Research Catalog
Most NYPL research collections can be found in the Research Catalog. This catalog also contains offsite storage collections from Columbia University, Harvard University, and Princeton University. Through our Research Catalog, you can request these materials, and they will be delivered in 1-3 days to the Stephen A. Schwarzman Building. In the catalog, you can search by "Subject Heading" (sometimes called a descriptor), which describes the content of each item, or by "Keyword," which looks for words throughout the record.
How to Access our Collections
A Library card will provide you with access to our collections and our remote digital resources. New York residents or visitors to NYC (domestic or international), can apply online for a new library card. Please note that a photo ID and proof of address are needed to validate your card when you visit. You can find more information about library cards on the NYPL website. In-person, same-day requests and onsite deliveries may take up to two hours.
Consultations with a Librarian
Meet Virtually with a Librarian
Researchers of all levels are welcome to schedule an online consultation with our librarians. Consultations include: catalog navigation, demonstration of online services and database (articles, abstracts, etc...), as well as exploration of sources for a specific topic. To schedule a consultation, please click on the link above or email us at: artref@nypl.org. A Librarian will review your query and get back to you as soon as possible.
How to Find Material Outside of NYPL
WorldCat -- A catalog that links to multiple libraries holdings in a one-stop search engine for easy searching across libraries worldwide.
Interlibrary Services and Document Delivery (ILL) -- Interlibrary Services provides access to materials held at libraries outside the NYPL system. To begin using ILL, please create an ILL account online.
Book an Appointment
To book an appointment to view materials in the Art Collection please visit our website at nypl.org/art and click on the book an appointment link:
The site allows you to book three or more days ahead of time. Once you click on the day, you will need to select the time and seat. It will then provide a form that will let you request up to ten books to view. Click on Submit, and then you will receive a confirmation email when your appointment is confirmed.
How to Request Offsite Items from the Research Catalog
Items that are located offsite can be requested via the blue "Request Button" found in the Catalog.
After logging in with your library barcode and PIN, you can select the location where you would like the material delivered or if you would like a small portion of the item scanned. Please note: Delivery of same-day requests and onsite items may take up to two hours.