Search for Peer Reviewed articles about career change on these databases:
Keep up to date by researching databases for recent articles that may offer advice about career transitions and career trends. Below you will find the steps to search the Academic OneFile (Gale) and the Academic Search Premier for current articles about the career transition process.
Academic OneFile
Search for articles about career change on Academic OneFile (Gale), a database accessible from home with your NYPL card number and your PIN.
- Academic OneFile This article database includes full-text and abstracts of scholarly, trade, and general-interest periodicals covering topics in the areas of current events, general sciences and technology, social sciences, arts, and humanities. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Doing a general search by typing "career change" or "career transition" in the Search text box will bring thousands of results. However, if you want to be specific, do an Advanced Search to retrieve concrete results. After clicking on Advanced Search, enter the keyword, career, and click on the drop-down option on the right and select Document Title. Use the boolean AND operator and enter the keyword, transition, and select Document Title. This will search for articles that include the keywords career AND transition in their title. Under the MORE OPTIONS heading, check the box for Full-Text Documents. Choose a publication date range and lastly, click on Search. Then, you can sort by Relevance, Newest, or Oldest.
Academic Search Premier
You may search for articles that offer tips for a positive career change on Academic Search Premier, a database accessible from home with your NYPL card number and your PIN.
- Academic Search Premier A multi-disciplinary database of more than 4,600 magazines and journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full-text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for 8,470 journals. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Look at the picture and read the instructions below on how to use it.
Doing a general search by typing "career change" in the Basic Search text box will bring thousands of results. However, if you want to retrieve specific articles, do an Advanced Search.
- After clicking on Advanced Search
- Type in career in the first textbox, and then choose TI Title from the Select A Field drop-down list to the right
- On the left, in the second textbox, leave the AND operator and type in change, and choose TI Title.
- On the left, in the third textbox, leave the AND operator and type in tips, and choose TI Title.
- Under the heading, Search Modes and Expanders, select Find all my search terms.
- Under the heading, Limit Your Results, check the box, Link to Full Text.
- Under the heading, Published Date, select the date range you prefer.
- Lastly, click on Search at the bottom to the right.
These steps will retrieve for articles that include the keywords career change tips on their title.