Science & Vision
Color theory is both the science and art of using color. The books listed below delve into how we see color and the visual impact of colors when mixed, matched, or contrasted. They also examine color interactions and the emotional and psychological responses evoked by various combinations.
Search our collection in the Research Catalog with the following subject headings:
Science & Nature
Bright Earth: the invention of colour by
From Egyptian wall paintings to the Venetian Renaissance, impressionism to digital images, Philip Ball tells the fascinating story of how art, chemistry, and technology have interacted throughout the ages to render the gorgeous hues we admire on our walls and in our museums.
Call Number: JQE 02-160ISBN: 9780226036281Publication Date: 2001
Color Science by
Deals with all phases of light, color, and color vision, providing comprehensive data, formulas, concepts, and procedures needed in basic and applied research in color vision, colorimetry, and photometry.
Call Number: QC495 .W88 2000ISBN: 9780471399186Publication Date: 2000-08-08
Color Studies by
The 3rd edition of Color Studies introduces students from all concentrations of visual arts to color theory, the physiology and psychology of color perception, and the physics of color. This text discusses in detail the four dimensions of color - hue, value, intensity, and temperature - with tips for putting knowledge into practice in a variety of disciplines, from painting and other fine arts to interior design, architecture, fashion design, textile design, and graphic design.
Call Number: *R-ART ND1488 .F45 2014ISBN: 9781609015312Publication Date: 2013-11-21
Colour: art & science by
To answer such questions on the nature of colour this volume gathers the combined knowledge of physics, biology, history and art. It provides an exciting exploration of colour, from the diverse perspectives of experts in eight different fields of study. Their essays take us on a journey both through the sciences and the world of fine art, and they combine to give a full and rewarding view of colour.
Call Number: QC495 .C756 1995gISBN: 0521496454Publication Date: 1995-03-16
Colours: their nature and representation by
The world as we experience it is full of colour. This book defends the radical thesis that no physical object has any of the colours we experience it as having. The author provides a unified account of colour that shows why we experience the illusion and why the illusion is not to be dispelled but welcomed. He develops a pluralist framework of colour-concepts in which other, more sophisticated concepts of colour are introduced to supplement the simple concept that is presupposed in our ordinary colour experience.
Call Number: JFD 95-17899ISBN: 0521472733Publication Date: 1995-06-30
A History of Light and Colour Measurement by
A History of Light and Colour Measurement: Science in the Shadows is a history of the hidden workings of physical science-a technical endeavor embedded in a social context. It argues that this "undisciplined" subject, straddling academia, commerce, and regulation, may be typical not only of 20th century science, but of its future. The physical scientists who dominated the subject into the early 20th century made their central aim the replacement of the problematic human eye with physical detectors of light.
Call Number: JSE 02-749ISBN: 0750307544Publication Date: 2001-09-30
Modern Chromatics by
Modern Chromatics, with applications to art and industry, by Ogden N. Rood ... New York, D. Appleton and Company ... 1879. Original edition issued as v. 26 of The International scientific series.
Call Number: MBM 75-1244ISBN: 0442270283Publication Date: 1973-01-01
Naturally Brilliant Colour by
Naturally Brilliant Colour is the first book to reveal artworks made using the world's brightest colour - Pure Structural Colour, recently derived from the metallic-like colours of Pollia berries, hummingbirds and butterflies. Pure Structural Colour is a mimic of the type of structural colour that has evolved many times, independently, in nature to appear the brightest type of colour to the eye, and has co-evolved with the visual systems of animals to result in the ultimate form of colouration.
Call Number: QC495.2 .P37 2021gISBN: 9781842467336Publication Date: 2022-02-15
Opticks; or, A treatise of the reflections, refractions, inflections & colours of light by
A comprehensive survey of eighteenth-century knowledge about all aspects of light, Opticks also offers countless scientific insights.
Call Number: PEB (Newton, I. Opticks. 1931)Publication Date: 1931
The Science of Color by
The Science of Color focuses on the principles and observations that are foundations of modern color science. Written for a general scientific audience, the book broadly covers essential topics in the interdisciplinary field of color, drawing from physics, physiology and psychology.
Call Number: QC495 .S354 2003ISBN: 0444512519Publication Date: 2003-07-11
Vision
The Artist's Eyes: vision and the history of art by
In this fascinating juxtaposition of science and art history, ophthalmologists Michael Marmor and James Ravin examine the role of vision and eye disease in art. They focus on the eye, where the process of vision originates, and investigate how aspects of vision have inspired and confounded many of the world's most famous artists.
Call Number: JQF 10-247ISBN: 9780810948495Publication Date: 2009-10-01
Color and Vision by
This thought-provoking book examines life before there was vision and considers how it changed when the image-forming eye evolved. Drawing on spectacular specimens from the collections of London's Museum of Natural History, Color and Vision looks at the evolution of the eye, the uses of color in nature, from a warning or disguise to an irresistible invitation, and explains how color works.
Call Number: QP475.5 .P37 2016gISBN: 9781770858299Publication Date: 2016-09-01
Color light and vision by
An investigation of the elemental nature of visual perception, a report of some studies. Consists of papers that had been collected by Paul Honoré.
Call Number: 9-MBM (Honoré, P. Color light and vision)Publication Date: 1938
Color Ordered by
Color Ordered is a comprehensive, in-depth compendium of 165 systems, dating from antiquity to the present. In it, Rolf Kuehni and Andreas Schwarz present a history and categorization of color systems, describe each one using original figures and schematic drawings, and provide a broad review of the underlying theory.
Call Number: JQF 08-371ISBN: 9780195189681Publication Date: 2008-01-09
Color Vision by
Color Vision: From Genes to Perception, first published in 2000, documents the state of understanding about primate color vision in 20 review articles written by 35 leading international experts. The articles range from genes - the molecular genetics of the human cone photopigment genes - to perception - the color processing of complex scenes.
Call Number: QP483 .C644 1999ISBN: 0521590531Publication Date: 2000-01-28
Colours in the visual world by
Colour and vision -- Material and immaterial colour -- Primary colours and colour mixture -- Contrast -- Harmony and disharmony -- Colour as sign and signal -- Colour systems and colour models -- Illumination and colour -- Changing and constant colour -- Colour in pictorial space -- Colours in the built environment -- Colours through the mind's eye.
Call Number: QP483 .S8613 2013gISBN: 9789526052465Publication Date: 2013
Human color vision by
Revised edition of Human Color Vision by Robert M. Boynton, 1979. Includes bibliographical references on pages 580-627 and indexes.
Call Number: BF789.C7 B66 1996Publication Date: 1996
An introduction to the study of colour vision by
Discusses the physical, anatomical and psychological bases of color vision in a variety of eyes. The second part analyses color blindness. The third and final segment evaluates the various theories of color vision.
Call Number: PEY (Parsons, J. H. Introduction to the study of colour vision)Publication Date: 1924
Light Vision Color by
Light Vision Color takes a well-balanced, interdisciplinary approach to our most important sensory system. The book successfully combines basics in vision sciences with recent developments from different areas such as neuroscience, biophysics, sensory psychology and philosophy.
Call Number: QP483 .V35 2005ISBN: 0470849029Publication Date: 2005-04-22
Physical aspects of colour: an introduction to the scientific study of colour stimuli and colour sensations by
Translation of Kleuren en kleurindrukken. Reference book for physicists and people involved in geometrical optics, colourimetry, photography, lighting, television and communication engineers.
Call Number: JSE 72-235Publication Date: 1971
