 African languages
- Historical clipping collection in over 9,000 subject headings
- Maps from across the African diaspora
Learn More about the Research and Reference Division Collection
Learn more about what's available in our collections from these other LibGuides:
- Schomburg Archival Collections on Microfilm
- African-American Theater
- African American Women Writers of the 19th Century
- Black Bookstore Research Guide
- Black Feminism Introductory Research Guide
- Nelson Mandela Resource Guide
- Green Book Research Guide
- A Research Guide to Black Librarianship at the Schomburg Center
- Guide to the Schomburg Center's Manuscripts, Archives, and Rare Books Division
NYPL Digital Collections
Visit the Jean Blackwell Hutson Research and Reference Division's Digital Collections page to access digitized material from the Division.
