Introduction
Are you interested in learning more about your Dominican roots? This guide was created to help you discover resources and make a research plan.
This guide features tips and resources for accessing information resources, including links to print and digital collections accessible at The New York Public Library (NYPL). Access to some databases requires that you have a NYPL library card - you can apply for one online or at any branch of The New York Public Library.
SimplyE: Download NYPL’s e-reader app to access e-books and audiobooks—all for free.
Look for books, microfilm, periodicals, archive collections, and more at NYPL Classic Catalog
Search archive and manuscript collections, including Family Files, at archives.nypl.org and the NYPL Classic Catalog.
Explore maps, photographs, city directories, and other digital resources free online at NYPL Digital Collections
Search for genealogy databases and other online resources at NYPL Articles & Databases: Genealogy
Sign up for an online genealogy class at NYPL and access additional research guides and blogs at www.nypl.org/locations/divisions/milstein
What is Genealogy?
Just starting your research? You may want to explore the resources in our guide, Genealogy: Getting Started at The New York Public Library.
Introduction page of Genealogy: Getting Started guide
Special thanks to Jasmin Rymer, former Library Page, for her extensive contribution to this research guide.
Accessibility for Print Disabilities
For researchers with print disabilities, the Library has resources and services available upon request. The following services are available:
Digitization of Select Research Materials
Researchers who are homebound or have a print disability or visual impairment can explore many of our research collections online and request digitization of specific items of interest. To request the digitization service, email accessibility@nypl.org. Please note that you must be a patron of the Andrew Heiskell Library. This digitization service only includes material belonging to the research collections and does not apply to branch/circulating collections.
Screen Readers and Enlargers
Every public PC at all New York Public Library locations is equipped with JAWS screen reading software and MAGic software for enlarging the screen, changing colors and contrast, and screenreading.
Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library
The Andrew Heiskell Library offers popular reading materials in accessible audio and braille formats, as well as free membership to the Bookshare database of over one million accessible texts. It also offers individual coaching and a large variety of group workshops on topics related to accessible technology. Check the listings on our website, call 212-206-5400, or email talkingbooks@nypl.org
For more information, see the Accessibility at NYPL page.
Reference Librarians
The Irma and Paul Milstein Division of United States History, Local History, and Genealogy collects publications documenting American history on the national, state, and local levels, including extensive holdings on New York City history. The Division has a renowned collection of family histories and other genealogical collections, with a particular focus on the New York region. Included in the collections are published works from the New York Genealogical and Biographical Society library, photographs, vertical files, postcards, and other visual ephemera.
The New York Public Library
Stephen A. Schwarzman Building,
476 Fifth Avenue (42nd St and Fifth Ave)
First Floor, Room 121
New York, NY 10018
Contact us: History@nypl.org
Schedule a consultation.
View upcoming events to learn more about online genealogy classes.
Subjects: Genealogy, Irma and Paul Milstein Division of United States History, Local History and Genealogy, Local History, New York City Architecture, New York City History, United States History
Accesibilidad para personas con discapacidad visual o de impresión
Para investigadores con discapacidades visuales o de impresión, la Biblioteca ofrece recursos y servicios disponibles a solicitud. Los siguientes servicios están disponibles:
Digitalización de materiales de investigación selectos
Los investigadores que tienen dificultades para salir de casa o que tienen una discapacidad de impresión o visual pueden explorar muchas de nuestras colecciones de investigación en línea y solicitar la digitalización de artículos específicos de su interés. Para solicitar el servicio de digitalización, envíe un correo electrónico a accessibility@nypl.org. Tenga en cuenta que debe ser usuario de la Biblioteca Andrew Heiskell. Este servicio de digitalización solo incluye materiales pertenecientes a las colecciones de investigación y no aplica a las colecciones circulantes de las sucursales.
Lectores de pantalla y ampliadores
Todas las computadoras públicas en las sucursales de La Biblioteca Pública de Nueva York están equipadas con el software de lector de pantalla JAWS y el software MAGic, que permite ampliar la pantalla, cambiar colores y contraste, y leer el contenido en voz alta.
Biblioteca Andrew Heiskell de Libros en Braille y Libros Hablados
La Biblioteca Andrew Heiskell ofrece materiales de lectura populares en formatos accesibles de audio y braille, además de membresía gratuita a Bookshare, una base de datos con más de un millón de textos accesibles. También ofrece asesoría personalizada y una amplia variedad de talleres grupales sobre tecnología accesible. Consulte la programación en nuestro sitio web, llame al 212-206-5400, o envíe un correo electrónico a talkingbooks@nypl.org para más detalles. Además, la biblioteca organiza grupos de networking, ferias de recursos, talleres de escritura, talleres de arte accesible, clubes de lectura y otros eventos. Todos estos eventos se incluyen en el boletín trimestral, disponible por correo electrónico, en el sitio web (en formato de texto o audio) o por teléfono.